We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful villa in great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of the bedrooms Front of the house and garden terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
One of the bedrooms
Front of the house and garden terrace
Passageway the terrace/garden
One of the bedrooms
Look through one door to the master bedroom
An antique etching of the Tiber River, which runs by Orte and the house
The professional grade kitchen
One of the bedrooms
One of the ceramics from the area
One of the bedrooms
Opening overlooking the kitchen
Great room, looking toward the terrace
Looking up towards the aqueduct from our garden terrace
Villa of the Aqueduct
Dining room
Master bathroom
One of the bathrooms detail
Doors from the great room towards upstair corridor and one of the bedrooms
Villa of the Aqueduct
ooking toward one of the bedrooms
Kitchen nook with a seventeenth century 12 feet dinner table
Second floor corridor
Our garden terrace, looking towards the top of the aqueduct
The tract of aqueduct arches just before the house
Looking toward the aqueduct from our garden terrace
The garden terrace
Master bathroom
The kitchen from the lower level hallway
The professional grade kitchen with vaulted ceiling
View from the terrace garden
The professional grade kitchen
The professional grade kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Orte, Province of Viterbo, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JaneC4163
1 review
“Beautiful villa in great location”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We loved our stay in this carefully restored 16th century villa on the edge of the old hill-town of Orte, 40 minutes' north of Rome. The house is terrific - large, comfortable and elegantly decorated, with a well-equipped kitchen. The terrace overlooks the surrounding countryside and is the perfect place to relax after busy days exploring the region. Alessandra met us at the railway station and was the perfect host. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peng T
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in October 2016

What an unforgettable holiday! The Villa of the Aqueduct was exactly what we had expected - charming, rustic, old and perhaps in need of a bit of sprucing up. But hey, it's a Renaissance cottage dating back over 500 years. And one that comes with a huge, modern kitchen and four bathrooms – unique for European standards.

Our hosts Anna and sister Alessandra went out of their way to show us around Orte and its underground water system as well as took us on day trips to the hill towns of Vasanello, Canepina, Caprarolo, Chia, Orvieto, Bagnaia, Viterbo, Tuscania and Tarquinia. 

There are beautiful gems hidden away in these villages, like Villa Lante, a Renaissance garden tucked away in a corner of Bagnaia, Villa Farnese (Caprarola), Il Castello di Vasanello, and an Etruscan necropoli in Tarquinia dating back 600BC. Of course, there were the more well-known ones like Villa d'Este and Villa Adriana in Tivoli. 

There was even a trip to a vineyard as well as a farm that produces organic goats cheese.

And if you feel like stocking up on various Italian groceries like cured meats, sauces and pastas before heading home, there's this porchetta shop in Viterbo that's a must visit - Prosciuttificio Coccia Sesto. 

Be prepared to be overfed by these two sisters - cinghiale (wild boar), bisteca, tripes, pastas and pizzas galore, chestnut soup, truffles, risotto, veal and Italian sausages and cured meats. They even brought in local chef Antonella to show us how to make pasta and pizza, and who then went on to prepare a home-cooked traditional Italian dinner complete with vino from her family vineyard. 

There came a point where we had to stop Anna and Alessandra from ordering more food each time we had our meals. But as they told us, "we Italians love our food and wine". And how fortunate we were to share in their la dolce vita.

Bellissimo!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X5844OJmi...
Scotland....You KNOW you want to come here!
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Live in its space - our collective words and pictures do not fully do it justice”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had the privilege of spending 2 weeks of a very special family holiday living in this unique and historic property. Both owners, Anna before arrival, and Alessandra during our entire stay, provided peerless assistance and support. They should be commended for their vision and determination to open this wonderful property to visitors as they have renovated it over the years. Although it is almost a week since we left, the villa itself remains a daily topic of conversation. That Alessandra gave of her time to provide a detailed history of the site and property, only added to its already wonderful ambience. Arranged trips to a winery and Orvieto were seamless (Thank you Graziella!) and the cooking lesson and delicious food from Dolores (a star!) were excellent additions to the trip. The previous contributors have expressed similar sentiments for this most beautiful of locations and I simply confirm that a year or so on from the last review, the Villa remains as it always should..... a unique treasure looked after with a passion for its history by two wonderfully dedicated sisters. It's quite a place, experience it beyond the words and pictures....you will not regret a single moment!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of the property - so relaxing to live there
Liked least: We had to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankMart...
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa. Lovely, friendly hosts”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Oozing with history, this villa is a terrific place to kick back and relax. The restored, utterly beautiful property is ideal for large families or multi family getaways. Huge kitchen for the foodies among you and only minutes from supplies in town.

On a line between Florence and Rome (although closer to Rome) the location is very convenient for sight seeing. The owners put us in touch with a terrific guide for a day excursion to Rome. Very accessible via commuter train from Orte and subway.

Go it alone or tap the wisdom of the owners for things to do in the area: either way, you'Ll have a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa itself
Liked least: Quality of feed/bev in the town itself
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry S
1 review
“Fabulous Villa”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Dearest Anna & Alessandra,

It is hard to put in words how we feel about beeing back in one of your homes. We had a wonderful time at Le Terrae and in Vasanello in 2010. Now we have spent a fabulous two weeks at the Villa of the Aqueduct. You have created a unique experience in this historic home which is spacious, comfortable as well as beautiful. Even more important to us is spending a bit of time with you both. We were very sad to say Good Bye. We do know that we will see you again!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing