We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 97
USD 92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kaeppelehof(Lauterbach)
USD 220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fehrenbacherhof(Lauterbach)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gasthof Adler(Lauterbach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Haus Hildegund(Lauterbach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
22
21
15
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
21
15
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaunabathroomwaiterstyledoor
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We stayed two nights at the end of a two week vacation. It is the perfect place to relax. You can find it easily with GPS, but know it is at the top of a hill, so you will feel as though you are driving to a castle! The view is incredible! The room was spacious and the bathroom was clean. We spent the day in the indoor pool and hopped from sauna to sauna. Dinner at the hotel was excellent. Breakfast was a smaller selection. I highly recommend if you want to get away from it all and just relax! My only complaint is we roasted at night because there is no A/C. With no screens on the windows/door, we couldn't leave them open for fresh air.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

The Basler Hof is located right at end of the valley on the edge of the woods close to the top of the mountain 720 mtrs , easy accessible by car .
The hotel is very modern , friendly and helpful staff. The Spa Facilities are outstanding, dinner in the hotel is good , breakfast buffet is excellent.
All rooms have a beautiful view over the valley , nice balcony. Swimming pool is nice and refreshing on a hot summer day.
The woods around the hotel offers some great walks.
Wifi in the rooms does not work only in the public areas but the hotel does offer a RJ45 to connect to the LAN.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TRIPSPJLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015

We were curious about the Black Forest area. As time was short, this was a "preliminary investigation expedition". The Basler Hof hotel, located at the heart of it, sounded like a great location in which to "recharge". It surpassed our expectations! A traditional setting and a family run place, they are always attentive to detail and very friendly, and quickly won us. I mostly spoke in English and was even able to have a conversation in French! The restaurant area is very cozy and the food is high quality. Breakfast is very good, with a reasonable variety of items which includes several home made ones. The lunch/dinner menu is quite interesting and offers local specialties. Everything we tried was delicious and nicely presented. They went out of their way to accommodate us: one of us had her birthday during the stay and they nicely decorated the table and even cooked a dish to order (not on the menu)! This will be remembered!
The bedroom was spacious, very clean, with comfortable beds and a great sofa where you can relax, and plenty of space to keep our clothes (drawers, cabinets, hangers, etc,). The balcony has a beautiful view (I suspect all rooms have a great view). The quietness of the location made for a great nights' sleep. The bathroom is good, but the shower jet is not that strong. We didn't have the time to enjoy the amenities (pool, spa, massages) or the nature walks. We did manage to visit some locations around this very pretty area. Definetlty a place we'd love to get back to and stay longer.
Before you travel spend the effort to trace the route in Google Maps and print out at least the bit from entering Lauterbach (Schwarzwald) to the hotel, as signposts won't help you. ALWAYS include Scharzwald in the searches. Coordinates: 48.239501N 8.350313 E. Some navigation devices may not have an area's map with the finer details.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the valley. There is a lift.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015

For this kind of hotel the wellness is just a perfect dream ! You should enjoy some time in the 10 sauna/hammam and perfect and clean indor pool. Our prefered sauna is the outside selfmade one.
Very clean hotel, outstanding team, very tipical style (don't expect and new glass wall style you are in a tipical black forest house).
We had an old but clean room, and enjoyed this very quiet place.
It was during week, but with children it must be also a perfect place for the whole familly we noticed many nice thing made for them.
Restaurant is very good, waiter high class and very helpfull. Again cooking is blackforest not Mac Donald either new cuisine just delicious local and excelent quality.
Breakfeast itself would deserve the trip, what do you expect? you will get it there,
Thank you Trip advisor you gave us the idea to try this hotel despite a litle higher price , we are sure that we will have a nice lovely romantic weekend there as soon as possible.

Room Tip: in the new part of the hotel, as usual third floor.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nieves67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is pretty well hidden. It is quiet and offers a nice view to the black forest. Service personals are very friendly and helpful. Dinner was not good. I wonder has the cook tried his food? I had a fish with sweet and sour sauce. Just the 1st bite , i had to throw it out of my mouth.. Terrible taste.
The breakfast and tea break are good. If you think of taking the package of euro28 for the tea break and dinner. Do not expect too much out of the dinner.

Indoor pool is small. Outside pool is ok. If you plan to go in summer, do expect the rooms are pretty warm. The furnitures in room are quite uncomfortable. They have a small TV. The room is very clean which is the positive side of it.

I won't recommand this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryltay69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews