We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bread”

Panaderia Del Frances
Ranked #2 of 2 Bakeries in Ojochal
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 March 2017

It's hard to imagine this bakery so far back such a rugged road, but there it is. We were on our way to the waterfall and pulled into the bakery about 10 am. He greeted us and said the bread was still coming out of the oven, but should be ready about 11. So we went exploring and swimming at the waterfall and stopped on our way back. We bought several types of bread--round, baguette and "hotel"--plus some muffins. The aroma was irresistable and we ate the better part of a loaf while we were still in the car driving to the house.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ashear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck G, Propriétaire at Panaderia Del Frances, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Thanks. It's a pleasure to work for customers like you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2017

We were fortunate enough to pick up bread a couple different times... both very good loaves. I'd pass on the muffins.

Thank BigSkyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck G, Propriétaire at Panaderia Del Frances, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Thank you, Sir!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Spent two weeks near the panaderia and the bread became a fixture. So much better than the supermarket stuff.

    • Food
Thank patrick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Not actually a restaurant, but don't we wish!
Compesino bread, Butter bread, Bran bread, Muffins - all scrumptous.
Only open on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, and don't arrive before noon either! Franz will not release any delicacies until they are adequately cooled. Savvy bread lovers call the day before and place a specific order (2786-5098), because very little extra is made, and it is not unusual to leave empty-handed if you are not expected.

Thank Frederic3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck G, Propriétaire at Panaderia Del Frances, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Thank you Sir!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

I wait all year round for Frank's bread! Every possible type of bread you get from Frank is always incredible and I crave it for 11 months of the year. Once I get to the "bakery" I eat an entire baguette myself before we can even get out of his driveway. They're usually warm and don't need any butter or cheese. It's great that you're able to order from him when he is open and go to pick up your fresh baked bread on the days you order for. He truly brought French bread to the tiny village of Ojochal!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vanessaannalise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panaderia Del Frances also viewed

Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Panaderia Del Frances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing