We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and easy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Ko Lipe
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relax and easy”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Love the place. Like so many ppl said Lipe itself is everything already. Safe and I found the beauties of local ppl and community. Ask yourself what type of holidaymaker you are. If you look for pampering type, I wont recommend for this resort. But for me, I feel back to nature. Easy going day. Feel very privacy. The bungalow was very cute I picked the two storages one. Yes there is No AC No hot water but the cool rain shower is very refreshing. And that powerful electric fan in the room is good enough. The hotel beach is so beautiful. All the staffs are friendly. They will not run after you but if your approach them they will be there for you. Of course I come across one on the last day but I would not ruin my whole expedience because of one staff I met. It might be her bad day or she did not know why she was there behind the cashier counter. The diving center is great to stop by. Or just go on Long tail boat “Nhum Wan” with Captain Kian who is the local from the island also a good way to spend a day.

Room Tip: Be aware of Bugs and Mosquitos
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phadthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    239
    91
    40
    17
See reviews for
114
364
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed here last november for 5 days. we stayed in the cosy bungalows which wasn't right on the beach. no complaints however as it is literally 2 minutes walk to the beach. the bungalows are all made out wood, very basic yet nicely done. Loved that every bungalow came with 2 hammocks perfect for just lazing around and enjoying a good book.

I cannot rave enough about the beach in front of the resort, it was picture perfect! we spent a lot of time on the litle lounge right on the beach and enjoying the view. Food was quite good but slightly more expensive compared to other places on the island. They have pretty decent cocktails and good happy hour deals.

location is perfect, the beach is not too crowded and not on main area but you can walk to the main strip where there is food and drinks.

Loved the ambience of the place, very chilled out vibe. However, the staff attitude and service can be improved. not very friendly to the extent of coming off as rude at times. service also can be a little slow. They are lucky that resort is so nice so people will come despite that.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afmn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

As per title, this is what I found for resort. We stayed for 3D2N during 4 May 2012.


Check in is fast and less hassel. The waiter greed us once he saw us walk near to resort n help us carry our luggage to reception. The receptionist just require my passport for check in and we rest on the desk and enjoy our welcome drinks.

A BIG thumb up for the food quality of the resort restaurant. We had pinapple fired rice, spagetti and apple crumble wf ice cream. The food were sooooooooo delicious !!! me n my friend gave 100 marks for the food quality and my friend said the apple crumble is d most special n delicious apple crumble ice cream she tired in many country before. We just felt the food portion is abit too small but overall was okey.

The staff were very helpful, friendly and always give us a smile. They provide us any help that we need and very patience.

We stayed at Comfy Basic room and the room is very clean, basic and we satisfied for the room.
Just the bed is abit too hard but overall was okey. The second day, we are suprised that our room were clean up after we came back from our snockeling trip.

Overall we felt so happy and so comfortable in Castaway. With this price we felt is value for money. Keep it up this good job and we wish to say thanks to all staff in Castaway who give us help and we definetly will come back again!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as with best friend.

Room Tip: Choose room near to restaurant to enjoy free wifi ^^
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fire_flys_kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The location is great. We stayed in two different bungalows. First the beach front which was a dream. Than we moved to one of the first row garden breeze, it was significantly cheaper, a little bit smaller and still a great view. We thought about staying 3 nights from the beggining. It ended up at 9 nights. Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucaBrasi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We really didn't know what to expect upon arriving as we had read so many mixed reviews on trip advisor. We are not the type of people to judge before experiencing something so hoped all the good reviews were correct and the not so good ones misleading. However, the reviews pointing out all the negatives were completely right and we are genuinely surprised by people leaving good reviews. I think you really have to stay for at least 4 nights to really understand the vibe.

After a long journey from Bangkok we arrived and were blown away with the crystal white sand and turquoise waters of Koh Lipe and were really happy with the resorts location. It is definitely on the right side of the island (sunrise beach) and the layout of the resort was unobtrusive and blended in with the stunning natural environment. So our first impression was good and we immediately had high hopes for our stay (which was 1 week) but unfortunately that was ruined almost in an instant by the greeting we received by their young member of staff (she looked Thai but could have been foreign as all the other staff were except those in the kitchen). Instead of sweetly saying 'welcome' she tersely asked for our passport. So shocked I asked her to repeat and yet again she said 'passport' in again without even a glance of a smile.

Brushing this initial experience aside we checked in to one of the garden comfy bungalows. The bungalow was fine, tastefully enough done but as other reviews pointed out incredibly cramped and dark and no where to hang your clothes. There is no air con nor hot water, however, this didn't really bother us. What did bother us, however, was that it was completely overpriced for what it was and that it didn't even include breakfast which truly made it feel a rip off.

The absolutely worst thing about castaway is the management. They need a serious wake up call soon or the place will continue to lose custom to the far superior Serendipity resort 150 metres down the beach. The service was terrible & rude.. it took forever to get served, the food was completely overpriced for the stingy portions offered. And when you have travel half way round the world do you really want to be served breakfast by a European? Surely an 'eco' resort should be not only preserving the local environment but supporting the local labour market? And if you do want the face of your resort to be 'western' then make sure your staff are polite and happy to serve and not moody, miserable & arrogant. Everyone looked pissed off to be working work and there was absolutely no vibe which is the time I have experienced this in Thailand.

We really got the feeling that unless we made an effort with the staff then they made absolutely no effort back. Surely it should be the other way round??? We stayed 1 week and spent all our time elsewhere on the island. We seriously regretted not staying at Serendipity as absolutely everything was superior. Yes it is more expensive but is worth every penny. The setting is stunning, service amazing, food delicious and the THAI staff a delight.

I really regret leaving a bad review and I have never done so before but I really hope the lazy management of this resort will read this and wake up.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lovetravelzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
1.1 km away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.3 km away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.4 km away
Serendipity Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#5 of 18 in Ko Lipe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.9 km away
Z-Touch Lipe Island Resort
1.0 km away
Mountain Resort Koh Lipe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Resort Koh Lipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Resort Koh Lipe

Property: Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
Address: 278 Moo 2 | Sunrise Beach, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lipe
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lipe
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lipe
Price range (per night): $35 - $106
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Resort Koh Lipe 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Castaway Resort the spirit of ‘The Beach’ is brought to life. Amid the beautiful setting nature has given Koh Lipe, our spacious wooden bungalows and large chill out deck overlooking the beach definitely make Castaway the most atmospheric of Koh Lipe’s resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Castaway Resort Koh Lipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing