We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 132
View deal
Priceline
USD 103
View deal
Trip.com
USD 92
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/02/22
Hotels.comUSD 132
Booking.comUSD 98
TravelocityUSD 132
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
151
39
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
151
39
7
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh fruit indoor pool rooms are nice small balcony stay there again madeira sauna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2019

This hotels is in the mountains. Amazing view from the room to surroundings. We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and was able from this location to visit the west of the island, Porto Moniz natural swimming pools, Seixal beach with black sand, lava Caves, the lighthouse on the most west point of Madeira, where you can see the amazing sunset view. Also, the staff is very friendly and pleasant, everything is very clean and breakfast contains only the best quality of food. Not a very big selection, but always fresh, and all choices for everyone. There is a pool on site, where you can enjoy 26 degrees of water to swim and relax.

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank Tourist781621
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solar Da Bica M, Proprietário at Solar Da Bica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2019

Thank you so much for this wonderful words!
What a pleasure it is to read your review and find you loved your stay with us.
Thank you also for pointing how easy it is to explore the island having Solar da Bica as a base location.
We wish you the best in life!
Most sincerely
Miguel
(Solar da Bica team)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2019

Spend 2 nights in this outstanding hotel. Warm welcome from staff who were extremely helpful and knowledgable about local area. Room was well equipped and very comfortable with the added benefit of a fantastic view over the valley. Breakfast had a good selection and was nicely presented. They have an honesty bar which has an adequate choice of drinks for the evening. They do provide water and hot drinks throughout the day from this same self service area. Hotel benefits from a small indoor swimming pool which is well maintained.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and it is one when we are back in the area we will look to stay at again.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AFL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solar Da Bica M, Proprietário at Solar Da Bica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2019

Thank you very much for this beautiful review.
It is a joy to receive such amazing compliments and have guest leave Solar da Bica with this kind of felling.
All the best on your life journey!
My most sincere regards.
Miguel
(Solar da Bica team)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2019 via mobile

Spend there a night and got nothing but good things to say. Lovely staff who recommended us a good restaurant. Room was really cozy and clean with a great view. There's a pool and sauna. Free coffee/tee and water. Breakfast included fresh products and was really good. If i ever go to Sao Vicente again there are only one hotel for me and that's Solar Da Bico

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JoniL29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solardabica, Proprietário at Solar Da Bica, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2019

Thank you so much for this amazing and lovely words.
What a pleasure it is to read them and know that even for one night you experienced Solar da Bica to the fullest, with all our love and care.
We will be waiting for your next visit soon ;D
All the best for you.
Gratefully
Miguel
(Solar da Bica team)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2019

The position of this hotel is a little out of the way but it is in a quiet area and has good views over the valley. There is a tight narrow corner between two buildings to turn onto the road the hotel is on so a small to mid-size car is needed. The car parking area is outside the hotel grounds on the side of the road. The room we were in had a small balcony, just enough room for a couple of chairs to sit out on to look at the view. The room was a reasonable size and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also a reasonable size and had a good shower. There was an indoor swimming pool which looked quite nice but we weren't there long enough to use it. Hot and cold drinks were available in a communal area on the lower ground floor which is also where the residents' lounge and the dining room are situated. Breakfast was fairly basic but did include cereal, sliced bread, ham and cheese. Overall, the hotel was comfortable enough but it just felt rather soulless.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinanda V, Proprietário at Solar Da Bica, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2019

Thank you for the time you took to write this review.
We very much appreciate you choosing Solar da Bica for your stay in Madeira Island.
We would love for you to have experienced our loving, caring and family energy as other guests do, but truly hope if you return again in future time you will be able to experience it with us.
We wish you all the best joy in the world.
Sincerely
Miguel
(Solar da Bica Team)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2019 via mobile

Geographical situation, calm and peaceful village, except for some dog barking, church bells and roaster noise in the morning, but these definitely had their charm. Breakfast had good home made juice but bread and ham were not the top. Staff at reception very friendly. Nice orange massage from a local lady who came up to the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel if you have no car, as it is very hilly and difficult to get to the centre of Sāo Vicente. The hotel works with a restaurant called Lavrador whose owner gave us a daily ride to and from his restaurant which was very convenient.
Small room with some damp smell, hardly ever warm water available as switched off during day time in order to save electricity we were told. We consider that if you get a permit to call your place a hotel, you should be able to supply warm water to your guests all day long. The heater did also not work until we found out that a timer reduced the hours of functioning. As it was raining and really cold, this was annoying for a day, until we removed the timer and had the heating working.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank 43christianew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinanda V, Gerente geral at Solar Da Bica, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2019

Thank you so much for your time and words.
We thank you for all the appreciative words.
We looked into the smell situation you referred and believe it was something temporary as we can't find it anymore, and in the mean time we already added more time of heating water, trying to balance it with our environmental friendly approach and philosophy of saving energy, as we also do with the bedroom heaters. We hope that next time you visit us you have an amazing experience. With all the best wishes. Sincerely, Miguel (Solar da Bica team)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews