We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
29
23
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
23
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Perfect Place to relax and chill. Located on Lake Biwa, the Ryokan features a fantastic lake view.

Rooms are clean and the entire house is "shoe free"

Diner was of excellent quality and variety

The public bath is nice albeit a bit small. Outdoor features a great view

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Swissfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beniayu, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Beniayu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Dear Swissfoodie-san,

Thank you for your staying and comments.
We were happy to welcome you at lakeside of BIWAKO. We keep communicating to foreign tourist to introduce our area. We hope you to visit this area and meet you again in different season.

Thank you for your comment again and have a good day.

with our best,

Kyohei YAMAMOTO, Ryokan BENIAYU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We arrived by car in the middle of the afternoon and the wind was storming the lake Biwa.
A guy took our car to a nearby parking and we could enjoy the warmth and hominess of the place
Our room, located on the second floor had a private outdoor bath tub which was filled with hot spring water and ready to be used
A cold day is ideal to enjoy the bath
Facing the lake was a rather high end massage chair that was a delight to use
The dinner, served in the room as usual was good and the breakfast adequate with a good cup of coffee
A reliable place for a rest and some wild bird watching over the lake

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

The room has excellent good view to the lake. It is a very comfortable ryokan - in every aspect. The dinner has very high standard as well. The owner is very nice and did his best to accommodate our stay and even for ongoing trip.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Albey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beniayu, 広報担当マネージャー at Beniayu, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Thank you for your stay at our Ryokan BENIAYU and give us your good comment.
From last July, we started to have guest dinner at new dining room. Now we have 2 different prices for your dinner place. Please find your favorite plan carefully from our website.
Well, we are really looking forward to welcome you again.

Kyohei YAMAMOTO, Ryokan BENIAYU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed for one night at Beniayu in August 2012. It's a beautiful location on the northern end of Lake Biwa, and quite easy to get to: you get off the shinkansen at Maibara and take a 20 minute local train ride to Takatsuki Station, where the ryokan staff will pick you up in a van to drive you the few minutes to the inn, and take you back to the station in the morning after you check out. This made it very easy for us to spend a night at this ryokan while we were transitioning from Osaka to Tokyo during our trip.
While the building is not "old," it's very nice inside and the rooms are large. Each room has an onsen (hot spring)-fed bath with a view over the lake. The service was great, and the food (we had the kaiseki B meal) was absolutely terrific; we were served a nine-course meal delivered with an English-language menu describing each course in detail, and each course was delicious. Dinner was served in our room, and breakfast the next morning (also delicious) was in a common room. Not all staff spoke English, but there was at least one English speaker present on staff at all times.
While all ryokan that serve kaiseki meals of this quality are expensive, Beniayu was actually economical compared to other ryokan that we considered. We would go there again very happily and definitely recommend this ryokan.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beniayu, 広報担当マネージャー at Beniayu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

First of all, thank you very much for your visiting Japan.
How was your stay and trip here in Japan? It was the end of rainy season here.

We were very happy to welcome you at our Ryokan and to hear your comment
on the tripadvisor. We really be relieved to hear your comment with good memories.
We are not familiar with foreigne tourist to welcome, but we try to do our best for
your stay comfortable. If you have a chance to visit our place again, please feel
free to contact or e-mail to us for your requests.

In our area, we have many Buddha statue and beautiful nature spot.
We hope you are interested in to such places.

Once again, thank you very much for your staying and visiting our place.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Kyohei YAMAMOTO, Chief receptionist of Ryokan BENIAYU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews