We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“TRIP of a Lifetime!”

Review of D Day Tours B&B

The Manoir de Founcroup
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Manoir de Founcroup
Wild flowers July 2011 The gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
117 reviews
The Manoir de Founcroup
Wild flowers July 2011
The gardens
View from the Tower
The farmhouse kitchen
Sitting room
The Kingcome room - named after Brian Kingome a superb WWII Spitfire pilot
The Victorian room
The style of the bathrooms
Part of the greeting team - Saffron
Jaye and Saffron
Ben
Ben and his Spitfire
Ben not having a good afternoon - crashing the Spitfire!
The Cannon...
Firing the cannon - just your regular Sunday afternoon...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Picauville, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 117 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barbara W
Grapevine, Texas
2 reviews
“TRIP of a Lifetime!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our group of 6 friends of 40 years planned a trip to Normandy for over a year to visit and experience the war our fathers fought. We found Ben and Jaye thru the internet. The more we read, the more convinced we were we had made the right decision to put our tour in Ben's hands. Ben and Jaye exceeded our highest expectations! We were treated as family, even down to their great pup Saffron! The rooms were perfect in every way. I already miss having our windows open at night and being awakened by birds and the smell of a wonderful French breakfast. Ben's tours are not only informative, but he totally brings the events of DDAY alive through the lives and stories of the men who came ashore and dropped from the skies, as well as the stories of the villagers surrounding the Manior. In addition, Ben tailored our tour to include the beach one of our friends dads landed on as well as a different cemetery stop. This is a Trip I will never ever forget! I give them ten stars!!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We LOVED the location & Manor, and ESPECIALLY how we were treated by Ben & Jaye, the ultimate hosts. Also the tours Ben tailored for us could not have been better! I would go again next week if I could.
Liked least: The wifi strength was better in some parts of the house, but this was NOT a problem of Ben and Jaye's, and worked out fine.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luvtotrav...
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This was the highlight of a 10-day tour in France.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed three nights (arriving May 20, 2014) at Ben and Jaye Trumble’s restored 16th century Manoir de Founcroup near the small village of Sainte Mere Eglise in the beautiful Normandy countryside. Our room was large, quite comfortable, and clean with an en suite bath. Ben picked us up at the Carentan train station, about a 10-minute drive from his home, and we arrived in time to enjoy a kir before dinner in the living room where we met another couple who were guests from Australia, and Ben and Jaye’s golden retriever, Safron. Meals were delicious and satisfying (breakfast and dinner) with Ben’s wife, Jaye, working her culinary magic. (Ben would get up early each morning and drive to the local patisserie for just-baked French breads, croissants, and pastries to go with our breakfast…Delicious!)

Our daily ‘tour’ began around 9:30am and Ben was not only a font of good information regarding the D-Day invasion, but he was witty and entertaining at the same time which made the experience fun as well as informative. He carried with him a book of black and white photos taken around the area in 1944 and then pointed out some of the landmarks in the photos that you can still see today from different vantage points. We visited the Utah and Omaha beaches, Pont du Hoc, the American cemetery above Omaha beach which was very moving and has a lovely museum, as well as other places of interest.

Every evening we’d return to our “home-away-from-home” for a kir and conversation in front of the fireplace before partaking of a delicious dinner. One evening we enjoyed watching Episode 2 of HBO’s “Band of Brothers” after dinner which portrayed the first wave of paratroopers approaching the beaches on D-Day.
We spent a wonderful, informative time with Ben Trumble; it turned out to be the highlight of our 10-day trip to France.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect!
Liked least: Absolutely NO negatives.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“12 Thumbs Up!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

12 Thumbs UP!! This is what we would give Ben, Jaye, and of course Saffron. Six of us from the states invaded France for D-Day 70th Anniversary week. We stayed at the Manior Faunecrop for 4 days. I cannot say enough about the manior and the tours. Breakfast and Dinner were included. I am still having fresh French bread withdrawal. One day we had lunch on the lawn and watched the mass parachute drop a few miles away. Totally Awesome! The rooms were perfect and hospitality could not be better. We truley felt like family. Ben's knowledge of the area and D-Day activities close to the manior and the beaches made for an exciting and personal experience. Photos of 1944 while we stood on the spots where it all happened 70 years ago was surreal. Of course the beaches and memorials were on the tour. We loved every minute we were there.. would go back in a heartbeat.. Thanks Ben and Jaye for a once in a lifetime experience. Book your Normandy Tours with them, you will not be disapointed..
John & Carla W. June 7-11, 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: We were made to feel like family while there. Food, History
Liked least: Had to get close to the router for WiFi service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh L
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“There is NO other way to visit the Normany battlefields.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Four of us just spent two very full days visiting the Normandy battlefields with hosts Ben and Jaye -- they made the visit so memorable we wish we could have stayed longer.
This was no "formula" tour, but a personal and in-depth visit to D-Day battlefields. Before we arrived, Ben offered to customize our visit in any way we wished. Fortunatley for us, we did not tinker with his recommended itinerary.
Ben's encyclopedic knowledge combined with his engaging personality truly made this a unique and important experience for us. He followed up by sending us a detailed report of our visit to help us remember the many stops we made.
When visiting some places, Ben would, in essence, reenact the battle by moving us in the exact steps the troops did 75 years ago.
The tour continued over dinner in Jaye's kitchen where we enjoyed lovely dinners and lively conversation.
Thank you Ben and Jaye

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A
1 review
“The ONLY way to fully appreciate Normandy and the DDay experience!!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The quintessential DDay tour experience! From the arrival dinner to departure breakfast, Jaye and Ben are gracious hosts in an idyllic setting. The Manor house, accommodations, décor, and village setting are something out of a story book. Food was superb, and the company top shelf...a warm and comfortable B&B experience...memorable!! The DDay tour will immerse you in history and bring you back in time as Ben expertly narrates events leading up to the invasion, starting with WWI and it's aftermath. Ben's DDay depth of knowledge is unsurpassed and he will walk you through the nuances of the DDay experience, from the mechanics of the various landings and airborne assaults, to the very personal stories of service and sacrifice. He has interviewed numerous DDay vets and French citizens who lived through the invasion. He is able to paint a rich tapestry of the personal side of the invasion that brings it to life for the guest. The tour is really a pilgrimage as Ben walked us through the various venues, we were keenly aware that we were only separated by time as we walked where heroes walked. As a retired USAF General Officer, the historical depth Ben provides along with seeing all the venues as he narrates their historical importance was very, very meaningful. I'll be back again for sure! If you are coming to Normandy...DDay 1944 Tours is the only was to go....guaranteed!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing