We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply fantastic property in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Haut Champ

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Saint-Hilaire-du-Harcouet, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Adrian W
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Simply fantastic property in a great location”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A truly great place. Ideally located within easy reach of all main attractions, Le Haut Champ is a simply fantastic property in a great location. Exceptionally clean and finished to very high standards yet with a home from home feel. Perhaps some of that feeling is down to the wonderful host experience from Simon and Anne. Any help you need is on hand and no trouble. We were so impressed with our stay at Le Haut CHamp overall probably the best we have booked (and we have stayed in many places across France over the years) we just can't wait to return.
Our thanks to Simon and Anne, from Adrian, Jillian, June and Harry from South Yorkshire.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy W
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Le Haut Champ”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have recently returned from two wonderful weeks at Le Haut Champ. The gite is excellent - stylish, comfortable, well equipped, immaculately clean and is set in beautiful rolling countryside. It is well placed for local amenities and many places of interest are within easy reach. Simon and Anne are perfect hosts. They are helpful and informative but never intrusive. We hope to return soon and do not hesitate to recommend Le Haut Champ!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquillity
Liked least: Leaving at the end of two weeks!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimberJoh...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Idyllic countryside location, immaculately clean and very practical.”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife and I stayed at Le Haut Champ for a week in June 2015, whilst exploring Normandy and parts of Brittany.

Le Haut Champ is situated in a most delightful location, with 360 degree views of countryside. It has gardens of its own with the front part kept for visitors to use. We made use of the tables and chairs there to enjoy dinner in the evening sunshine, occasionally watching the animals at the neighbouring farm strolling by just the other side of the garden boundary. The owners of Le Haut Champ clearly put a lot of effort into both the gîte and the gardens, adding various new plants to the garden during our stay. They made us very welcome and offered lots of help & advice regarding not just places to visit and eat, but also how to make the most of particular visits.

The gîte is of a very high standard - very comfortable and practical, with modern bathroom and kitchen facilities, whilst still having plenty of charm. It worked perfectly for us as a base from which to explore and as a quiet retreat in which to relax. We visited the Normandy beaches, Pegasus Bridge, various cemetaries, Le Mont Saint Michel, Bayeux to see the tapestry, nearby gardens, le Chateau de Fougeres, local towns (there was a music festival during our stay that included events in various nearby locations) and various eateries. Le Haut Champ is a very practical location for visiting all of these.

There were facilities that we didn't use, such as a TV, DVD player with selection of DVDs, log burner etc. I could imagine visiting in winter possibly using these, but in the perfect weather that we had, there was no need.

A very enjoyable stay, very welcoming hosts, excellent accommodation, in an idyllic location. Perfect.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hosts
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jk667
1 review
“A tranquil beauty”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked a week at Le Haut Champ for the end of May 2015. It was a family holiday, 2 adults, an infant and a baby.

We were made very welcome on our arrival and the accommodation surpassed our expectations. Clean, tidy and of a high standard, we immediately felt at home. We were also thrilled at the news that the front terrace of the property was ours for use throughout the week and provided fantastic views across the local countryside.

Anne & Simon were very wiling to give us information of things to do in the local area. We visited the castle at Fougeres (there is a great local bar/bistro just outside this as well), Le Mont st Michel, St Malo (utterly fantastic) and the Zoo de Champrepus (highly recommended for children).

The location is rural but excellent, easy and pleasant road access to everywhere we visited. There was a lovely Patisserie in St Martin de Landelles (I can't remember the name but it was on the corner) - fresh baguettes daily!

Overall I would recommend anybody to stay here. Great hosts, great accommodation and great surroundings. We will return.

Thank you to both Anne & Simon for a special week away, the first time as a family of 4.

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F
1 review
“A wonderful property in beautiful, peaceful countryside.”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Le Haut Champ is a really nice property. It's furnished beautifully and very clean. Well equipped with everything you could need for a self catering holiday. Each of the two bedrooms have an en-suite bathroom, which really makes things easier. The surrounding countryside is very picturesque with it's rolling hills, with plenty of space to relax in. Perfectly placed to explore Normandy and Brittany, being about 40 minutes from Le Mont St Michel. The owners live next door and are very friendly and helpful, but are not intrusive. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Le Haut Champ.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding countryside
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.