We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fantastic location 5*”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Tournesol

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Twin Room
Living Room
Media Room
Games/Family Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Saint-Jean-d'Angely, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kkirklan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic location 5*”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first holiday let in France & it didn't disappoint. This is an fantastic property that has everything you need, the rooms are spacious, clean & really well furnished. The heated pool is brilliant, the kids (& adults) loved the pool as well as the space around the property. The surround sound cinema system was a huge hit with the kids, especially in the evenings. The house is a gem in the french countryside, beatifully located. This is truly 5* accomodation & under sells its self on the holiday lettings web site !

We visited the local area (La Rochelle, La Palymere (& Zoo), beaches etc etc) all within an hours drive of the house.

This is our second time to the area & we will definetly be returning & would love to return to Villa Tournesol !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heated Swimming Pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts,UK
Herts, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Heaven...pure and simple”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in May 2013
6
people found this review helpful

Having done a number of holiday rentals previously, this has been by far the best. I'm quite a fussy person (see my other reviews..), but I have to say this has been by far the best! There is quite a lot to say so I will break it down into sections:

Location is idyllic, the house it sat in a small hamlet surrounded by fields (sunflowers), it's a 10 min drive to St Jean which has a few lovely bars and restaurants. Thee market on a Saturday morning is a great place to shop for fresh fish, cheese, vegetables bread etc. There are are quite a few good sized supermarkets within a 5 - 10 min drive but for fresh bread, pastries and croissants there is a van that delivers most days to the hamlet, you just have to be up early enough to catch her.

Getting there - we drove from Herts, which took 11 hours door to door including train crossing (which we got on tesco club card points) and time difference (with a couple of stops). One of our friends flew into Bordeaux and hired a car but you can also fly into La Rochelle which is a little closer, about a 45 min drive.

The House - On arrival, we were not sure what what it was going to be like as the large gates don't reveal the house, but once we drove into the large gravel courtyard where you can park at least 5 cars, we were blown away. Once the gates are shut, it's very secluded. We were not travelling with children in our group but I imagine that would be an attraction. There is a fantastic sun trap at the front of the house in the courtyard where we had BBQ's most nights, to the back of the house there is a huge garden (not overlooked) with a lovely pool and summerhouse.

Inside the house - loads of space, there is a lovely front room which a huge fireplace which we lit even though it was warm! Huge sofa's that we all enjoyed relaxing on for some quiet time. There is also a TV room with a big projector screen and a games room that we used a lot. For the nights we did not BBQ, we sat in the large kitchen which was stocked with every possible cooking implement you might need!!

The rooms were great (watch your head on the beam on the landing after a few vinos :-)), 3 bathrooms in all, 2 with a shower.

In summary, this was one of the most relaxing and idyllic holidays we have had. The local neighbors were very friendly and a great reason to brush up on our French. I would highly recommend this house, it's like a home from home but with the sun!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuelrev
Heemstede, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you had a great holiday. We are always looking at ways we can improve, so if there was anything we could change to make it 5 stars rather than 4, then please let us know. Feedback is hugely important to us and we value your input.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best wishes,

Mike & Amie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing