We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lochside Lodge

Lochside Lodge - autumn colours
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lochside Lodge - autumn colours
Lochside deck looking up Loch Long Back door of Lochside Lodge with parking and view of teh loch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Lochside Lodge - autumn colours
Lochside deck looking up Loch Long
Back door of Lochside Lodge with parking and view of teh loch
A bedroom on Lochside - very comfortable beds - views of the loch from all bedrooms
Walk-In shower room
Lochside bedrooms have super-kngsize or twin beds
Lochside Lodge with hills behind. Larchwood to the left 60 metres away
View of Loch Long, Loch Alsh, and the mountains of Skye behind, taken from the hill behind us
A calm Loch Long from Dornie
Dornie village from the bridge over Loch Long
View of Kyleakin, Loch Alsh, Skye bridge and the Skye Cuillin
Evening sun over Loch Alsh and Eilean Donan
Eilean Donan Castle - 15 minutes walk through Dornie village
Dining table in Lochside
Bathroom with shower over bath
Lounge area - shiny new sofas !
Hearth, with woodburning stove
Lochside kitchen
Lochside Lodge and Loch Long from our back field
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dornie, Lochalsh, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CMRB2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Absolutely brilliant spot. It is so beautiful right on the loch. We travelled as a group of friends and found Lochside lodge a perfect base for exploring the area. It is a very comfortable house and has everything you need. We were lucky enough to have excellent weather for our stay so we enjoyed having a BBQ and some cold beers on the deck looking out over the loch. It is an easy walk into Dornie village for a good dinner and some chat with the locals at the Clachan. I would definitely recommend this place. Nearby Eilean Donan castle, the Isle of Skye, and a boat trip with Callum's tours from the village of Plockton were highlights of our trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ros T
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodge to retreat to after a day on the mountains”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is the second time that our group has stayed in the Kintail Lodges and we love staying there. Large picture windows overlooking Loch Long, loads of space and lovely warm underfloor heating. This is definitely the best place that we have stayed in on our annual trips to Scotland in May.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Big picture windows
Liked least: The kitchen is surprisingly small for 8 people, but as we all took turns to cook, it did not matter
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew H
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Brilliant but some niggles”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I stayed in the Dornie lodges at the beginning of September and thoroughly enjoyed it, the lodges were well located, half a mile off the fast A87 and near Eilen Donan castle, and were well equipped and decorated. I would definitely stay there again.

There were a small number of niggles (such as the fan in one of the kitchens not working) however the owner of the property responded positively to the feedback.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsyturv...
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous lodge in a wonderful setting”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Fantastic place with plenty of room to chill out and relax after a day walking or touring. Always great no matter what the weather we feel it is a home from home and well maintained bybits owners

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5FHK51
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A stunning location and comfortable lodge.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The views over the loch and mountains are stunning - the wide picture windows let you enjoy it to the full. It is peaceful and we felt "away from it all" though there is a shop and a couple of good pubs with great food within ten minutes walk along the loch. On one morning we even spotted an otter by the loch shore! The lodge itself has all you need and was very comfortable and cosy. If there were some updating of decoration and bathrooms this would be perfect. We had a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: tricky showers
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thanks for this very fair review. We redecorated Lochside and freshened up the bathrooms within the last year, but Lochside is a very popular house, and they will need doing again in the Autumn as soon as the house is unoccupied for a few days !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing