We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, well-located and comfortable riverside...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wroxham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
venividiv...
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Quiet, well-located and comfortable riverside rental near the centre of Wroxham”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My partner and I, accompanied by my adult son, rented Swan Cottage for a weekend (3 nights). It is a small, modern terraced house on an inlet off the River Bure right on the edge of Wroxham village (five minutes walk to supermarket, bank, boat rentals and other facilities). The house is not large -- living/dining/kitchen on ground floor, two bedrooms above, and a third bedroom on the second floor up a rather oddly designed spiral staircase. At the back of the living area there is a pleasant deck by the river to sit out on, with a small rowing dinghy for fishing or just pottering around. It comes with one car park space, but if you have another car you can park up the road at a marina for a reasonable fee.

Everything is in good condition, and while we didn't really use the kitchen for cooking or eating in, it looked adequately equipped. There is only one bathroom for the house, and it was okay -- fully functional, although far from luxurious. The wifi worked, but the internet connection quality was quite variable -- more a fault of the service provider than the owner I guess.

My small niggles (and I would mention that I live in Asia and my expectations of this type of rental may be different from a British-based renter) were: (a) having to bring our own towels -- we were traveling for a month away from home, never take towels with us (too bulky), so had to remember to buy some just for this weekend, and (b) having to pay extra for wifi (although my son said he believes this charge may now have been removed). If this was a cheap rental I might understand, but at over £200 a night both these things seemed a bit over the top.

As for the rental rate, I didn't really check around very much, so it may be quite normal for a weekend rate in July in this area. But I did feel that over £600 for Friday evening to Monday morning was a little steep.

Overall, I'm happy we rented Swan Cottage. It's most attractive feature is it's location. While you are surrounded by other properties, it is quiet, and delightful to be on the water with it's bird life and tranquility. It is also convenient to facilities in the village, and to getting around this part of the Broads. Lovely. I might rent Swan Cottage again if I was in the area, and my niggles wouldn't stop me recommending it if it is the type of place you are looking for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Extra charge for wifi, no towels provided
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Thank you for you review we try hard to ensure that our properties are presented in the best possible why. Wi fi is now provided without charge and we do have towels that we supply for s nominal charge to cover laundering. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe1320...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing cottage in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We found the cottage perfect for our requirements. It had everything we needed in excellent condition. The whole place was very clean and tidy and all the beds were very comfy, with fluffy duvets! We made good use of the small boat which came with it and hired a day boat nearby, to go off exploring the Broads. It was great having frequent visitors of ducks, swans and herons, which came onto the decking for food. The cottage is ideally situated for the Broads and surrounding villages and only a half hour drive to the coast. Wroxham is only a few minutes walk away, with plenty of shops and eating places.
It was the first time we had actually stayed by the river and we all found it very relaxing and would definitely return to Swan Cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location!
Liked least: Couldn't find fault.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin P
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideally placed for exploring the broads”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A nice clean spacious house with everything you need, in a quiet location but very handy with a 2 minute walk into Wroxham. If you forget anything don't worry just walk in to town and visit Roy's - if they don't sell it you probably don't need it!.

Ideally located for exploring the Norfolk Broads plenty of scope for river trips/boat hire/walking/cycling. Don't just concentrate on the Broads Norwich is not far and a trip to the North Norfolk coast is recommended.

Overall a great place to stay and I thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: lack of parking if taking more than one car - but not a lot the owners can do about it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review we always appreciate feedback. We are always happy to recommend things to do or places to see. We hope to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann E
1 review
“Brilliant well located accomadation”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for one week in September at Swan Cottage in Wroxham. We found it well presented and ideally located up a private lane overlooking the water. The property was a high standard with plenty of room and had everything you needed. Definately home from home. The parking was adequate and the neighbours were friendly. Only a few minutes walk and you are in the heart of Wroxham. The Wroxham hotel is a great place to eat and good value too. The boatyard is 150 metres away so ideal if you want to hire a boat for the day. And then there is the famous Roys store/s where you can buy anything. All in all i would recommend this cottage and we hope to go back again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No comment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J
High Peak
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely Base to Explore the Broads”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We recently spent a week at this cottage with grown up children and one of their friends. We travelled down by train and found the cottage no more than 15 minutes walk from the station. The cottage is well situated, right on the water and we found that we had a regular visitor of a heron right outside the window.
The cottage was spotlessly clean,well equipped and we had no complaints with the size. That said the stairs up to the top floor are very steep and of polished wood so pretty slippery. Consequently great care is needed when using them.
This is the third year on the spin that we've rented a cottage somewhere in the UK and felt that this one lacked those extra little touches (a welcome gift and local tourist brochures etc) that would make it a real stand out property. That said we had a very relaxing stay and it was a very good base to explore the Broads.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Thank you for your feedback.
We take pride in our cottages and always try to ensure that they are maintained to a high standard and ready for our guests to enjoy their holiday.
There should be a good supply of local tourist brochures in the lounge. Following your feedback, we will check this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing