We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$100
Breakfast included
Priceline
AU$100
Fully refundable before Tue, 28 May
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
AU$88
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Kara7733
Netherlands

Great stay at Kathalee, looking forward to coming back

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Jan 2020
Great little hotel on the best stretch of beach in Koh Lipe. The rooms have a decent size, the bathrooms could use a bit of an upgrade, but overall this didn't bother us at all. The staff is really attentive and helpful, after the first day they moved us to the room by the beach, when they noticed we are with kids. The breakfast is quite good, we loved the fresh fruit and pancakes in the morning. The staff really makes a difference . We very much look forward to coming back soon.
Date of stay: December 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$215
  • Priceline
    AU$215
  • Agoda.com
    AU$176
  • Hotels.com
    AU$212
0.2 km from Kathalee Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$161
  • Priceline
    AU$182
  • Vio.com
    AU$142
  • Expedia.com
    AU$178
0.3 km from Kathalee Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$167
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$149
  • Agoda.com
    AU$138
  • Hotels.com
    AU$159
1.0 km from Kathalee Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$186
  • Priceline
    AU$183
  • Expedia.com
    AU$166
  • Vio.com
    AU$184
0.8 km from Kathalee Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$112
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$112
  • Trip.com
    AU$96
  • Expedia.com
    AU$116
1.2 km from Kathalee Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Priceline
AU$97
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    AU$92
  • Agoda.com
    AU$88
  • Trip.com
    AU$92
1.3 km from Kathalee Beach Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Priceline
AU$143
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$77
  • Vio.com
    AU$68
  • Hotels.com
    AU$186
0.6 km from Kathalee Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$117
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$119
  • Agoda.com
    AU$110
  • Expedia.com
    AU$288
1.7 km from Kathalee Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$143
  • Priceline
    AU$148
  • Agoda.com
    AU$125
  • Expedia.com
    AU$178
1.5 km from Kathalee Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$67
  • Priceline
    AU$67
  • Hotels.com
    AU$88
  • Expedia.com
    AU$80
1.3 km from Kathalee Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
View more hotels in Ko Lipe
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
53
34
10
7
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
53
34
10
7
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle crystal clear turquoise waters walking street sun loungers low tide sea moons resort beach island ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2019 via mobile

The beach is the most beautiful little cove on sunset beach. Its very quiet and peaceful.
Room itself very basic, but the matress was just so hard/so were the pillows. We could not sleep for 2 nights. View from balcony nice straight to see the ocean.
Omelette at breakfast was really good, but rest really basic and there isnt much there. Staff didnt really speak much English but the manager did, but when she was not there it was hard to communicate. They dont offer anything in the evening, so we went out into walk street. All in all ok, but because of the bed I would not return.
PS: read a review about there being an old grumpy German guy and yes, he works there.
In one of the responses to a review, the general manager commented that they only have Thai people working at the hotel and no European people which isnt quite true, the European guy who is there seems to help out (and is the GM’s other half) - I can see why people thought of him as grumpy, but because we spoke German to him he was quite nice.

Date of stay: April 2019
2  Thank ChiaraCL1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2019

We had a good time parked at Kathalee which is located at a cosy private corner of Sunrise Beach. There is fish around rock outcrops around the beach area so it's convenient for short snorkeling expeditions throughout the day. The resort has a decent breakfast buffet spread, free use of snorkeling gear and life vests, and free use of kayaks. There's also free pick up to and from the floating platform and also free shuttle to walking street. It's also only 10-15 minutes' walk to walking street. The rooms we stayed in were clean and spacious and provided amenities like air-con, coffee/tea/fridge, etc. It also has ready access to long tail boat taxis and massage services. Staff were also friendly and informative. Most convenient yet quiet location.

Room tip: Choose a sea front room with immediate and direct access to the beach if you don't wish to walk up to rooms on higher floors.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Waldbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

we stayed here for 6 nights and checked out today. we have a one year old and the staff all went out of their way to keep her entertained, nothing we asked was too much for the staff. we are in love with koh lipe and will definitely be back.

we were in room a8 and it is basic but perfect for a beach break with a baby we were constantly bringing back sand from the beach and the staff only too happy to clean every day.

breakfast is basic but enough to get you through to lunch.

the protector of the reef does a great job and long may he continue trying to prevent idiots walking on it!

if only getting on/off koh lipe was better organised would be perfect the ferry company don’t care about the passengers and cram in more and give no information and expect you to stand around for hours before boarding(not that this is in anyway connected to the hotel!!))

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ExpatReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2018 via mobile

I stayed at Kathalee 4 nights. On former visits I had been at the adjacent hotels .
i would say, except for the oversimplified breakfast it is an excellent three-star hotel at an absolute five star location.

Ocean view room was lovely, good design, really good view. Bathroom also good but slightly worn ( moving faucet, toilet seat) Price is ok, compared with the alternatives: Idyllic concept worth the considerably higher price, 10 moons maybe slightly overpriced but has a good restaurant, at Serependity I did not stay yet but dinner there was high-class.
The other hotels on sunrise beach are much less private.

Staff very friendly and excellent. I certainly would consider returning.

Suggestion: Patiently explain all new guests the (new) national park rules. Hand out a paper summarizing them.
Guests will be greatful.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank mimainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2018 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 night inclusive snorkling package. Friendly staffs , reasonable price , Free shuttle to walking street , Tasety food. Definitly Will be back sure.
Tips, Can snorkling in front of resort beach. White sand and clear water. Free Kayaking just contact to reception. Special thanks to Kan and James to take care of us during our stay.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank perjerc2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews