We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing getaway from city center

Very picturesque estate, well taken care of. Discovered it while biking to Ouderkerk aan de Amstel... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
pruteanuangela
,
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Multi experience packed in one

We heard about Wester Amstel through a friend and decided to give it a go, over last weekend. Must... read more

Reviewed 7 September 2018
Vindhesh K
,
New Delhi, India
Read all 72 reviews
  
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
19
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orchard century art history nature chickens bike amsterdam netherlands
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very picturesque estate, well taken care of. Discovered it while biking to Ouderkerk aan de Amstel and was fascinated by the nature of the garden and its surroundings. Would definitely go back in spring

Thank pruteanuangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We heard about Wester Amstel through a friend and decided to give it a go, over last weekend. Must say, it was one of the most fulfilling experience I have had with my family in Netherlands. The estate is a hidden gem that unfolds itself if you start exploring it. From fruit orchard to flowerbeds, from old farm house (with an incredible and interesting history) to oak plantations (and a mini cozy tea house in the corner), it is a truly enriching experience that transports you to a unique natural and historical feel. The owners and staff are equally hospitable as the total environment. They take a personal pride and interest in showing around and sharing stories about the history of entire estate in a very engaging way (of course if they are available). Our daughter had a specially great time picking pears and apples from orchard and running behind chickens. All in all a great day we spent and would love to visit time and again.

Thank Vindhesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soren M, Guest Relations Manager at Wester-Amstel: Country House and Park since 1662, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Thank you, Vindesh, for your lively, vivid description of your family visit. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Just one word of caution: be careful when entering the gate with your lovely daughter in the bakfiets. The downwards slope is steep!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Have a historic taste of the old country house and the magnificent gardens at Wester-Amstel. The house and the gardens are close to Amsterdam and can be combined with a wonderful bike tour along the Amstel river. The estate is a great place to relax and enjoy the special planting.

Thank BillA1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soren M, Public Relations Manager at Wester-Amstel: Country House and Park since 1662, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thanks, Bill. And even work feels like relaxation at Wester-Amstel, as we are sure you would agree to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Had a great time strolling through the grounds, all quiet and serene, no blaring radios or people keeping their phones busy at high volume. The butterfly garden was delightful, loaded with colourful blossoms, butterflies dancing in the air and bees diligently going about their tasks, eager for the pollen. It was easy to imagine myself back in the days of yore. Swallows populated the skies above me and luck was with me when I spotted four on a curved branch waiting for the food which a parent bird had fetched. I immortalized them with my telephoto lens (see the accompanying photo). To witness that scene was the icing on the cake!

1  Thank mabelambethermessiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soren M, Public Relations Manager at Wester-Amstel: Country House and Park since 1662, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thank you for the wonderful photographs you posted. The picture with the swallows is sterling! Please do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Close to Amsterdam but such a different vibe. Easy to go on a bike. The park is a great place to relax and enjoy

Thank Remy_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soren M, Public Relations Manager at Wester-Amstel: Country House and Park since 1662, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Spot on, Remy. As we always say: at Wester-Amstel you are in the middle of the country side, in the middle of Amsterdam!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

For some the house may be the key attraction, but for me it is the garden, or should I say gardens. Look at the beautiful lanes and borders, the great variety of trees with their unique personal history. A group of enthousiasts work here every Saturday with the owners to keep it this way. Absolutely worth the visit!

Thank tripary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 September 2017

Many thanks for your fine comments on our beautiful gardens and splendid volunteers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

When you need to escape from the busy, crowded streets of Amsterdam… Wester-Amstel is the place to go! All you have to do is hop on a bike and within 20 minutes you are there (the route to Wester-Amstel is gorgeous, by the way!).

I’m a repeat visitor and I’ll be honest with you - Wester-Amstel never loses its charm! I love walking around the grounds, saying hi to the chickens, checking out the latest art exhibit… And just relaxing and recharging.

It’s the perfect place to go to experience the Amsterdam countryside. You get history, beauty, and nature all wrapped up into one.

I would really recommend this place!

Thank phantomplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbladez, Public Relations Manager at Wester-Amstel: Country House and Park since 1662, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

We're so glad you keep visiting Wester-Amstel!

The next time you visit, make sure you see what we're harvesting! You can pick up some fresh vegetables & fruit (chemical free and very delicious) for a donation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

On the banks of the Amstel. Perfect for an afternoon stroll, picnic, or just a relaxing visit. Large property with multiple gardens, an orchard, a pond, and many walking paths. Restored 17th century mansion with an available audio tour. Near (1km) to the village of Ouderkerk where you can find shopping and refreshment. Great way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2017

Thank you, Timothy. Great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Very Nice place to visit during stay in Amsterdam Great outdoor and indoor experience easy acces Nice tour and guide

Thank H2912ZBmarcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2017

Thanks, Marc. It was a pleasure to guide you around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

A very quiet and serene garden, on the banks on the Amstel. With many interesting things to see. A lovely old house, once owned by the Mayor of Amsterdam as a summer retreat. The gardens still show how it once was, with a herb and vegetable gardens, and a small ornamental garden with nice borders, box hedges and roses. A lovely newer addition is the butterfly garden. The park is very shady and a delight in springtime. The moated orchard is home to the chickens, and in springtime it is awash with very many different daffodils, once counted by enthusiast children as 21 different blooms. There is a spring garden, with many different early spring flowers. In Summertime and Autumn the gardens are well worth a visit as well. its a must see.

Thank marymog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. You clearly have been around! The one additional seasonal experience we can offer you is Wester-Amstel on a crisp, frosty day in january when the very first winter aconites start blooming...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews