We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at a traditional Japanese Hotel”
Review of Hotel Sagi no Yu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sagi no Yu
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels / Ryokan in Suwa
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We stayed at his ryokan as part of a tour with other Canadians. It was a good ryokan experience. Hotel is located across Lake Suwa nice area for walking.
The hotel isn't the newest or fanciest but it is still very clean and beautiful. The traditional set Japanese dinner and breakfast was a great experience and the service always professional and polite. Free Wifi is best in the lobby. The room looked quite tired and the bathrooms were really showing their age (not great). A peacock screeching did not make for a quiet stay.
Hotel has separate men and women Onsens hot spring bath house - not used by many of our group. Note that bathing suits are not allowed (not for the shy) There are also foot baths outside.

A Japanese room provides a very different experience. Sleeping on a mat on the floor takes some getting use to, we did not find it very comfortable as well as the chairs with no legs. If you have knee or back problems it may not be the best choice. We only stayed one night.

Room Tip: Wifi best in the lobby. Ask for a room where you cannot hear the peacock or you will need earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2016

We arrived very tired and we got to our rooms in a very narrow and slow elevator to the 3rd floor. Our room was laid out in the traditional Japanese style. Slippers, minimal bedroom, a lovely living room leading on to the bed room. In the closets along the walls there were bedding and kimonos which we adorned for our group's traditional evening meal which was a great treat for all of us (photos attached.). On our return from the evening meal, we found our bedding was removed from the closets and laid out on the floor. Although nearly at floor level, but we were quite comfortable.Breakfast was traditional Japanese cuisine excellent. On the whole a great hotel although I was disappointed by the run down shower, and its appliances, rusty and in a bad shape. I hope management take this into consideration. This was certainly off standard. Staff so very friendly. WiFi free but weak.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

This Ryokan locates besides the Suwa lake and quite close to the Kamisuwa station. There are convenient stores and a few restaurants nearby. In general, locations of onsen-ryokan are quite remote, so this Ryokan is definitely an exceptional one.

My friend and I stayed one of the rooms inside "秀芦閣" building. It had a marvelous lake view with sunset. The dinner was "Shinshu beef" (信州牛) shabu-shabu, that was so delicious and juicy! Besides the dinner, the breakfast was also very tasty. The service was great and staff was friendly. I did really enjoy my stay there.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room to enjoy the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank edmundduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

I stayed in a western-style, single room for one night. The room was so small that you might feel suffocating. It has a large window but what you see is parking lots and buildings at the other side.

Room has a tiny bathroom with toilet but you can also use a larger, shared onsen hot tubs located on the 1st floor. It was nothing impressive and you will frequently hear cars passing by right next to the outdoor hot tubs.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AT1192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The location was so good. The ryokan is in front of Lake Suwa. I could enjoy a beautiful scenery. The meals were excellent! I ate Japanese traditional delicious dishes.
The service was amazing! The staff are delightful, all very helpful and friendly.
Could have stayed here for more nights, but that's for next time!
I am sure we will go back some day!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likemange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suwa hotels
Kamisuwa Onsen
Aburaya Ryokan
Aburaya Ryokan
#16 of 36 in Suwa
60 reviews
Kamisuwa Onsen
Rako Hananoi Hotel
Rako Hananoi Hotel
#17 of 36 in Suwa
86 reviews
Kamisuwa Onsen
Hotel Route-Inn Kamisuwa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kamisuwa Onsen
Kamisuwa Onsen Shinyu
Kamisuwa Onsen
Hamanoyu
Hamanoyu
#6 of 36 in Suwa
63 reviews
Kamisuwa Onsen
Sosennoyado Suhaku
Sosennoyado Suhaku
#4 of 36 in Suwa
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sagi no Yu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sagi no Yu

Address: 3-2-14 Kogandori, Suwa 392-0027, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Suwa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels / Ryokan in Suwa
Price Range: AU$151 - AU$523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sagi no Yu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Sagi no Yu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sagi No Yu Suwa, Nagano Prefecture, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing