We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely quirky property in delightful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Southover

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
brand new hot tub!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Wroxham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cadey556
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely quirky property in delightful location”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Southover is such a lovely place to stay. The river views are just wonderful - especially first thing in the morning in autumn. And the cottage itself is warm, welcoming, comfortable and quirky, which all add to its charm. The kitchen is also very well equipped. Admittedly the cottage could do with a little tlc in parts but that really doesn't detract too much from its charms. It's all kept very clean (thanks to Sam who is very friendly and is there to greet you on your arrival) and the bathrooms are lovely. My friends and I had a wonderful week there as it is so well suited to a large group of people. The sitting, dining and kitchen areas are all part of one large airy room so no-one is ever cut off from the conversation. And the hot tub on the back deck and the use of the boat were definitely added bonuses. It was great for getting into to go food shopping - only five minutes away in Wroxham. Also the owner Robert is a pleasure to deal with and is very helpful. All in all a great success - we can't wait to go back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
Thanks so much tec is underway !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6050kate
1 review
“november stay”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

myself partner and 2 other couples and our young children stayed for a week in november.. the cottage is lovely and facilities are really good, the kitchen is well stocked with pots and pans, they have a washer and dryer and sky tv with all the channels.. one of the bedrooms is in a seprate annex with a pool room. the hot tub was great and seated 6 easily, we took the boat out a few times to the local village, my partner fished from the boat and also from the front garden.. overall the cottage does need a bit of tlc in places but we would happliy visit again, for what you get its good value for money. the house keeper was also friendly and gave us a good overview of the local village, boat and bits and bobs in the house. overall we would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Thanks , we are updating bits and bobs after a busy year ! Be good to see you return !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loujuliet
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We had a wonderful weekend staying at Southover for a family birthday celebration! The house is lovely- very spacious, sociable and comfortable. It is well equipped, attractive and the views are absolutely stunning. The location is beautiful and it was so fun and relaxing to potter up and down in the boat! We would certainly stay again and have already recommended it to friends! The only down side was that we were only there for 2 nights! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Thanks ! Be good to see you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shabby (chic)”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Great location with a fantastic view of the river and having use of the motor boat and rowing boat was great fun. The well equipped kitchen allowed us to use enough pots and pans to catch the rain coming in through one of the bedroom ceilings. We were warned that the water pressure was low due to being on the river but the Saturday morning the water pressure became non existent. However, this wasn't a problem as the smell of the septic tank masked any body odour incurred by not being able to take a shower (nice)! The online pictures of the property looked fabulous. We left the property at 10am Monday probably cleaner than when we arrived. However, we inadvertently left one rubbish bag out on the porch and left a glass in one of the bedrooms which must have annoyed the housekeeper as this would interrupt her viewing of loose women! Apparently these extra chores made the housekeeper take a few hours longer to tidy a house that was tidier than when we got there, but as she turned up to work with her toddler it would definitely take longer. In my opinion the house would definitely benefit from a makeover/ rebuild and I have a distinct feeling that this property is slowly falling into the river. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone with a fetish for cleaning or a good sense of humour.

A N Experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2016
The owner has been good enough to let me answer this as I have been the housekeeper for the last 3 years. There were no complaints by these guests for the duration of their stay or to myself upon their depart ( which I will just mention was a good 15minutes after my arrival) the house was left messy cups and glasses broken and scattered around different rooms, the bin was over flowing with glass bottles and the microwave had been blown up by putting what seemed like the grill pan into it as that was missing to! The Hottub was left half empty and not topped up after use as requested. As I said this review was only left after the owner kept back a token £75 to replace the microwave and breakages! Also I can assure you we are not sinking and even if guest left the house as requested I still wouldn't have time to watch loose woman!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“SIMPLY STUNNING !!!!!!”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Wow... what a fabulous place to stay, so tranquil.....loved it !!!!!!!. We stayed here on the 17th - 21st October, just for a few days and we will definately be returning for a longer holiday next time. The triple aspect windows give an amazing view up and down the river and the wildlife is wonderful too, we didn't see it, but there is apparently an otter that also pops into the boatyard now and again.

The house itself is fabulous, one thing that clearly stood out, was how clean it was, the housekeeper is really nice and she does do a great job in keeping the house clean and tidy.

The Owners have clearly spent a lot of money on the important things in the property with a well equipped kitchen, comfy lounge and sofa's and they even have a full sky or cable package with all the comedy channels, films, sport, etc. There is also fishing, a pool table in the games room, an Xbox, trivial pursuit and even a hot tub, so,even if the weather is bad, you will not be bored in the slightest. The house warms up very quickly and everything about Southover has been made for comfort. The bathrooms and en-suites are all very nice indeed and the beds have decent quality matresses, so you are sure to get a good nights sleep too. No expense has been spared as there is even amtico flooring and granite type work surfaces in the kitchen, with a range cooker, large fridge freezer, microwave and toaster, everything that you would need or have at home . The hot tub is great, as is the fishing from the bank just outside the property. We also had a lot of fun on the boat too, went up river and moored outside the local pub, had lunch and then took a lovely, leisurely scenic ride back down the river. This was by far the most relaxing break we have ever had - but still with loads to do too !
The Owners have got it just right. - the only thing you need to bring is yourself !!!!

The Owners and the Housekeeper are all lovely, so Ignore any adverse comments on Tripadvisor about the Owners or the property, if you respect their wishes and look after the house AND it's contents as if they're your own, then you get the same respect back in return from the owners, if you did not, then it is perfectly clear why !!!!

Thank you Robert for a wonderful stay, will be in touch soon for another booking !!!!

Tracy and Jim Hutchings and our son Tom x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and the property with all it's amenities.
Liked least: nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thank you , trip advicer can be so difficult ! Stop a part of a deposit for damage and they threaten a bad review !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing