We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquillity served up with a genuine welcome.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Villefranche-de-Rouergue, Aveyron, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LaBoheme5...
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquillity served up with a genuine welcome.”
Reviewed 19 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

This is our third visit to Les Fontaines--the first two were brief stays at their B&B, this time we're having a week in the gite. The friendly & helpful owners, Andrea & Steve, have gone out of their way to make us comfortable and ensure a great time. The gite is immaculate, with beautiful Anglo-French design touches. I made use of the pool on a particularly hot evening after our drive round the countryside that afternoon.
The area is so huge & full of interesting historical sights, that you really need a month to see most of them. If it's peace & quiet you're after, then you've picked the right place. You can sit out by the fountain (as a gite guest) and read or have drinks, with complete tranquillity. The only negative I can come up with is the mobile phone signal here is patchy. OK for chatting with family back home, but not ideal for those making business calls or using a "dongle" with a laptop. There IS wifi, however, which I found works fine for my own personal use. All in all, 100%. We shall return :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful setting.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IanLath1
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely going back”
Reviewed 22 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The previous reviews were spot on. We (family of 4, children 7 and 4) only checked out of the cottage this morning and felt so strongly about it that we had to leave feedback straight away.

With so much choice in the area we feel extremely fortunate that we chose Les Fontaines for our holiday. We decided on it because the swimming pool area from the photos on the website looked lovely. It was exactly as we hoped and more. Fantastic pool and superb loungers and sofas to watch the kids.

The cottage was finished to a very high degree. Two large bedrooms, more wardrobe space than we needed, superb lounge with beautiful log burner which we had no need for but would be great in the Winter. Fully stocked kitchen with more tools than I knew what to do with. Very new TV (not mentioned yet in their website) connected to Free Sat which gave us loads of English channels which kept the kids quiet at night and us amused when we tuned in to see the news and weather from home.

The area is quiet which is why we liked it. Martiel has a post office, boulangerie, corner shop all within walking distance and that's about it. Villefranche de Rouergue (10 min drive) however is big and you are within 30 min drive from any number of beautiful French villages. The Nissan sat nav found the gite straight away.

Loads of walks behind the house and great mountain bike trails (bikes available to borrow).

Andrea and Steve great hosts. They showed us around the main house and B & B rooms on our last night and they look equally stunning. Steve does all the building work himself, Andrea has the cottage and B&B dressed to a very high standard.

All in all can't wait to go back

Latham family

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“les fontaines - les fabulous”
Reviewed 5 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This was one of the best places we have ever visited. We have stayed in 5 star accommodation all over thworlk and this ranks up there with the best, made all the better by the superbhospitality and warmth of hosts steve and Andrea. We stayed in both the cottage and the bead and breakfast and both were equally clean tasteful and truely made it a home away from home. the pool was one of the best, cleanest and peaceful settings I have seen. I and my husband would go back tomorrow if we could. But will definately be back next year and would recommend to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 23 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing