We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful villa in a stunning location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of villa elena guerra

piscina
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
piscina
piscina reception
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
piscina
piscina
reception
vista frontale
fronte  retro
giardino in inverno
pergola
vista piscina
barbecue
cucina
cucina
salone
sala da pranzo
camera bianca
camera bianca
camera viola
camera viola
camera gialla
camera gialla
bagno 1
bagno 2
lucca comics and games
lucca comics and games
Pinocchio's oak
vision
vision
scala fiorita
arc fleuri
piscina steps
pozzo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Pescia, Province of Pistoia, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alyson S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful villa in a stunning location”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This villa is in a beautiful position - the views are wonderful and far-reaching, with views in four different directions. The villa's location is breathtaking and the gardens large and well-stocked, with a private pool area in which we sat, read, swam and had barbecues. There is car parking and the owners live on site which makes collecting the key very easy. Gabriella and Carlo are really lovely people who help with any problems and they are a great source of knowledge about places to visit. They were also incredibly generous with the produce from their garden (our daughters ate through prodigious quantities of delicious figs, tomatoes and plums!)

The villa is fairly close to main roads from which you can easily access big tourist attractions such as Pisa, Lucca and Florence as well as hidden gems such as Pietrasanta. There are some incredibly beautiful, ancient and interesting towns within easy reach - Montecarlo, Montecatini Terme & Montecatini Alto, Pistoia - and also pleasant walks around the local area. We enjoyed several lovely evening walks along the lanes surrounding the villa, amongst olive groves, vineyards and also to the famous 600 year old oak tree. We visited a nature reserve called Orrido di Botri; the journey took approximately 1 hour and 20 mins (the last few miles are a fairly narrow tarmac mountain road) but the drive was worth it: for just 2 euros per person you get a helmet and permission to scramble along a partially dry (you WILL get wet feet!) river bed in a deep gorge.

If you want peace, nature, relaxation, culture and a very beautiful home from home, then this is for you. All in all an unforgettable holiday - thank you Gabriella and Carlo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, location and pool
Liked least: Everything's great!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Vi Ricorderemo sempre con grande piacere. Gabriella Giancarlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam360972
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil setting for a relaxing holiday with spectacular country views”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Our hosts were delightful and we enjoyed the villa and gardens very much. On the second floor with internal staircase we enjoyed spectacular views in all directions towards the mountains and over the plain towards Lucca. Everything was clean and comfortable but if you want modern boutique style this is not the place for you. Central for exploring the Pisa, Lucca, Florence area the villa is out in the countryside but set on a hill with far-reaching views. Wifi was provided so we could keep in touch, there were some local tourist guides giving us guidance on where to visit and our stay was very pleasant and relaxing. Our hosts were on site if we wished to ask questions and despite our lack of Italian language we managed to make ourselves understood. They were very helpful and friendly. Would love to visit again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views over the countryside
Liked least: Kitchen facilities were compact for a family
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Thanks. And maybe we can revisit in Cornwall ...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Living an italian dream”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are regular visitors to Italy having lived there for 10 years until 2004 when we returned to the UK. Every year since we have gone to Italy for our holidays, usually to a different location, but this year we decided to return to the Lucca area.
We liked Lucca itself and the central position offers a variety of experiences and excursions. This ranges from the beaches at the Parco Naturale Migliarino, Firenze, Pisa and the wilder countryside towards Barga.
As a family of 5 adults (3 under 23) we needed space, character, privacy and a taste of the "real Italy". We chose Villa Elena Guerra from the description and the pictures and were not disappointed. The location is stunning with views across the unspoilt wooded lucchese hills. Peace is guaranteed with good access to the Villa after a 10 minute drive from the main statale that connects you to Lucca and the autostrada.
The accomodation is spacious and comfortable with a small functional kitchen for those who like to eat in on occasion. There is a large dining table and we enjoyed the use of two bathrooms. One for the boys and one for the girls. There was always plenty of hot water and due to its location up a hill, evening temperatures were pleasant. In addition, there is also an outside dining area, barbecue area and cane seats for an evening aperitivo.
Our hosts, Gabriella and Gianluca, were wonderful. Generous with the vegetable produce from their lovely gardens, café and advice. Having restored the Villa themselves they are extremely hardworking which shows in how well cared for the property and gardens are. The Villa even has its own small chapel which we were shown.
We had a lovely, relaxing, restful holiday and will return again. For those seeking a place that is unspoilt and offers the best italian hospitality then Villa Elena Guerra is for you.
In Gabriella and Gianluca, we also met two of the warmest, most genuine and honest people you could hope to meet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jax F
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place for a relaxing Tuscan holiday”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at the villa in late June, early July and at the end of our stay realised we were the first guests.
Lots of great things to commend about the villa and a few helpful pointers. First thing we recommend is to download an Italian satnav. We didn't and got completely lost using our google map print outs and the ordnance surface map Gabriella sent. It was pitch black when we arrived so we completely missed the large rusted iron cross which indicated the turn off to San Martine. Carlos kindly came out and found us and we followed him back. The road to the villa is narrow and winding and was a challenge to drive. However the villa itself is beautiful and sits in a lovely lush well tended garden with lots of space to sunbathe in or run around if kids are younger. We used the pool every day and it was perfect. There are four sun loungers provided too and we used our own beach towels.
The accommodation is on the top floor and the rooms are all spacious with a good seating area and dining area. The shower rooms are fine too.
There are a couple of things that would be helpful. Mosquito nets over all the beds are necessary as one room had none and my son often got bitten. The other is a better equipped kitchen. It was basic and not everything was as new as I would have liked. The chopping boards need replacing and we couldn't see the kettle or the microwave but as we managed without them we didn't ask for them.
I couldn't find sharp preparation knives so I made do with steak knives. We used the BBQ area a few times though and this was great.
The wifi was intermittent and the satellite TV was limited and mainly in Italian but this didn't cause too many problems as we spent evenings chatting and playing cards or visiting neighbouring towns.
The owners were lovely, they gave suggestions for visits to neighbouring towns such as Monte Catini and Pistoia as well as information on the nearest supermarkets. We also were invited in for a proper italian coffee( delicious) and I got an impromptu cookery lesson which I loved.
In summary the villa is a perfect relaxing retreat for adults and older children. It's location dictates that you need to drive everywhere but once we got used to the Italian roads then trips to Monte Carlo for morning coffee became part of the daily routine. I felt that we had a real insight into Italian life and one of most relaxing family holidays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the views
Liked least: Driving on the narrow Italian roads!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
I have to answer about the microwave and kettle! You were the first in equipping the kitchen and there they are forgotten in stock! Sorry, ask!
For mosquito nets: I can not put them in the room reserved for children: they are dangerous, children may remain kinked.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing