We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday!”
Review of Shepherd's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shepherd's Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We have just returned from a 3 week holiday at the Toucan Inn. This is our 12th visit to Tobago and have always chosen the Toucan Inn. It is a small hotel of just 20 rooms and this is part of its charm. It comprises poolside cabanas and garden rooms all around a central bar and restaurant. The staff are excellent and friendly, they make a point of knowing all the guests and ensuring all their needs are met. Every time we stay at the Toucan Inn we make new friends and this year was no exception. We had a great time. The hotel gets a lot of repeat guests. All the rooms are air-conditioned and cleaned daily, if staying for any length of time opt for a Garden Room as these are more spacious. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carole993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 231 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

Went for 2 weeks - after my sister and Jeremy left after a week (this was the February half-term holiday) - practically ran down to the internet cafe in the corner to search and rebook the second half of our vacation (see Plantation Beach Villas) as this really was disappointing.
Disliked
Location - cabin (B&Q sells better fitted out sheds) - shower - air conditioning - cleanliness - breakfasts
Liked
Central bar area - steel band in the evening - swimming pool - some staff
If this cost like £10 a night - then I'd say fair enough - does what it says on the tin, no arguments.
But its pricing is agressive - and there are dozens better on this charming island, for which I will always have plenty of happy memories.

Room Tip: dont unless you are paying less than £20 per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MardleyMassif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Me and my wife spent 7 nights in Toucan Inn during our diving holidays. There is also a restaurant in the hotel. We had garden room, which is far from the restaurant. The room was of decent size: lots of space in the room and big bathroom. Cleaning staff was coming every day leaving fresh and clean towels (unless you specifically place them in a way, that you don’t want to replace them)
The restaurant is one of the best in the neighbourhood however not the cheapest one. Staff is very friendly and happy to help.
There are some downfalls as well – room and specially bathroom was looking for general renovation at least, if not the refurbishment. It looks, like build in the 80-ties and not renovated since then. Clean – yes, but with best days long gone. But the worst was the bed - toe most squeeking bed I've ever seen or heard. Every move in the bed was accompanied with whole concert of additional squeeks and sounds.
If you are looking for luxury hotel for your tropical family holiday – don’t go there. However if you want some decent accommodation during your active holidays – it is a good place to go.

Room Tip: Get the garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mamapafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Please do not waste your money on this one !!! Myself, my partner and our family/friends booked Tobage for my wedding. We arrived at Toucan Inn and then the disappointment began. We were given the keys to our poolside cabana - this was small, dark and unclean - even upon arrival !! Within approx. 2 days our air conditioning had broken - despite the fact that we had not touched it. We reported this and finally had it fixed - the evidence for this was that the air conditioning unit was left unclosed and was surrounded by blue paper towels (maybe this was to evidence that this had been done !). Thankfully we were self catering as the food was hit and miss, and ridiculously priced. THE POOL - PLEASE TAKE NOTE - YOU ARE TAKING YOUR LIFE IN YOUR OWN HANDS - LEGIONNAIRES DISEASE SPRINGS TO MIND - body fat aplenty floating and sticking to the sides of the pool accompanied by many dead insects and leaves. We reported this to reception as a health hazard and were told that this is because visitors go into the pool after applying sun lotion (is that not what we are supposed to apply in hot climates ?). Over a three week period, we counted the pool being cleaned twice - not very good I think. To top it all off, we had, prior to arrival, booked to have our wedding meal at Bonkers, however, one day prior to our wedding we were told that they would be closing the Restaurant due to staff shortage and small demand from visitors. This resulted in myself, my now husband, family members and friends searching desperately for a venue to enable a meal to take place - difficult for the amount of people and short notice !! However, in hindsight probably for the best given that the food was so poor at Bonkers anyhow. A plus side of this accomodation is Mr B - Thank goodness for him, he assisted not only in helping with a venue for my wedding meal but also with my flower arrangement. He is a true gentleman and restored my faith in humanity. The rest of the staff were observed as generally miserable - however, if I was left feeling this way within the first week of my stay I am not surprised that this was their presentation given the fact that they have no way out ! My heart goes out to them. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE thoroughly research this place before booking. Also entertainment is next to nothing !

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank yrral2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We spent 6nights at the Toucan Inn in a Garden Room. Our friends had a Pool room and 1/2 the size w/tiny bathroom so would recommend spending $20 per night for much better and quieter room!

Restaurant staff super friendly, food a bit slow and pricey even for Tobago, good bar service though!
Clark and Roberto especially friendly!

The pool was wonderful and so was the Dive shop "R & Sea Divers" in the back of the property. The staff very professional and skilled.

Previous people have complained about the animal noise....anywhere in Tobago there are tons of birds and roosters (and goats), so i would say "if you don't like it stay at home!"
Also the cleanliness of the rooms are great. 2 gals spend 15-20mins per room each day cleaning, and always spotless.
Do appreciate the mosquito coils the burn near pool and restaurant at night.

Overall a beautiful setting, just be prepared to walk about 10mins go water, or if rental car, no problem...recommend "Sheppy's Car Rental"!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank potatofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
1.2 km away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
6.5 km away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.8 km away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
9.1 km away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
7.6 km away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Crown Point

Been to Shepherd's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherd's Inn

Address: Storebay Local Road, Crown Point, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range: $147 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shepherd's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shepherd's Innis a small and friendly 20 room hotel with teakwood caribbean style decor set amidst am oasis of lush tropical gardens with a relaxed ambiance that keep guests coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shepherd's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toucan Hotel Crown Point
Toucan Inn Tobago
Shepherd's Inn Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing