We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
84
108
34
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
108
34
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswould definitely stay here againnice hoteltallest buildingcrystal chandeliersbuffet breakfastrooms are bigmain roomjapanese standardshot springsone nightbathroomrazorforeignerscarpetonsen
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Considering it is the only 'international' hotel for miles around, so no competition, this hotel maintains a very high standard as you would expect anyway with Japanese hotels. We were on a brief trip from Tokyo and only stayed one night to meet clients.

Imabari Shipbuilding (which owns the hotel) dominate the town and, indeed, there was a big dinner going on that night attended by a shipowner, officials from Imabari Shipbuilding and (as we discovered) the revered Toshiyuki Higaki who is the IS' Chairman and still in the saddle at 88!

The rooms were immaculate, large and comfortable with a good bathroom. The bed was rather low but comfortable enough and the view over the bay is glorious if you ignore the rather less picturesque Imabari town/city. Everything was provided with free WiFi and international channels on the TV such as BBC World and CNN. The room rate was less than half that of an equivalent hotel in Tokyo but, typically for Japan, the buffet breakfast was expensive if all you want is a cup of coffee and a piece of toast (¥1700 or $17 - but half of Tokyo again). The Japanese dinner in the hotel restaurant was superb.

Our corporate Amex cards did not work, however that may not have been the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay have the best view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oykel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I was told by a friend that there really is no other hotel in this area and that it was quite easy to find. It is the tallest building around. The rooms are nice and quite spacious. Large bathroom with a tub and separate shower. We had a lovely traditional dinner that was fantastIc. Very courteous staff.
There is free wifi. I'm actually using it now on my iPad. Oversea data plans are just too much for too little. Large lobby with a typical gift shop downstairs.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RjessMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I'm not sure that there are a great number of alternatives if you happen to find yourself in Imabari and I'm not sure that it's fair to compare it to the big city hotels.

On the positive side: -
- a good size bedroom
- a huge and comfortable bed
- a nice shower
- very friendly and helpful staff

All of the above attributes are key for me in a hotel.

The negatives: -
- no WiFi in the hotel, you suddenly realise how much you use it when it's not available
- breakfast was very basic but in fairness there was plenty of Japanese options but not much for your average Westerner beyond cornflakes, croissant and toast

As long as you go here on the basis that you'll have a good nights sleep, be cleaned well and eat local food then you'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuckyTim6691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel one night and got a solid impression of the hotel. The lobby area is huge, well, the hotel itself is huge, but it all feels like coming back a few decades in time. Sure, it feels slightly dated, while not modern it is still very clean and proper.

The service was good, check-in was quick and efficient, and all my contact with the staff was going pretty smooth (I speak no Japanese). The room was big, clean, and full of equipment, but could also use a refresher of some of the furniture.

There are some restaurants in the hotel, but I had dinner outside so only had the breakfast. The breakfast is good. According to my Japanese colleague, who is often on the road, for Japanese style breakfast this is one of his favorite hotels in Japan. There is also good Western options available.

A big hotel where you will get a nice stay, no unpleasant surprises.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank k-daniel-a-sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

If you campare to the size of the coty, the hotel is very big, the information i got is that the hotel was build by Imabari shipyard to host the people in the shipyard.
The entrance of the hotel is enormous it looks a bit outdated, like a classy eldery home.
The room size is good,even big, the service is good.
The hotel has good facilites and food is good

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeePeetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews