We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most comfortable motels in new zealand”
Review of Glenorchy Motels

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenorchy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenorchy Motels
Ranked #4 of 5 Glenorchy B&B and Inns
Nelson, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the most comfortable motels in new zealand”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

When you first look at this motel from the road you may think you made a mistake but you will find this motel a wonderful surprise. There are only 7 units. The one we stayed in had the most comfortabe beds, the best equiped kitchen I've seen and very very clean. There were three of us and the unit was large with a king bed and a single. Windows open which is
important to me. We extended our stay because it was so comfortable. The owners are very gracious and I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    18
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We booked our room at the Tourist information in Queenstown without knowing what the Motel was like.
On arrival we were pleased with the choice. The room was quite large, clean and comfortable.

Unfortunately we had to vacate the room by ten oclock the following morning. I did try and get a later time, because my wife was going horse riding until about 12:30, and it would have been nice if she could have a shower before travelling on.

It was made clear that this was not possible! I wouldnt have minded if the place was full, but from what I could tell there were only another two rooms occupied.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redblackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Our room was comfortable, spacious, and looked exactly like the photos on the motel website. It was terrific having a cooktop and microwave in the very well equipped kitchen - one of the few places we encountered that catered for coffee drinkers - a plunger was supplied. Our room was exceptionally clean but the outside of the motel is quite dilapidated, covered in cobwebs and the sauna which is advertised on the street sign, is full of mattresses! The BBQ had not been cleaned in a very long time and the garden needs some tender loving care.We paid $120 and felt the extent and condition of the facilities available did not warrant the price. As with one of the previous reviewers, we were checked in via the phone system, but then there did not seem to be anybody around. Glenorchy is a beautiful, peaceful place to stay, and is only 40 minutes from the eastern end of the Routeburn Track, with local shuttles avalable. Food supplies are limited and expensive - buy up in Queenstown first. There are other accommodation options available, including a nice looking caravan park.

Room Tip: The rooms looking onto the carpark get better mountain views ( the 2 storey house belonging to the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Great room, nice super king bed. Soundproof so we could not hear the neighbours. Service was good and room was spotlessly clean. Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahg747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed here for one night and was pleased at how large the room was, easy it was to check in/out and friendly the owner was. This was a great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizstie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
28.2 km away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#1 of 58 in Queenstown
228 reviews
3.1 km away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 6 in Glenorchy
282 reviews
0.2 km away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#5 of 5 in Glenorchy
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
76 reviews
0.4 km away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
61 reviews
2.0 km away
Blanket Bay
Blanket Bay
#1 of 6 in Glenorchy
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenorchy Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenorchy Motels

Property: Glenorchy Motels
Address: 87-89 Oban St, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand (Formerly Mt. Earnslaw Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Glenorchy
Price range (per night): $97 - $116
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight comfortable studio suites close to the center of Glenorchy. Suites have configurations of either super king sized beds or king/queen beds some with an additional 1-2 single beds, en-suite, kitchen (except room 8), TV heat pump air conditioning and are serviced daily. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing