We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
232
13
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
13
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house thought of everything the owner okonomiyaki free breakfast one night own futon living space frozen meals small cost cereal and toast peaceful feeling those places beautiful garden cheap beer japanese culture friendly hosts
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Miyajima is particularly awesome early in the morning and late in the evening once the day-trippers depart, so staying on the island was wonderful.

We were warmly welcomed, and given tips on the best times to visit the sites.
Our family room looked out on the garden where we spotted raccoons.

Costs are kept down by making up your own futon in the evening and sharing the very clean bathrooms. The traditional Japanese bath is wonderful for a full-body soak after exploring the island. A simple breakfast is provided and inexpensive, emergency dinner supplies are available to purchase. The shared spaces, kitchen and lounge, are great for meeting people from all over the world.

The guesthouse is an easy walk to Miyajima's attractions once you arrive. We were traveling light, however, if you have heavy luggage, i recommend an inexpensive taxi from the ferry station up the hill.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Elise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Our hosts were so kind giving us tips for exploring the island, free simple breakfast, really lovely traditional Japanese-style room. There's even an onsen-style bath that was really great. They also let us leave bags in a locker after check-out so we could walk around the island more comfortably. If you get up early and you're lucky you might even spot tanuki in the garden!
This guest house is a lovely place stuffed with Japanese antiques and knickknacks of all kinds, they thought of everything and made us feel cared for so we could just relax and enjoy the island. Really great service and rooms for the price!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Ambassador740044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately, we stayed there only one night. Our room had an amazing sea view and was generally very nice. The host was friendly, made us feel really welcome. He also provided a lot of information about the island and a simple breakfast. It was short but pleasant stay.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

This was easily the best hostel we stayed at in Japan (we stayed in 9 different hostels). The owner was very welcoming and gave us a map of the late opening restaurants so we could eat after the majority of places closed at 5pm. He also lent us bikes for free so we could explore the island. The bikes were in great condition. Breakfast and towels were included. Accommodation was traditional Japanese futon and the rooms had air conditioning. I would really recommend to anyone - a lovely island, great hostel and beautiful location. Thank you

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

My sister and I decided to stay on Miyajima Island for one night before a day visit to Hiroshima. It turns out that our stay on Miyajima was one of the highlights of our trip - we only wish that we had stayed another night!

We arrived at the Mikuniya guesthouse in the evening and our host, Junya, was incredibly friendly, welcoming and helpful and he spent time showing us around the guesthouse and helping us to plan our activities for the following day. There is so much provided by the guesthouse, including drinks, breakfast, origami, information brochures and maps and good wifi.

Junya recommended dinner at Kishibe, which is a tiny okonomiyaki restaurant. My sister and I loved it here and enjoyed watching the ladies make our okonomiyaki and yaki-udon in front of us. The food was delicious!

The room was lovely and clean, with traditional tatami mats and futon. We even had a bar fridge and a sink in our room. The room overlooked the nice garden and in the morning there was a deer outside our window!

Overall, a wonderful memorable stay and we highly recommend a stay at Miyajima guest house.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank NicolaA2084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews