We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oreillys Lamington National Park Queensland Australia.Dont be put off by the road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 May 2010

My wife and I have just spent one night at Oreillys and thoroughly enjoyed our small break.
I had two initial concerns after reading other readers contributions and those were the road to and from Oreillys and the meals.

The 30 k road is not for the nervous first time driver and although it is sealed it comes with numerous blind bends , one way traffic , steep drops and full attention is required at all times by the driver.

It is though certainly worth the effort

As far as meals are concerned , we were very happy with the variety and presentation and could not fault our eating experience both at dinner and breakfast.
One fault though was the coffee was was stewed and not freshly brewed on three ocassions
We paid for a three course dinner/cooked breakfast option at $86 per person which I thought was pretty good value.
There are no other eating options as such the nearest restaurant is at the township of Canungra , 50 k away
Morning and afternoon teas were included in the accommodation rate
Apart from the bird watching tour in the morning ,free to house guests ,a $10 charge to non guests , all other activities were chargeable and certainly not cheap.They even charged for you to feed the birds which once was included in the tarrif.
The room we had was good though a little worn and did need an upgrade but did not disappoint as such.
Staff at all levels excellent and seemed genuinely happy to be there

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,149 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2010

This was our third stay in 2 years. Again we stayed in the Villa's. Great place for the kids, good area and the kids love the spa (so do I). The views from the deck are breathtaking. It is so peaceful, very relaxing. Great BBQ & Cooking facilities.

Did not go to the day spa on this trip, but did previously and wanted to go again but ran out of time.
Eco rangers is a great activity group for the kids and the price is fantastic. The kids were looking forward to it before we left (had been before) and again enjoyed it. They went once in the morning which enabled us to go for a walk to Moran Falls. They also went once in the evening, which enabled us to go for dinner in the restaurant. We had a drink in the upstairs bar and watched the sunset. Half priced cocktails were also very good.

Restaurant staff were friendly and the food was lovely, I thought the package price for dinner was reasonable.

The pool in the villa's is beautiful and relaxing. Overall we had a great time yet again and look forward to our next trip. On the way home we stopped at the Winery for a picnic which a great spot and also on our agenda.

Again we were not disappointed and had a lovely relaxing time and the kids had fun being outside.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank don11Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

My husband and I, together with 2 friends (from Norway and Melbourne) spent 4 days at O'Reillys, at the end of our 3 week Oz trip. We stayed in one of the luxurious villas with fantastic views over the forest canopy, and it was so relaxing. We dined in the restaurant, and had delicious meals served by attentive and pleasant staff. We enjoyed the experience of wandering through the forest, accompanied by bird song. I would certainly recommend O'Reillys to anyone who is looking for a restful break......certainly a contrast to sea and surf!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizzyPerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We stayed in a new Mountain view villa, and was really quite impressed. Very spacious 2 bedroom villa with hot-tub on spacious balcony. The restuarant was more than adequate considering you are pretty much captive in the hotel. The main hotel looked a little tired so would probably avoid staying in the main villa. The road up to O'reillys is very narrow, with lots of blind bends and steep drops, you would not want to drive it at night.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank londonCityGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

I guess we went to O'Reillys to see the beautiful and famous area. We were truly impressed with the surrounds, the beautifully marked tracks, the wildlife and the tree top walk but the mountain view guest houses were totally out of date. We had no rubbish bin, no supplied soap and no water to drink.

We spent over $700 for 2 nights and unfortunately the camp site would have been a nicer and more connected zone for us. And remember if you decide to waste the money on the accommodation - close your door at night otherwise you'll have mice having parties in your room - which was cute just not at 3am.

Dont order the salad at the cafe, i think the chef thinks garlic clovers are substitutes for feta cheese - horrid salad

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank emgenki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canungra
6.5 km away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
23.8 km away
Canungra Hotel
Canungra Hotel
#2 of 2 in Canungra
89 reviews
33.3 km away
Ramada Resort Kooralbyn Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33 km away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
279 reviews
23.6 km away
The Odd Gecko
The Odd Gecko
#1 of 2 in Canungra
28 reviews
37 km away
Lillydale Farmstay
Lillydale Farmstay
#1 of 3 in Rathdowney
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa

Address: Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Canungra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Canungra
Price Range: $140 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore World Heritage-listed Lamington National Park from the best and only vantage point on Green Mountain - at O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat - operated by passionate by third generation O’Reilly family members whose ancestors pioneered eco tourism in Australia in 1926. Choose to stay in a cosy Rainforest Retreat guest room with expansive views overlooking the western McPherson Range or one of 48 self-contained and architecturally designed modern Villas perched unobtrusively onto the sloping hillside. Get amongst the daily activities of guided bird walks, animal shows and the famed Tree Top Walk and treehouse climb to viewing platforms above. Plus, test your skills on an off road two-wheeled Segway tour through creek crossings to Morans Falls, or bliss out in the Lost World Day Spa. Dine in the casual treehouse bar on homemade pizzas or opt for the rustic dining room with a gourmet a la carte menu including matching wines from the Canungra Valley Vineyards down the road. Order a packed lunch or picnic hamper and set off to one of 500 waterfalls via 160 kilometres of nature trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and lastminute.com.au so you can book your O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Reilly`s Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Hotel Canungra
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Spa Canungra, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing