We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“X”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sotres, Cabrales Municipality, Asturias

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
danielkja...
Savar, Sweden
1 review
“X”
Reviewed 5 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Very nice house with beautiful views. Very good location for hiking. Few activities for children in the area, besides walking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol F
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

OMG- the rustic little casita was exactly what we were looking for- the view from the patio & windows over looking the valley and mountains was stunning. There were several walks/hikes we could take without driving the car, just stepped out the front door. A short drive gave several more options. Out hosts ( Victoria & Carlos) gave valuable info regarding timing of certain trails, ( to avoid crowds) suggestions for other areas to visit, as well as guiding us to home on arrival.( glad we opted for small car!!) Being self contained did insulate us from the village as we ate in a lot, so that might be something to consider if staying here. The 'super market' was about a half hour drive.
The house was immaculate, comfortable, and quiet. We'd go back in a heartbeat- a completely different way of life.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
556jan
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“my boyfriend”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a lovely week in this beautiful house. It is well equipped and very clean. We walked everyday from the door. It is perfectly located for a variety of walks. I loved sitting on the patio at the end of the day looking at the peaks and selecting where to walk tomorrow. I also loved that I could see the peaks from bed as soon as I opened my eyes in the morning. Such a beautiful area and we were lucky with many sunny days. The directions and instructions were clear and it was very helpful that I could ask questions in English before I arrived (my Spanish is there but limited). Good wifi. The village roads are very steep so I chose to park in the village car park and walk the last few meters to the house.
I look forward to returning to the area in the future and would happily stay in the same house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location. The peace. The patio and well equipped house.
Liked least: the dog next door was annoying.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M
oxford
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Peaceful Mountain retreat”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

High up in the Picos Mountains this is a wonderful place to stay. The views are spectacular.

The house is well furnished to a high standard with all modern conveniences; extremely clean and very comfortable. Some evenings were cold (in June !) but with the wood fire going the house became nice and cosy. The terrace running alongside the house, overlooking the valley below and mountains, is in the sunshine all day and is a great place to have meals al fresco. The large sun shade was much appreciated late afternoon when temperatures were high.

To find the house when you first arrive is almost impossible but Victoria and Carlos have thought of this and arranged for us to be met at the local hotel and escorted to the house. The village has a much needed unofficial one -way road system which seems to work remarkably well.

Sotres is a great place for walking with many walks possible direct from the house. There are several small hotels/restaurants in the village offering local inexpensive meals.

Basic Wifi is available though speeds are variable depending on time of day.

The nearest supermarkets are in Arenas (25 mins drive) and are of a reasonable size; both of which have small but reasonable parking.

The only disappointment was the parking. The driveway has been constructed at a steep angle which prevented me parking my car (standard European hatchback). Car grounded when I tried to park. I had to park half on and half off having positioned the car next to the neighbours cement mixer and tractor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility and a comfortable bed
Liked least: Parking difficulty
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinandA...
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely house, stunning location”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week. Lovely house with everything we needed. Incredible views from all of the rooms and the patio outside across the valley to the high Picos. Little patio area was bathed in sun as soon as it rose above the mountain. Sotres is a lovely little village and the highest in the Picos de Europa with restaurants and a couple of shops. Lots of tourist businesses closed on 1st October however. Good walks straight from the front door. Lots to do in the area and only 25 minutes or so drive down to the pleasant town of Arenas de Cabales. Village streets are very narrow and steep and seem to operate as an unofficial one way system, Don't hire a big SUV or 4WD vehicle! Fantastic bird life and intersting flora even in late September. Victoria and Carlos both very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no wine glasses!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing