We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AMAZING COTTAGE!”
other traveller has booked this property
Front view from stream
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view from stream
Front of Home Hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Front view from stream
Front of Home
Hot tub
hot tub
Fire pit
Jungle Gym in backyard
Stream on property
Front balcony view
Main Floor bedroom balcony
shale beach at front of property
shale beach- relaxing
Gourmet kitchen
Gourmet kitchen
kitchen
Oven
Dining room
Dining room
Living room main floor
front entrance
Main floor bedroom with balcony to backyard and hot tub
main floor bathroom with jet tub
Main Floor bathroom shower and spa tub
Master bedroom
Master ensuite bathroom
Double jet tub in master ensuite
Master Ensuite shower
Second level rear bedroom with Balcony
Rear bedroom  looking onto balcony
Rear balcony
Second floor bathroom with large shower
Second floor bathroom shower
Second level theatre room with kitchenette
Second level front balcony
Third level recreational area
Foos Ball table in third floor recreational area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Blue Mountains, Grey County, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
robinamcc...
Markdale, Canada
1 review
“AMAZING COTTAGE!”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This place was INCREDIBLE! I booked it for a girl's weekend get away and when we arrived we couldn't believe that it was NICER in person than in the pictures online. Absolutely immaculate and equipped with all kids of extra things like games and condiments and whatnot that you never think to pack for a get away!

It was really nice not having to make a bunch of stops to get a key or having to co-ordinate a specific time to meet to be 'let in'. Being given the code was so nice! The manager was very friendly and helpful and we had no problems having our security deposit returned to us, and super fast too!

The best part is having the beach right across the road, the spot there is nice and somewhat private (definitely more so than a main beach!).

We love, love, LOVED this place and definitely plan to book again in the near future. It's not very often a place is better than you expect and this place is definitely that!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Glad you enjoyed the home as much as we do when we have a chance to visit it. Please do come again sometime as your group were model guests leaving the place as if it were your own.
Thanks,
Philip
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejeffreyw...
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Blue Mountain Weekend”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The hi light of the weekend was enjoying this most excellent house. Everything about it was first rate - decor, dishes, cutlery, sound system, BBQ, hot tub and gardens. It even has a creek running through the property. There is a large play structure on the property too; we look forward to returning with our kids and grandchildren.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
We are glad you enjoyed the home! Please do return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for a Family Christmas Celebration”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

The Shale Beach House was a perfect location for a gathering to join my 2 sons and daughter and their families from different parts of Ontario. At one point they were spread out between Dubai, Alberta and Texas so to find a gathering point meant a lot to me. The bedroom layout was perfect for my children and their families. Each family had their own bedroom, with comfy beds and privacy. The decor is rich and tasteful, yet very comfortable. We all felt at home (and secretly wished this was our home)! We had a wonderful Christmas Celebration! It warmed my heart to see my children and grandchildren sit around that great dining room table to share our meals. The fabulous kitchen made a communal preparation of meals easy and fun. The Shale Beach House was even more beautiful than the photos can portray. It must be that welcoming spirit! Thank you Philip and Colleen, we now have a new family Christmas Tradition.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor, layout and cleanliness.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2015
We are very glad to hear your family had such a wonderful time at Shale Beach house and hope to have you return for many more reunions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy D
BURLINGTON
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome, Awesome, Awesome”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have been booking family getaways in rental cottages for the last few years. Shale Beach House is 10 out of 10. The cottage is immaculate and the area is stunning - with something for everyone. We travelled with 6 adults and 2 young children (2 yrs and 4 months). The cottage is well laid out with loads of open space to expand into. Everything is well maintained and immaculately clean.
We have already recommended the cottage to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package. The cottage. The property (woods and creek). The area (Georgian Bay..)
Liked least: That we had to come home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
So glad you enjoyed it. Hope to host you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellkyle
Burk's Falls, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Beautiful home with all you need.”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Rented this for our girl's weekend. Home has everything you need and more. Several are going back with their families.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thanks Michelle, we hope to host your friends' families.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing