We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,408)
Filter reviews
1,408 results
Traveller rating
668
424
169
89
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
668
424
169
89
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa mountain view roombirds of preyglow worm tourrainforest retreattreetop walkflying foxearly morning bird walklamington national parkbedroom villainfinity pooldining roomlost world spabird watchingking parrotsbuffet breakfastsegway tourmorning and afternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
1,218 - 1,223 of 1,408 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2011

For a significant birthday my family bought me here for a weekend on a ballooning package. This is a spectacular location and we can't wait to return but it won't be to O"Reilly's Rainforest retreat. For what we paid we mistakenly thought that we were staying in the new 2 bedroom villas but on arrival found we were actually in the old resort. We were 2 adults and 2 children in one room with mininal facilities. The main resort is very old and outdated.What they are charging for these rooms that would barely be 3 star is outrageous. There is no air conditioning and old ceiling fans that hardly move. I would hate to be here in summer as the rooms all face west for the wonderful view but that makes them very hot. There is a small pool with no chairs around it and a viewing deck with no table or chairs on it so that guests could sit there and enjoy the setting sun. The breakfast was good but the resturant was ordinary. Our return to this beautiful part of Australia will be to the camping ground.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuluSEQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OReillys_Retreat, Director of Sales at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am sure the views over the Gold Coast Hinterland were spectacular and I hope you enjoyed your breakfast at Canungra Valley Vineyards on your hot air ballooning experience. This particular package is one of our more expensive packages – what a fantastic birthday present!
It is disappointing to read you were mistaken over the room types and did not enjoy your stay in our traditional accommodation. It is true our guesthouse is old, we have been around since 1926 and hope to be still around for some while yet. Our Retreat rooms are designed to provide an escape from the world so guests can enjoy the natural surrounds, and as such do not include televisions or telephones, which is actually preferred by most of our guests. We rarely require the use of air-conditioning due to our high altitude and in summer, typically we are cooled down by an afternoon storm - a fantastic sight from the Rainforest Room Bar! Naturally we are disappointed when guests expectations are not met – I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to O’Reilly’s, perhaps next time in the villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Another return trip to this terrific destination. O'Reilly's can proudly still boast superior service on all fronts. Staff are a full bottle, on anything you asked them. They're polite & courteous. The food is sensational and leaps & bounds ahead of most other similar establishments in QLD. Rooms add that extra relaxing touch at the end of a long day after exploring the surrounding rainforest. The pace is as easy or frenetic as you choose. There is absolutely no pressure at all to participate in any activity, you don't want to do. The wildlife is abounding. You don't have to look too hard either, it'll find you all by itself...marvellous. Take a tip, be sure to go on Michael's Kurrajong Lookout tour. A great way to spend a morning and engage in the history of the settlement of O'Reilly's...and sample some real campfire damper rinsed down with real billy tea. Oh yes and please remember it's a litter free destination. If you need a refresher course and how not to litter, there is a crazy magpie at O'Reilly's that'll bring you up to speed.

Just go there!!

Kevin & Carole

Room Tip: A valley view is the best. The changing light of the day is superb for photography.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OReillys_Retreat, Director of Sales at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Hi Kevin and Carole – wow, what a glowing review!
Our mission is “To Make Every Guest Feel Special” and it seems the staff have done just that! Thank you for your kind feedback, we work hard to exceed our guests expectations and your comments have been well received by our teams.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your 4WD tour with ‘Big Mick’ and had the opportunity to meet ‘Jacqui’ the Magpie – I agree, there a few people who could learn a lesson from Jacqui.

It was great to have you back – we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This year has been quite stressful, so I knew it was time for a few days at O'Reillys to relax and recharge the batteries! Wonderful rainforest and birds, great food, comfortable bed and very obliging staff. All ingredients guaranteed to remove stress!! Thank you and be assured I will be back. Bev

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OReillys_Retreat, Director of Sales at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Bev – it was great to see you back at O’Reilly’s! Thanks for your raving review and taking the time to share your O’Reilly’s experience on TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This was our first stop in Australia. When we arrived it was hot, so Cabin 55's air conditioning was fabulous. The cabin was spacious with a balcony overlooking a flat open area, plenty of storage space for all our gear and a decent bathroom. All was clean, but the cabin needed a facelift. Food at O'Reilly's is very good, although inspect the scallops before you eat them - mine were raw in the middle. Breakfasts are very good indeed and less worrisome. There is a laundry on site. Very popular with day visitors as well as those booked in as guests, so expect lots of people. There are various activities available (Birds of Prey shows, Wildlife walks, etc). There was even a board advertising Segway. Mobile phone coveraage is patchy, with Telstra being the best provider by far.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OReillys_Retreat, Director of Sales at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your O’Reilly’s experience on TripAdvisor.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, in particular the dining experience at breakfast.
Thank you for feedback on the scallops – we do take great care when preparing and cooking our food and your comments have been shared with the Kitchen Bridge for further review.
I am pleased to let you know Optus have completed their installation and now have been better coverage for those who need to stay in touch.

Thanks once again for your valued review – we hope to see you down under again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed here twice now and it's a great adventure if you like birds and bushwalking. The accommodation is basic and I hope you like hard beds!! Still nice enough when you consider your are in the middle of the bush!
Staff friendly and helpful and the restaurant food is very nice. A nice upstairs bar with friendly local birds coming to visit!
Beware it's a long trek up the mountain and a bit hairy on the steep bends!!! Lots of nice walks in the bush of all different lengths to suit all ages. You have to try the swing bridge walk which is suitable for all. On this occasion we did come across a couple of snakes which were harmless!
Another must do is to feed the birds by hand In the bird feeding area outside the hotel. Check the feeding times. There are other tours available plus a bird show you can do too. All in all a great adventure!

Room Tip: Take your walking boots and mozzie spray!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjornsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OReillys_Retreat, Director of Sales at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share you O'Reilly's experience on TripAdvisor - it was a pleasure to have you stay again!

Thank you for feedback on the O'Reilly's staff and dining experiences, your comments have been well received by management.

We agree, the Treetop Walk is a must!! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews