We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage and location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abriachan

'Abriachan', which overlooks Loch Alsh
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Abriachan', which overlooks Loch Alsh
nooks and crannies for bookworms beautiful views over the loch and beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
'Abriachan', which overlooks Loch Alsh
nooks and crannies for bookworms
beautiful views over the loch and beyond
the smaller lounge area, south facing.
Smaller Lounge overlooking the croft
abriachan and the view from main lawn area
a winter sunrise
Larger lounge with inset plasma TV
Contemporary Styled Kitchen
Large Sunroom
bedroom overlooking the cows
downstairs bathroom
Comfortable areas
romantic ambience
Just a day old
Open plan areas
Highland cows are always 'nosy'
Plockton close by
young buck yards from the back of the cottage
looking over main lawn area towards Glenelg
Looking over the nearby loch
a nymph in a hidden part of the garden
Frosty morning over the garden
early morning on the croft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Balmacara, Lochalsh, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colcheste...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent cottage and location”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We arrived 9/7/16 after an 11hr drive and were greeted on arrival by the owner who showed us around. The owners are available for any help needed. This cottage is well equipped and extremely comfortable. The bedrooms are well furnished and good quality bed linen provided on the large comfortable beds. Central heating is available if the evenings grow chilly. This is an Ideal location for road trips and boat trips to the many islands and places of interest including isle of Skye 5 mins drive away. Beautiful scenery surrounds the cottage which has a large garden, ideal for families and for quiet times. The views from the sunroom and main lounge span the loch and mountain ranges of the isle of skye and we founds ourselves spending much of our time staring from the window at the ever changing scene. At the bottom of the lane leading up to the cottage are moss filled woodlands free to explore. The cottage has lots of info about local attractions to help you plan visits. Ample parking, Sky TV, wifi and extremely well furnished. We fully recommend this holiday cottage and feel we were lucky to have found this gem to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary together in the Highlands. We plan to book again for next year and bring our children and grandchildren.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarerobe...
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fabulous week in a perect house”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a lovely week in this beautiful house which was warm and welcoming from the moment we were greeted by Tim and shown in to two blazing fires and lots of cosy lighting and lovely decorative touches Not the best week of weather but we so enjoyed our stay and our visits from the pine martin who seemed to enjoy the peanut butter whether on toast, bread or left over garlic dough balls !! A perfect base for visits across the bridge to Skye, Plockton and surrounding areas but the house and the location were so perfect we were happy not to go far- hope we shall return but to sunshine next time ! Many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: need more cereal/pasta bowls
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2015
Thanks Clare and Iain for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed the cottage even though the weather was "inclement". You would be welcome again anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigMacM...
Oban, United Kingdom
1 review
“First class accommodation”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just returned from our weeks stay in Tim and Lilly's amazing house which is has everything you could ever need or want all under one roof! The setting of this place is just so beautiful with stunning views you never get bored of looking at.

Tim and Lilly are the perfect hosts, they leave you to your peace and quiet but are always on hand should you need anything. Could not recommend this place enough.... I will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, size, log fires,
Liked least: Satellite TV could be upgraded in both living rooms.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect area. Amazing views”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Julie, Paul, Stacey, Lauren, Joe, Lyla, Adan, Fay, Lilly dog and honey dog.
What a fantastic week we have had, excellent weather, which was a big bonus. The house is beautiful, nothing Amis, location is just perfect for visiting Skye and the surrounding areas.
The views from the house are fantastic, the garden is great. Lyla and the dogs loved it, chasing and hiding.
Saw the Pine Martin most evenings from 10 onwards.
Deer in the front and back, even saw a fox and an eagle.
Visited fairie pools, plockton, Portree, otter haven and did a boat trip, a couple of walks from the cottage.
The dogs got on with Roxy who loved playing ball.
Hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maz0304
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pine Marten paradise”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is a large, beautiful, detached house, with a huge garden, overlooking Loch Alsh and The Isle of Skye. It's a 5 minute drive to the Skye road bridge and approx a 10 minute drive to The Eilean Donan Castle. Perfectly placed for visiting Skye and all around the Lochalsh area.

The house itself is really comfortable, and it was difficult to choose which bedroom to sleep in, as they were all so nice. There is a large lounge with a tv. and log burning stove, and also a seating area in the kitchen with a tv. and a huge log burning stove (both were lit for our arrival) The huge dining table is in the sun lounge (where we spent most of our time) and the views from here are fantastic. Excellent wifi is free too. The kitchen is fully equipped with a dishwasher etc, and an extra fridge freezer in the out building. Plenty of washer/driers in the cabin next door. The only thing we couldn't find were plenty of bowls for cereals/soup etc., but we managed as there were only the two of us staying.

Tim has put up several bird feeders around the garden, which are really needed for the prolific bird life, but the star of the show for us was the Pine Marten (who made an appearance most evenings). Around the same time each night we had placed peanut butter on the window ledge of the sun lounge, and on the step, it didn't take long for "Phil" to appear. He didn't mind us at all and sat eating the peanut butter in front of us. Deers were also spotted in the field in front of the garden.

There are several good walks in the area and Tim and Lilly can advise on these. The short train ride from Kyle of Lochalsh to Plockton provides spectacular scenery, but for anyone with mobility problems there is a bit of a trek from Plockton station into the village.

Fresh fish can be purchased in Kyle of Lochalsh (their Cullen Skink is really good to takeaway too). We purchased Scallops while we were there, and they were really reasonably priced and delicious. The shop is only open limited days though, so check first. There is also a Co-op here for all your grocery needs.

Tim or Lilly are usually on hand to help with anything, a really friendly couple (not forgetting Roxy, their lovely Bearded Collie). It was a pleasure to spend a week here, totally relaxing and unwinding, watching the wildlife and ever changing scenery, we will definitely stay again when we're in the area, and recommend to both families or couples for a perfectly placed holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing