We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near luxury in a wilderness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monasterio De Rueda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sastago
Reviewed 2 July 2015

First the good news -
this is a lovely hotel, with comfortable rooms [though our rooms on the second floor under the eaves were uncomfortably hot the aircon wasn't butch enough to cope] a pleasant bar and interesting restaurant. The setting is quiet and the Monasterio beautiful and visits are free to guests.
The bad news -
the grounds were a wilderness, though a large team came in the morning we left to begin a tidy up; the swimming pool seemed abandoned and the staff, though sweet, were fairly clueless.
We had booked two nights half board and our Saturday evening meal was acceptable, though the waiting staff seemed to bring the dishes when they felt like it, rather than when they were ready, so the temperature of the food was an issue.
Sunday breakfast, buffet style, was copious, varied and good.
Sunday lunch was excellent, though the waiting staff weren't any more with it than they had been the night before. Both meals came with bottles of a local wine which was more than acceptable.
Monday's breakfast was random - and to think we'd been expecting the buffet again!
All in all an interesting experience in a beautiful building - we paid €195 for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast and we thought it was good value.
This is part of a group of hotels run by the regional government - the concept is wonderful but the project falls down on small, but important, details.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

The hotel is centered in an old monaster and looks a lot like the parador chain in Spain but this is owned by the regional government.
The place itself is wondefull but because of the lack of visitors it looks abondoned. This is really a shame because nature is wonderfull overhere and there are really some nice activities to do near by the cascades and the Rio Ebro.
The service (bar) is very poor due to the different tasks the staff have to take care of. So to have a nice and cosy drink in the bar, that you can forget.
When I return to the Rio Ebro I will certainly use this hotel again, because the price quality of the rooms and the hotel are worth the money.
We also had diner on the first night, but because of the lack of customers it is not the place to be.
The environment will not be visited by lots of people certainly not foreigners. The hotel may only be known for locals in Aragon.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015 via mobile

We looked on the Internet and hotel web site before booking and looked amazing. So booked for a week. We arrived late at night and there were no outside lights so was pitch black!!! The room was ok but bed was thin and lumpy. No air con !!! The next morning I took a walk and was astonished at the neglect of the place. Weeds a meter high, no garen as totally over grown, the pool was just a bath of green slime and mozzies!!! Not used for years by the looks. Breakfast was terrible also. What a shame as this place has he potential to be amazing. It looks more like an abandoned ruin!!! We checked out the next morning and moved to t!!! What a shame I was so looking forward to this place !!!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015 via mobile

This is a lovely concept let down by neglect. We stayed overnight. Lovely room. Clean, not too small and elegant. The staff helpful despite having little English. Then again, I have little Spanish. No restaurant, bar or coffee available, a problem given its solitary location remote from major centres. We had to drive to local village and eat good simple home cooking at Restaurant El Embarcadero, Escatron - seek them out for authentic friendly local people. Back to the hotel, the gardens need tender loving care. They are overgrown and neglected. We walked the grounds and explored the buildings but despite being clearly seen by a groundsman, we were locked in the medieval church and had to break out. The intense birdsong was a delight that offset the smelly Ebro River. We nonetheless enjoyed our stay in an interesting comfortable hotel. Incidentally, we stumbled across this by accident thinking we were going to visit a tourist site. The signage could provide more information and the hotel might then enjoy more guests.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2014

This former Monastery was converted only a few years ago. There are not many rooms but they are done tastefully and comfortably, with flat screen TV and aircon.
Its in a very quiet location, good for the monks and those who wish to contemplate but it does mean you have to travel a distance for anything else - but don't get me wrong - it is very good, at least for a short stay.
All the features you would need - a restaurant, bar (seating inside and out) and rooms to sit and read or just relax. Pleasant staff.
Dinner costs €15 and breakfast €10 I think I recall correctly.
The grounds are peaceful and of course you get to do the tour of the buildings.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toyotaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Monasterio De Rueda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monasterio De Rueda

Address: 50780 | Ctra. Sastago-Escatron, Km. 9, 50780 Sastago, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Sastago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sastago
Hotel Class:4 star — Monasterio De Rueda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Monasterio De Rueda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing