We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with family group (8)”
Review of Ripe

Ripe
Ranked #6 of 8 Restaurants in Sassafras
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

We had a very relaxed lunch today. The atmosphere was relaxed and warm. The staff were attentive and efficient. The orders for 8 including children were quick.
The food was very good including pasta, seafood and the big breakfast. Coffees were excellent.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank margaretk105
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2021

nice to relax and have a coffee and treat after checking out the local stores. prefer the back area feels like being in nature.

Date of visit: May 2020
1  Thank orytrip123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2021 via mobile

We stopped here for a light snack + coffee on our way through Victoria. The cafe was not busy, with lots of unoccupied tables.
We were directed to a good table at the window and ordered Latte, Cappuccino and jumbo almond croissants. The coffees were good but the almond croissant was superb. This totally countered the fact that a mysterious 70c for soy milk was on our bill?
Well worth a visit.
Thank you Ola

Date of visit: April 2020
2  Thank AnnieMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2021

A group of us cyclists has been visiting this place of a Monday morning after riding up from The Basin. We usually arrive about 9am and depart about 10am. Of late on arriving we have been told that we have to be out in 15 minutes as the large table is reserved. This week two of the slower riders had to have take-away coffees and stand outside to consume them, and during the time we were outside no one actually arrived for the so-called reserved table. We will not be going back and will give our considerable business to a cafe that actually wants it!

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tania H, Owner at Ripe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2021

WE WELCOME EVERYONE

Hey Russell, we are absolutely not anti-anyone (I'm sure you're aware of the bike racks we installed at the front for cyclists). The facts are that the venue was fully booked on Monday morning so our wait staff let you know this when your group arrived. Venues now have reduced seating capacity as a result of the restrictions imposed by the Victorian Government to manage Covid therefore we need to turn tables to operate a viable business. Fortunately most groups understand the realities of these sometimes challenging new times! I understand your disappointment at having to leave earlier than you would like however I'm not sure what your expectations are of us given it was your group that was late? And to confirm, the booking after you did arrive.

We are incredibly grateful for the support of majority of the community after such a difficult year. To avoid this situation we recommend advance bookings for busy businesses such as ours and for groups to arrive on time. Russell, our job is to create an enjoyable experience for all of our customers. It is uncomfortable for us too when we have to manage a situation like yours.

Warmest regards, Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2021 via mobile

Popped in for a great coffee, and lovely surprise to be able to buy a loaf too! Great spot in Sassafras

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Morse321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ripe also viewed

 

Been to Ripe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.