We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveller rating
409
118
33
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
118
33
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big lebowski every morning breakfast delivered waterproof bag pool villa turn down service on the rocks walking street surrounded by nature high tide the reefs tree house great snorkeling mosquito netting free kayaks long boat every evening
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 580 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

The place holds a lot of promise with a flash website but the experience is far below expectations given the high price. We stayed here for a week but in future would stay elsewhere.

The positives: The rooms themselves are great and the views awesome. The location near Koh Usen is fantastic for snorkelling. Koh Lipe and sunrise beach are fantastic.

Needs Improvement: It looks like the resort was initially built well and since extended with new villas further up the hill. Unfortunately the budget for landscaping diminishes for the new villas and you'll be walking through concrete pavers looking at the underside of your neighbours pool plumbing as you climb the 100+ stairs to your room if you are nearer the top; none of that is of course shown in the website. What's worse though is the poor service. For the price, this place should have quality staff, but there are few people to help. There are a couple of people and depending on who you get on the day it's hit or miss; the gentleman was great and the lady was useless and best avoided. It was hard to see who was leading this ship and management and ownership were severely missing. This place looks like it's being operated as a cash cow. Breakfast which was hit and miss and so we avoided the restaurant, although it has a great view.

As a side issue, the beach below had been eroded by the recent full moon and as the beach is shared with the nearby "10 Moons Resort" it was left to 10 Moons to 'fix'; they added more sandbags to the beach adding to the white bits of plastic crap coming out of the sand - I personally would have thoughts more natural barriers (trees and rocks) would be effective and aesthetically pleasing. But clearly none of this is of concern to the absent management of Serendipity. Just be aware this is the beach they promote below the resort.

Our advice - best you find a Serendipitous location further up the beach! We will not be back.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank AndyH1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

I stayed in a sea view suite. The view was worth the cost, overlooking the sea.
It was spacious and well-furnished. The day bed and hammock was a nice touch. Watching the sun rise was just the perfect way to start the day since it is located at the Sunrise beach. The steep stairs from the beach up to my suite was definitely a form of exercise which I did not mind.

Loved the option of having the breakfast in the room. The options were also aplenty.
I did try the restaurant and they did not disappoint. They should offer the full menu + wine list in the rooms for easy ordering.

The staff were warm and hospitable. That's a win. The resort is also walking distance from the main street.

Perhaps they could do with better toiletries, i.e. shower gel and offer it in a dispenser. And the water pressure could be increased.

Room Tip: Get the sea view room
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Moo_Salz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

The rooms are delightful and nicely positioned randomly amongst the rocks and trees whilst maintaining a view to the see. They have been positioned to provide privacy but where this has not been possible some have timber Doors. There is some lovely detail in the rooms, hardwood throughout, copper basin , and a TV and wooden games for the kids. Serendipity also has its own beach , well nearly, as it is located at the far end of the beach it receives just a few wandering visitors. This is far nicer than the excessive amount of resorts that line the beach, some in a modern style which I think ruins the look.
Some of the rooms even have an outside tub which is great if your budget can stretch that far, because lets face it, this place is expensive.

The food here is great , evident by the amount of people that come here just to dine. It is advisable to book your dining table as the tables here and at 10 Moons next door get booked out because of the good standard. The restaurant is perched overlooking the sea so you can dine with a cooling breeze and see the fishermen in the distance with their lights.

Your breakfast is chosen the night before and picked up by room service when they come to turn down the bed, and is served punctually (at your time) on your balcony for you to have at your own pace.

When you get off the boat you will be greeted and taxied to the resort but best to advise them on which vessel you will be arriving on so as to avoid and mess ups.

I can see why Serendipity is highly recommended and if your budget can stretch then I too would recommend it, but at their rates it can make a big dent in the holiday budget. Go for it.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank johny2crisps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We stayed at Serendipity and had the Big Lebowski room. Absolutely great experience and a great room for a family with three children.
Breakfast in the room every morning, friendly staff and great restaurant.
To make it even better we would love better pillows (the ones today are hard and large).

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jakob_per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We waited 1.5 hours for our food. It wasn't even busy. My girlfriend was so hungry at that point she was ready to go fishing for her own lunch. We were a group of 4 who received our meals separately over a 90 MINUTE period. Who on earth goes out to lunch to eat like that? Nobody. No apology when the food finally came - it was ok but by then it had been such a horrendous experience that it didn't really matter.

There is an air of complacency here. I wouldn't go again despite the food being ok. The staff simply do not understand a group of people eating together within a reasonable timeframe.

We left angry and disappointed. It's a restaurant, how can you be surprised when people turn up to eat. It was like they had never served more than two people at a time.

They have a lot to learn about running a restaurant, that's for sure.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sanchez599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews