We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly situated,well-equipped and comfy”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Gatehouse

The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
The spacious living room has a multi-fuel fire and beamed ceilings The dining area in the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
The spacious living room has a multi-fuel fire and beamed ceilings
The dining area in the living room
The open-plan kitchen is well-equipped with dishwasher
The large double bedroom overlooks the private garden
Another view of the double bedroom
The triple bedroom has a single bed and bunks
The bathroom with WC, hand-basin and bath (shower above)
The Gatehouse from the courtyard
Decking in private enclosed garden  with picnic table
The wildlife pond has lots of frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on site, especially in late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
The play area with two towers, bridge, swing, slide, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
Magnificent views from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
There are lots of amazing coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including wild ponies, goats, deer and birds of prey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angeline...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfectly situated,well-equipped and comfy”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for 3 days with our daughter, 2 grandchildren and 2 terriers. The cottage is prettily decorated and comfortable with everything we needed supplied and the owners are very friendly and helpful . The children (aged 5 and 7) loved Humphrey's Hill and the play area, and we found ourselves within easy reach of Combe Martin and Lynton/Lynmouth where the children had a great time in the rock-pools and on the beach. Rides on the cliff railway and also on the Woody Bay steam train proved a great hit, as did the Wildlife and Dinosaur Park at Combe Martin. All together a fun-filled half-term break. Plus a special note for adults: food at the nearby Black Venus pub is excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are indeed blessed with lots of things to see and do nearby - we are still finding new walks after nearly 20 years! We are also very lucky to have the Black Venus almost on our doorstep. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin K
Hampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“All you could need”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just had our third visit ,but this time stayed in the gate house it was just as lovely as the farmhouse and a little cosier for the 2 of us ,with our 2 happy dogs ,garden is nice and secure,these holiday homes are just in the most perfect place to explore Exmoor ,on each visit we find something new ,we had a lovely day riding over the moors and a wonderful dinner in the black Venus which is staggering distance from the cottage .
Can't recommend these cottages high enough which ever one you stay in .
Thank you Melanie and John will return soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Thank you for another great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and new discoveries - there is so much to do on Exmoor.....followed perfectly by dinner at the local pub.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caddythew...
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful, comfortable and homely cottage”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here for four nights with our Labrador. The cottage was clean and tidy on arrival and Melanie was there to welcome us. We were fortunate that the weather was dry and mainly sunny but the evenings were a bit chilly so the wood burner was put to good use. The cottage was very cosy, especially with the wood burner going. We ate at the local pub - there was a great choice on the menu and they catered for vegetarians - it was nice to have more than one item to choose from on the menu! It was also a dog-friendly pub. Will definitely come back and stay for longer.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the new log-burning stove. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria h
2 reviews
“Miss”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights over Easter and could have stayed for 3 years!! Such a comfortable cottage with everything you need. Beautiful setting. Very friendly and helpful. Great pub with excellent food 2 mins walk. What more could you want. Definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you were comfortable in Gatehouse and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
1 review
“lovely cottage in a great setting”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a lovely time, And was sad to go home! The ow ners melanie and john are really helpful and friendly. The cottage is really cosy, lovely woodburner and lovely Little garden. It has a lovely feel and the surrounding grounds are ideal for dogs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage cosy (and that you liked the new woodburner).
We look forward to welcoming you back to Town Tenement Farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing