We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
0
3
13
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
0
3
13
6
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Phone: 95 81 50188
Email: newshinehtl@blumail.org
Cost: USD$30 double room

We were moved to this place after a bungled booking across the road at Honey Pine.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They brought us up hot water and extra blankets on a cold night upon request and without a fuss. They directed us to restaurants and arranged our onward travel - always with a smile. When my girlfriend was sick, they even brought her breakfast in bed.

A special mention needs to go to the lady who first showed us the room, checked us in and, upon check out, watched the road outside the front window vigilantly to warn us when our onward bus was approaching.

The rooms themselves are old and simple, but clean and comfortable - standard in this price range.

Breakfast was decent - eggs, fruit and tea. If you're coming in on the overnight bus, it will stop pretty much right outside New Shine.

This place doesn't deserve its poor reviews in the context of Myanmar accommodation. It's absolutely fine. And the super friendly staff will look after you.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

There seem to be two New Shine hotels - or probably more accurate, two hotels across the street from one another sharing the same management. Yes they have beds and yes they serve breakfast, but Bed & Breakfast is not the right descriptor for this hotel. If bathrooms are your thing, the New Shine bathrooms are clean and modern, as opposed to many bathrooms you will find at the budget end of the spectrum in Myanmar.

In April 2013, double room with private bath was US$30, basic breakfast and Wi-Fi included. If you are coming into Kalaw late at night by bus, the bus stops pretty much out front of New Shine, and there is someone sleeping in the lobby to let you in.

While the rooms are nice enough, and it's convenient, there's not a ton of character to this place, and it suffers somewhat from being on the main road, but it is clean and cheap - overall I would recommend the slightly more expensive Dream Villa around the corner, which (although a few dollars more) has a better location and much more character.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Quite a good hotel! Rooms are spacious and clean and there's hot water! Breakfast is ok but the dining room is a little bit cold in the early morning. A bad thing: internet access is not included (it costs 1000kyats per hour).
The price is quite good and you can bargain the price!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masa1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed here 7 nights in all, not continuous. We went for one night because it was convenient and stayed longer because it was so very convenient, the staff were so friendly and helpful., and we got a reasonable rate. We asked for and got a quiet room - ok as a place to sleep. The breakfasts were basic but OK. The wifi connection only worked in the reception area and the rooms close to it.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a quiet room, ie not one facing the Union Highway. Rooms near the reception get a good wifi signal.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

this was the worst hotel we had on our trip. Being in Myanmar and only having one star is no excuse for being shabby and dirty.The furniture is outdated and the whole room is depressing. The window gave a view on a blind wall 50 cm away. Dust was in every corner.
This hotel needs renovation. Changing the name in Old Shine hotel is appropiated.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view and inspect the room before taking it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews