We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay”
Review of New Shine Hotel

New Shine Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Shine Hotel
Ranked #24 of 25 Kalaw B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2014

This was by far our cheapest hotel stay, during a three weeks trip in Myanmar.
When we arrived, they couldn't find our booking. After several phone calls we were presented a tiny little somewhat run down room in the back of the reception. The door was so wimpy, that we could hear every step outside and due to the proximity to reception there were lots of people walking back and forth. Luckily the ancient AC in the room was loud enough to cover all noises from outside. Usually you would not need AC in Kalaw, but it helped with its steady humming, clanging and rattling to give us peaceful sleep.
Breakfast was served in a dark and huge but completely empty room in the basement.

I am giving an average rating, because the staff was very helpful. Although we arrived late, the organized a guide for us, to go on an amazing half day hiking tour the same day.
And when my girlfriend had an upset stomach the next day, they brought us medicine and diluted juice.
There is a newer building belonging to the same hotel around the corner and I imagine the rooms are better there.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the more modern building off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raskolnikow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Phone: 95 81 50188
Email: newshinehtl@blumail.org
Cost: USD$30 double room

We were moved to this place after a bungled booking across the road at Honey Pine.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They brought us up hot water and extra blankets on a cold night upon request and without a fuss. They directed us to restaurants and arranged our onward travel - always with a smile. When my girlfriend was sick, they even brought her breakfast in bed.

A special mention needs to go to the lady who first showed us the room, checked us in and, upon check out, watched the road outside the front window vigilantly to warn us when our onward bus was approaching.

The rooms themselves are old and simple, but clean and comfortable - standard in this price range.

Breakfast was decent - eggs, fruit and tea. If you're coming in on the overnight bus, it will stop pretty much right outside New Shine.

This place doesn't deserve its poor reviews in the context of Myanmar accommodation. It's absolutely fine. And the super friendly staff will look after you.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

There seem to be two New Shine hotels - or probably more accurate, two hotels across the street from one another sharing the same management. Yes they have beds and yes they serve breakfast, but Bed & Breakfast is not the right descriptor for this hotel. If bathrooms are your thing, the New Shine bathrooms are clean and modern, as opposed to many bathrooms you will find at the budget end of the spectrum in Myanmar.

In April 2013, double room with private bath was US$30, basic breakfast and Wi-Fi included. If you are coming into Kalaw late at night by bus, the bus stops pretty much out front of New Shine, and there is someone sleeping in the lobby to let you in.

While the rooms are nice enough, and it's convenient, there's not a ton of character to this place, and it suffers somewhat from being on the main road, but it is clean and cheap - overall I would recommend the slightly more expensive Dream Villa around the corner, which (although a few dollars more) has a better location and much more character.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Quite a good hotel! Rooms are spacious and clean and there's hot water! Breakfast is ok but the dining room is a little bit cold in the early morning. A bad thing: internet access is not included (it costs 1000kyats per hour).
The price is quite good and you can bargain the price!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masa1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed here 7 nights in all, not continuous. We went for one night because it was convenient and stayed longer because it was so very convenient, the staff were so friendly and helpful., and we got a reasonable rate. We asked for and got a quiet room - ok as a place to sleep. The breakfasts were basic but OK. The wifi connection only worked in the reception area and the rooms close to it.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a quiet room, ie not one facing the Union Highway. Rooms near the reception get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalaw hotels
0 km away
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kalaw
76 reviews
0 km away
Thitaw Lay House B&B
Thitaw Lay House B&B
#1 of 14 in Kalaw
189 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Mount Royal Motel
#14 of 14 in Kalaw
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Dream Villa Hotel
Dream Villa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Kalaw
312 reviews
0 km away
Dream Mountain Resort
0 km away
360 Kalaw Hotel
360 Kalaw Hotel
#6 of 14 in Kalaw
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Shine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Shine Hotel

Address: 21, Union Highway, Kalaw, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kalaw
Hotel Class:2 star — New Shine Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Shine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing