We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage in a wonderful location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bure Cottage

Outside View - Bure Cottage is the one with the open French windows
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside View - Bure Cottage is the one with the open French windows
Bure Cottage Front Showing Patio & Lawn Another outside with with some of the wildlife!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
13 reviews
Outside View - Bure Cottage is the one with the open French windows
Bure Cottage Front Showing Patio & Lawn
Another outside with with some of the wildlife!
Bure Cottage Living Room
Bure Cottage Kitchen & Dining Area
Bure Cottage Two-Single Bed Room
Bure Cottage Double Bedroom
Bure Cottage Patio & Riverside Lawn
Private Communal Riverside Gardens
Peninsular Cottages on the Right, from Wroxham Bridge
Wroxham Bridge from Peninsular Private Communal Gardens
Wroxham Bridge
Sailing Boat Further Down the River Bure
Sunset on the Norfolk Broads
The Fine City of Norwich only 8-miles Away
The Shed - Onsite Bar & Bistro. Food, real ales, entertainment & more!
Wroxham Village Sign
Wroxham Park
Bure Valley Steam Train at Wroxham
Fishing at Bure Cottage
A Good Catch at Bure Cottage
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wroxham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SuffolkSt...
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Could do with a good clean, paint and new carpets...”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was advertised as having been refurbished with new carpets on Owners Direct. Upon arrival it looked ok but we soon noticed it was grubby. We firstly had to clean the glasses as they were filthy. The kitchen walls were dirty and needs painting or even better but tiles on them. There were marks on the walls from the bins and suitcases hitting them. The bathroom electric heater kept cutting out after ten seconds. The side of the bath was grubby as per photos. The carpets needed replacing and were well worn. They should have been fitted with an underlay.... Outside the privacy partition was missing between you and next door. The roller blind in the kitchen was covered in dead mosquitos. The skirting boards needed a clean, especially in the bedrooms. Under the main bed it was filthy and hadn't been hoovered for weeks. There is the Shed Bar very close to the house and the music on one night (karaoke) was extremely loud till around midnight. In front of the house was a large boat blocking most of the view. I'm not sure where you would fish as couldn't see any info on this, but it was closed season anyhow. On the plus side, the beds and bedding were very comfortable.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
New paint and carpets throughout in January 2017 + new sofas added. However, I have no control outside of the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice F
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in a wonderful location.”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My daughter and I enjoyed our week in Wroxham. The cottage is very well equipped and comfortable with excellent heating for colder evenings. We were thrilled to have visits from lovely grey herons and Egyptian geese as we sat on the patio with a glass of wine.
Wroxham is a lovely little town with excellent pubs and super shops. Roy's department store and grocery were full of treats! We particularly loved the dressed crab with lovely fresh bread and the wide range of local fruit and vegetables.
Our boat trip on the Broads was one of the highlights with excellent commentary from the captain.
Our host's information on reaching the cottage and things to do when you were there was the best I've encountered in many years of holiday renting.
We'd love to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Chilly east wind! That was all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay here....misleading website”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage website advertises "with stunning views of the river" but forgets to mention there is a large boat permanent moored in front of the cottage blocking the view. We looked at the guest book and week after week of reviews detailed how the boat ruined their holiday.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

On arrival found Bure Cottage very clean and well furnished,and in a lovely location.We have been going to Pennisular cottages now for 8 years taking our grandson as he loves to fish but this is the first time at Bure Cottage.
We were disappointed to find a boat moored right outside the back door,not only blocking the view,but also not allowing any fishing from the cottage garden.
The website clearly shows no boat moored outside,so is very misleading.As all the other 3 cottages were occupied left us no option then to walk further along the bank away from the cottage that we had booked specifically to fish from .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable beds
Liked least: Boat moored right outside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Sorry about the boat. I have no control of the gardens or moorings - but all guests are free to fish anywhere onsite.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loz415
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have just come back from a week at the cottage and loved it so much we booked a week in February as soon as we got home, very clean & well equipped, bed very comfortable (we only used the double), loved the pillows, off to buy some of the same tomorrow ! No boat out front which gave us a great casting area for fishing (purpose of the trip) caught lovely 14 lb Pike and lots of smaller fish will hopefully get the bigger Pike in February ! . 1 downfall is that it could do with an outside light at the back to make Night Fishing easier.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no outside light at the back
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing