We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing new menu.”
Review of Ripe

Ripe
Ranked #6 of 8 Restaurants in Sassafras
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 5 May 2021 via mobile

As a local, Ripe has been one of our go to places for brunch, lunch or coffee. We popped up for lunch this week to be disappointed by the new menu... no hearty soup with bread, no baguettes, no dips with bread, no spanakopita, no biscuits in the glass cabinets. We spoke to a waiter who was busy serving out wine instead of coffee who basically explained it’s all about the bottom line, profit per table... it seems it’s not about the locals who have supported this cafe for years. We won’t be back anytime soon, all of our favourites are gone, and there is definitely nothing ideal for the kids.... it seems they have been forgotten, maybe no longer wanted in the new “fine dining” cafe?

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank emilyhackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2021 via mobile

Excellent food and great GF options. We really enjoyed our meal here and even took some delicious sausage rolls home for the next day. The staff was friendly and service fast.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank BVMRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

We had a very relaxed lunch today. The atmosphere was relaxed and warm. The staff were attentive and efficient. The orders for 8 including children were quick.
The food was very good including pasta, seafood and the big breakfast. Coffees were excellent.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank margaretk105
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2021

nice to relax and have a coffee and treat after checking out the local stores. prefer the back area feels like being in nature.

Date of visit: May 2020
1  Thank orytrip123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2021 via mobile

We stopped here for a light snack + coffee on our way through Victoria. The cafe was not busy, with lots of unoccupied tables.
We were directed to a good table at the window and ordered Latte, Cappuccino and jumbo almond croissants. The coffees were good but the almond croissant was superb. This totally countered the fact that a mysterious 70c for soy milk was on our bill?
Well worth a visit.
Thank you Ola

Date of visit: April 2020
2  Thank AnnieMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ripe also viewed

 

Been to Ripe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.