We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
228
185
80
48
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
185
80
48
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poachers bar steak pie the main hotel the pub cooked breakfast falkirk wheel attending a wedding full scottish function room birthday party tea coffee great night an overnight stay food was fantastic one night stay evening meal couldn't do enough
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

This hotel
Always had a good reputation for good food
And very friendly
We stopped eating here about June 2014
After numerous middle of the road meals
Not the good old standard
The chips greasy some other dishes not up to par
Recently my friend said
Try the castlecary
I said no been there done that
let down
He said
Go have a meal if you don't like it
I'll buy it !!
Well
We went we liked
Food totally different back to nice chips
I tried steak
It was lovelly
My partner also had a different dish and liked it
( my partners a chef) very picky lol
So gonna try the steak pie next soon

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 616finlayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Glad to hear you took the advice of a friend and that you enjoyed your meal, we very much look forward to your next dining visit with ourselves and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Not the best signposted pace we've stayed at - thank God for Sat Nav. A new sign outside hotel would make finding it much easier.
We stayed in one of the chalets are were immediately impressed with how fresh and clean it was. Plenty space and modern furniture, loads of wardrobe space and easily a place where you could comfortably stay for a prolonged period if working away from home. We attended a wedding which was organised brilliantly and the evening meal was superb! Huge chicken breasts, proper big cuts of beef and an all round fantastic meal and service. The residents bar and staff were great, hugely helpful and friendly. Would fully recommend for anyone thinking of getting married.
The only disappointment was breakfast. We had to ask for service and even once ordered, other tables who had come in and ordered after us were served first. Didn't get everything that was listed on the full breakfast ordered and had finished tea and toast before the cooked part came out. If they improve on this then the Castlecary would easily get a full star rating and despite that I'd go back as the staff were lovely and it was comfortable & clean.

Room Tip: chalet was great for sleeping as away from bar area
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CridheGhabhsainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

We are delighted to hear your kind words regarding our facilities and that you also had an enjoyable day at the wedding you were attending here.
We will take on board your comments regarding breakfast and endeavour to make this improvement.
Your comments will be passed to the team accordingly, from all the team at Castlecary thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Stayed on a Sunday night on a Sunday night saver deal DB&B . We were welcomed by a friendly receptionist and given a club room in the main hotel . Room was very clean and totally adequate for our one night stay . We had dinner in the restaurant a 3 course set menu which was delicious served by friendly waiting staff . Breakfast was good also ,continental and cooked are offered . We would definitely return as it was great value for money

Room Tip: Room 285 is a club room
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank voddygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

We are delighted to hear of your kind review and are pleased that you found your stay to be an enjoyable one, your feedback will be passed to the team accordingly and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
From the team at Castlecary thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016

We stayed in a lodge room which was ground floor with your own front door.it was a clean spacious room. The hotel does take dogs by arrangement and there are plenty of walks. hotel has a restaurant, bar and cafe.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janeth800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2016

Delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found the facilities to be correct. I will pass on your thoughts accordingly to the team.
Many thanks for your kind feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Was booked here as nearby hotel full, but pleasantly surprised. Cannot comment too widely, as my experience limited, but ideal for my purposes. Didn't have dinner but breakfast very good and service faultless. I suspect choice of room could be big factor. There was a function on, so I was a little apprehensive, but I was given room 247 which was like a motel room in a little courtyard opposite the main hotel. It was roomy, quiet and comfortable with an excellent big shower room. People have mentioned motorway noise, but I didn't hear any and woke to the lovely sound of birdsong!

Room Tip: Courtyard room eg 247 quiet
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Docrioja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

We are delighted to have been of service to you and look forward once more to being able to do so again.
We offer a hearty breakfast every morning to our guests and take great pride in this as we believe breakfast to be the most important meal of the day.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we will continue to work hard and hopefully keep on surprising patrons as to our services and product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews