We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
306
38
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
38
6
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2016

we stayed at the Villa from 24th to 29th January 2016. My husband and I are an older couple. The programme devised for us was just perfect, the accomodation was first class and our food surpassed our expectations. All the staff were fantastic and particular mention to Oka our driver for our stay. We cannot praise this accommodation enough. This was our first visit to Bali and one we would love to repeat

Room Tip: we chose the honeymoon room which was very spacious
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelagh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Responsable relations publiques at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Dear Shelag,

Thanks for your nice words. Our staff was very proud to assist you and to make sure you will enjoy your first discovery of Bali. Come back !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Hands down, Balam Bali Villa was the best part of our Bali vacation. The setting of the villa, overlooking the rice fields, is incredible and you can spend hours observing typical village life - watching farmers work the fields and their small children fly kites and play. The staff is incredible and they make you feel as if you are family. You will leave with many new Balinese friends. The excursions are well designed and quite interesting. The food was so delicious we decided to eat dinner at the villa every night. Wi-fi speed was very fast, rooms are immaculate and hot water is plentiful. Gus, Komang, Kadeck, Oka and the others await your arrival.

Room Tip: There is really not a bad room at this place
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoTravelGuy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Gérant at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Dear Friends,

Thank you so much for your nice words ! the staff enjoyed very much the tours with you and your appreciation of our fusion cuisine ! Sometimes, 5 starts hotels are not adequate to discover a country like Bali... Immersion in this culture is a need, and you appreciated it. thanks to you as well. Hubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

I am writing this from beside the swimming pool at Balam Bali waiting to leave to get our flight home. It’s described as a B&B, but it’s perhaps more small boutique hotel. It is wonderfully quiet and peaceful, surrounded by rice fields in the real Bali. If you want the hustle and bustle of Ubud, then this is not the place for you.

We have stayed 8 days at the beginning of July in the Jaipur room. It is smallish room but with more than adequate space with a large and comfortable bed.

We stayed on the ‘all-inclusive package’ which include all meals and trips to the key tourist attractions and local treks which are great value. All the staff are exceptional, and cannot be faulted, and the food is excellent. I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanE15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Gérant at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Dear Jan, thanks so much for nice review. The staff was so happy to read your nice words. Yes, as you said, come back !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2015

As this was my fourth stay there is little I can add except I just love staying here. Consistently great staff, attention to detail and a beautiful setting all contribute to an enjoyable experience.
Hope to see all the wonderful people at the villa again.
Just wish more tourists would use this as their base.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank Gloria001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Gérant at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

Dear both,

thank you so much for your comments and i am sorry that you were not happy regarding the fridge equipment and the WIFI. This is unfortunately out of our hands. After all, we are in a third world country, in addition in a lost place in Bali. With fridges in our 7 rooms, we would not have electricity enough. We are at our maximum capacity. This is why, if requested, we provide space in our kitchen fridge. For the WIFI, it is the same issue ! we faught to get what we have, at an extravagnt price, 5 times more than in Paris, for a poor result. unofrtunately, it is he best we can get. It is ok for emails, but for sure, not always for Skype. we complained many times, but we never noticed any improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

This review has been a long time overdue, we stayed in May 2011 for our honeymoon!

We decided to stay here based on prior trip advisor reviews, and were not disappointed. The grounds are immaculately kept and absolutely beautiful- marble floors, gorgeous photography in each room and modern and comfortable beds. Breakfast (free!) is served on a deck overlooking the countryside and is absolutely delicious, with your choice of entrees, and plenty of incredible fresh fruit.

Hubert and his staff went above and beyond for us throughout our stay. We stayed for three nights at the beginning of our trip- they arranged a ride from the airport for us and we were received warmly despite the late hour. They gave us a tasty welcome drink and cooked us a fresh dinner. Hubert sat with us, and shared his knowledge of the area (which is extensive) over a glass of wine. Make sure you go on the 'excursion' around the Villa with Hubert as your guide, and Hubert will recommend that you attend the beautiful balinese dance performance in Ubud one evening- don't miss it!

We loved Balam Bali Villa so much that we returned again for two nights at the end of our trip- and it was like returning home again.

Please don't miss this gem of a bed and breakfast when you visit Ubud!

Room Tip: Try and stay at the old pirate house. Amazing views and experience.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajoy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Gérant at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

Dear Ajoy, thank you so much for your super review ! as we say... Better late than never ! the villa is still the same, with, however, a new facility: a room dedicated to fitness and yoga exercises, requested by many visitors ! the region where we are is still resisting to the pressure from the south, it is still superb. Even after guiding visitors for more than a thousand times around the villa, i discover again and again how the life here is made of some essential joys and no superficiality. The only revolution in this peaceful life was the eruption of... smartphones. Come back, it is you home. h

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews