We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wish this was home”
other travellers have booked this property
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
The spacious living room has a multi-fuel fire and beamed ceilings The dining area in the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
The spacious living room has a multi-fuel fire and beamed ceilings
The dining area in the living room
The open-plan kitchen is well-equipped with dishwasher
The large double bedroom overlooks the private garden
Another view of the double bedroom
The triple bedroom has a single bed and bunks
The bathroom with WC, hand-basin and bath (shower above)
The Gatehouse from the courtyard
Decking in private enclosed garden  with picnic table
The wildlife pond has lots of frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on site, especially in late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
The play area with two towers, bridge, swing, slide, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
Magnificent views from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
There are lots of amazing coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including wild ponies, goats, deer and birds of prey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maria h
2 reviews
“Wish this was home”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This was our second visit to The Gatehouse and chose to spend Christmas there. We were not disappointed. Always warmly welcomed and John met us to help show us how to light the wood burner. Cottage warm and welcoming with a Christmas tree lit and decorated. Rooms beautiful as always. Weather was fine and had great time visiting local area including Lynton and Lynmouth, Hedon Mouth and Watersmeet. The Black Venus Inn is definitely to be recommended with amazing food and hospitality. We will most definitely be back. Thank you for making our Christmas amazing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2016
Happy New Year - and thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed Christmas in Gatehouse and our local area - so many great walks to choose from.
We are glad that you enjoyed the log burner and liked the tree and decorations.
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johninbat...
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage in lovely area”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just spent 3 nights at the Gatehouse where the welcome from Melanie and John was as lovely as the cottage itself. Fantastic area for dogs with the north Devon coastline a short distance away and the beauty of Exmoor in another direction. Even the rain could not dampen the joy - something very assuring about coming back to the warmth of a log burner! Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Gatehouse. Exmoor is very beautiful and there is nothing better than relaxing in front of a log fire! We look forward to meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete168
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing away from it all place”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just got back from a lovely week away at a georgeous cottage in Devon. We were very pleased when we walked into the cottage and found it very homely, both of the owners made us very welcome, checking everything was ok for us and gave us good advise on where to go. Ollie the collie our dog enjoyed his stay and all the surrounding countryside. The cottage was well placed for many attractions that North Devon has to offer and the local pub the Black Venus is one of the best I have been to, good ale and a talented chef, we were made welcome by all the staff there. I would not hesitate to make a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Short walk to a great pub
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy that you were comfortable in our Gatehouse Cottage and that you enjoyed the delights of Challacombe and the surrounding countryside.
Your Collie Ollie is a true gent and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a holiday in Exmoor”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned from an excellent week's holiday in The Gatehouse. Great location, many walks within a short drive both coastal and moorland. The cottage was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, and the immediate surroundings were beautiful and very peaceful. The local pub does fantastic meals and it was nice to have a shop within 2 minutes walk for milk etc. we could easily have filled another week with walks and visiting the many interesting towns and villages. Would definitely recommend this cottage to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helium6
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NIce place, lots to do”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a very nice time during a week of sun and rain, and left with more things to go back and do next time. Heddon Mouth and Hele Bay beaches strongly recommended, also enjoyed Exmoor Zoo, steam train, Watersmeet and Dunster forest.

Melanie and John are lovely people who put in a lot of effort to help everyone to have the best possible time. The gardens are beautiful, with lots of long grass for insect-hunting. There is a small but well-maintained play area maybe best suited to children age 3-6 - small children could fall so need close supervision.

The Gatehouse is well-equipped and spotlessly clean. There were lots of books (I didn't read any of the ones I packed) and a few games.

I feel bad for apparently being the first to score 4 rather than 5 stars! But 4 stars officially means "very good" and I would give closer to 5 stars for value. The Gatehouse is compact, furnished with an eye to function as much as beauty, and hence good for a family holiday, but less suitable for royalty or other people looking for truly 5 star accommodation. We never used the outdoor seating area, as mostly out or putting children to bed - but a pervasive aroma and hum suggested a septic tank and pump directly underneath.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners
Liked least: Cookware (hard to cook without burning)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a lovely time in the cottage, grounds and local area.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing