We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Husband and I stayed at O'Reiily's for 4 nights. The guest house accom. was like a pleasant motel room but the food was splendid and the nature walk and numbers of different birds we saw were absolutely phenomenal. Usually in a rainforest the creatures are hard to spot, but these seemed to be everywhere along the forest walks. The rangers were extremely informative and all the staff were helpful and courteous. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: There are different kinds of accom. and you should definitely phone ahead to make sure that you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graymare71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OReillys_Retreat, Director of Sales at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

Thank you for sharing your O’Reilly’s experience, I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your feedback on our staff, in particular the guides, your comments have been well received. I am glad you had the opportunity to meet many of our ‘locals’ and you enjoyed your dining experiences. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,068 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

For a significant birthday my family bought me here for a weekend on a ballooning package. This is a spectacular location and we can't wait to return but it won't be to O"Reilly's Rainforest retreat. For what we paid we mistakenly thought that we were staying in the new 2 bedroom villas but on arrival found we were actually in the old resort. We were 2 adults and 2 children in one room with mininal facilities. The main resort is very old and outdated.What they are charging for these rooms that would barely be 3 star is outrageous. There is no air conditioning and old ceiling fans that hardly move. I would hate to be here in summer as the rooms all face west for the wonderful view but that makes them very hot. There is a small pool with no chairs around it and a viewing deck with no table or chairs on it so that guests could sit there and enjoy the setting sun. The breakfast was good but the resturant was ordinary. Our return to this beautiful part of Australia will be to the camping ground.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuluSEQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OReillys_Retreat, Director of Sales at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am sure the views over the Gold Coast Hinterland were spectacular and I hope you enjoyed your breakfast at Canungra Valley Vineyards on your hot air ballooning experience. This particular package is one of our more expensive packages – what a fantastic birthday present!
It is disappointing to read you were mistaken over the room types and did not enjoy your stay in our traditional accommodation. It is true our guesthouse is old, we have been around since 1926 and hope to be still around for some while yet. Our Retreat rooms are designed to provide an escape from the world so guests can enjoy the natural surrounds, and as such do not include televisions or telephones, which is actually preferred by most of our guests. We rarely require the use of air-conditioning due to our high altitude and in summer, typically we are cooled down by an afternoon storm - a fantastic sight from the Rainforest Room Bar! Naturally we are disappointed when guests expectations are not met – I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to O’Reilly’s, perhaps next time in the villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Another return trip to this terrific destination. O'Reilly's can proudly still boast superior service on all fronts. Staff are a full bottle, on anything you asked them. They're polite & courteous. The food is sensational and leaps & bounds ahead of most other similar establishments in QLD. Rooms add that extra relaxing touch at the end of a long day after exploring the surrounding rainforest. The pace is as easy or frenetic as you choose. There is absolutely no pressure at all to participate in any activity, you don't want to do. The wildlife is abounding. You don't have to look too hard either, it'll find you all by itself...marvellous. Take a tip, be sure to go on Michael's Kurrajong Lookout tour. A great way to spend a morning and engage in the history of the settlement of O'Reilly's...and sample some real campfire damper rinsed down with real billy tea. Oh yes and please remember it's a litter free destination. If you need a refresher course and how not to litter, there is a crazy magpie at O'Reilly's that'll bring you up to speed.

Just go there!!

Kevin & Carole

Room Tip: A valley view is the best. The changing light of the day is superb for photography.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OReillys_Retreat, Director of Sales at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Hi Kevin and Carole – wow, what a glowing review!
Our mission is “To Make Every Guest Feel Special” and it seems the staff have done just that! Thank you for your kind feedback, we work hard to exceed our guests expectations and your comments have been well received by our teams.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your 4WD tour with ‘Big Mick’ and had the opportunity to meet ‘Jacqui’ the Magpie – I agree, there a few people who could learn a lesson from Jacqui.

It was great to have you back – we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This year has been quite stressful, so I knew it was time for a few days at O'Reillys to relax and recharge the batteries! Wonderful rainforest and birds, great food, comfortable bed and very obliging staff. All ingredients guaranteed to remove stress!! Thank you and be assured I will be back. Bev

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OReillys_Retreat, Director of Sales at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Bev – it was great to see you back at O’Reilly’s! Thanks for your raving review and taking the time to share your O’Reilly’s experience on TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This was our first stop in Australia. When we arrived it was hot, so Cabin 55's air conditioning was fabulous. The cabin was spacious with a balcony overlooking a flat open area, plenty of storage space for all our gear and a decent bathroom. All was clean, but the cabin needed a facelift. Food at O'Reilly's is very good, although inspect the scallops before you eat them - mine were raw in the middle. Breakfasts are very good indeed and less worrisome. There is a laundry on site. Very popular with day visitors as well as those booked in as guests, so expect lots of people. There are various activities available (Birds of Prey shows, Wildlife walks, etc). There was even a board advertising Segway. Mobile phone coveraage is patchy, with Telstra being the best provider by far.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OReillys_Retreat, Director of Sales at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your O’Reilly’s experience on TripAdvisor.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, in particular the dining experience at breakfast.
Thank you for feedback on the scallops – we do take great care when preparing and cooking our food and your comments have been shared with the Kitchen Bridge for further review.
I am pleased to let you know Optus have completed their installation and now have been better coverage for those who need to stay in touch.

Thanks once again for your valued review – we hope to see you down under again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canungra
6.5 km away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
23.8 km away
Canungra Hotel
Canungra Hotel
#2 of 2 in Canungra
89 reviews
33.3 km away
Ramada Resort Kooralbyn Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33 km away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
279 reviews
23.6 km away
The Odd Gecko
The Odd Gecko
#1 of 2 in Canungra
28 reviews
37 km away
Lillydale Farmstay
Lillydale Farmstay
#1 of 3 in Rathdowney
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa

Address: Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Canungra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Canungra
Price Range: $138 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore World Heritage-listed Lamington National Park from the best and only vantage point on Green Mountain - at O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat - operated by passionate by third generation O’Reilly family members whose ancestors pioneered eco tourism in Australia in 1926. Choose to stay in a cosy Rainforest Retreat guest room with expansive views overlooking the western McPherson Range or one of 48 self-contained and architecturally designed modern Villas perched unobtrusively onto the sloping hillside. Get amongst the daily activities of guided bird walks, animal shows and the famed Tree Top Walk and treehouse climb to viewing platforms above. Plus, test your skills on an off road two-wheeled Segway tour through creek crossings to Morans Falls, or bliss out in the Lost World Day Spa. Dine in the casual treehouse bar on homemade pizzas or opt for the rustic dining room with a gourmet a la carte menu including matching wines from the Canungra Valley Vineyards down the road. Order a packed lunch or picnic hamper and set off to one of 500 waterfalls via 160 kilometres of nature trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and lastminute.com.au so you can book your O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Reilly`s Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Hotel Canungra
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Spa Canungra, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing