We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
100
75
33
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
75
33
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews course menu swimming pool hotel restaurant half board guests a la carte a mountain view room hotel management quiet hotel hire car breakfast and dinner steep hill jacuzzi vicente fridge island unplug euros
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2018

I really liked this place. It was quiet in there and I enjoyed relax in jacuzzi and pool. Nerby you can find a nice town so a perfect location for walks. Dinner was tasty but seemed to me a little pricey. On the other hand, breakfast was excellent and for better price. Nice choice.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aloyse00100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

+ Restaurant 4/5 dish, very good dining.
+ Very affordable.
+ Jacuzzi, Sauna.
+ Good service.
+ Distant, calm area.
+ Minigolf.
+ Great valley view.
+ Free parking.
- Not a high end quality facility.
- Small swimming pool.
- Breakfast boring (eggs, mushrooms, bread, yogurt, serial).

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estalagem d, Guest Relations Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Tripadvisor member,

We would like to thank you for your positive and negative comments, which we give special attention, it is with your opinion that we can corrected and improved.

Regarding our facilities, it is worth noting that in our hotel you can enjoy a mini golf course, gym, sauna, jacuzzi and Turkish bath, playground, croquet field and a wine cellar where you can taste a good wine and at the same time play pool.
At the end of the day you can enjoy our tea house and read a good book in our “Cantinho do Artista”.

Please note that throughout the hotel, either in the rooms or in all social areas and gardens you can have free internet access.

As for the size of our pool we inform you that it has the appropriate dimensions provided and approved by law for a hotel with our capacity.

As far as our breakfast is concerned, we follow the standard pattern of a buffet breakfast, always provide with variety of different bread every day, homemade cake and biscuits, always fresh fruit and equally fresh fruit salad, variety of cereals, varieties of dried fruits, cheeses, ham leg and turkey ham, tomato, cucumber, hot section with grilled bacon, scrambled eggs, fried, poached or boiled, beans with tomatoes, cocktail sausages and mushrooms, we also have coffee, tea and cocoa, variety of juices and water. We also provide specific products for people with lactose intolerance or vegetarians, with the intention of satisfying all our customers, maintaining quality and healthy options.

We assume that overall you had a pleasant stay in our hotel, and thank you once again for your evaluation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings, less than 10 minutes by car from the town of Sao Vicente. Lovely grounds with an indoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi. Unfortunately there’s was a problem with the jacuzzi while we were there and it was cold.

Breakfast was very good, lots of choice. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was nice but a bit pricey. There was a 5 course set menu which looked good value for money but had a couple of meat courses and I don’t eat meat so that wasn’t an option for me. Drinks at the bar were expensive. Overall a very nice relaxing place to spend a few days.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank evie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estalagem d, Front Office Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Good afternoon.

Thank you for your review, only with our guests feedback we can improve our service standards.
We apologise for the water in the jacuzzi not being at the temperature you were expecting; it could happened to be on stand by mode which afterwards took a bit of time to heat on again (energy saving). Even though, we took measures in order to avoid this happening in the future.
Regarding restaurant, 5 course menu, meat options but also other menus available. If you have informed restaurant you would know we have available on request vegetarian , vegan , macrobiotic and other different menus available. We never leave a guest without an option.
Now, meals being pricey as well as drinks; do note we are a 4 star deluxe hotel with its associated costs. You can't compare a hotel restaurant and bar with a fast food restaurant and ordinary pub...you just can't; we hope you realise that.

With no further subject to reply, we hope to have you visiting Madeira again.

Kind regards from all team at Estalagem do Vale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night whilst touring the island, the place is very peaceful, we spent the late afternoon by the pool, the rooms are very nice clean, we used the spa which was very nice, we had dinner in the restaurant we had the 5 course menu which was outstanding, the breakfast was very nice the staff are very friendly and went out of their way to make sure all was ok! Highly recommended

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John_Allwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estalagem d, Public Relations Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for your review.
We hope to see you again very soon!

Kind regards from all the team here at Estalagem do Vale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

A very nice and calm hotel, in the Sao Vicente valley. The swimming pool has one of the best view and is safe for young children, and it also has various activities (mini golf, ping pong, pool table).
We enjoyed our stay a lot, but be sure to have your own car to be able to roam in the island for activities.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FellowTraveler725949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estalagem d, Guest Relations Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for your review.
It was a pleasure having you staying with us.
We wait for your future visit.

Kind regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews