We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sassafras Cafe holds the heart of the village”
Review of Sassafras Cafe

Sassafras Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Sassafras
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Fantastic homemade scones, light breakfasts and lunches, and great coffee!!
Reviewed 5 April 2023

The Sassafras Cafe holds the heart of this charming village. The owner Rod is a gem💎
Izzy serves with a smile 😊 my pumpkin soup came in a huge bowl and was hearty. The chicken schnitzel burger was yummy. My cousins quiche delicious. The berry cheesecake divine. My chai latte came with a flower imprinted in the froth which is what I’m all about. Never had a flower in my cup before💜I then purchased 3 more sweet cakes to take home to my cousins property.
A memorable experience!

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank Empress60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2023 via mobile

Love this place for its relaxed atmosphere and best coffee!! Yum scones the size of your head!! Staff are always so friendly! Our kids love this place and the staff are always so nice to them!

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank chrissyhall2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 June 2022 via mobile

Great service and delicious meals and coffee. Very friendly welcome and clean facilities. A great place to stop on a cold rainy day

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank 26salemab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2022 via mobile

I went in to get a coffee and a focaccia and in my 30-40 minutes there I was shocked at the comments being made! An older man who I can only assume is the owner or boss was making remarks about customers in a disgusting manner (commenting on looks and appearance). Lots of swearing and the other staff seemed uncomfortable the whole time. He also made many sexual references which should never be made in the workplace. I truely hope that this is not a regular thing as I am absolutely appalled. Coffee was good but the food was average. Will not be returning.

Date of visit: January 2022
1  Thank 563leighr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2022

Honestly felt sorry for the staff. He was grumbling and shaking his head at his staff for not helping us even though they were with other customers. We even over heard him saying some wildly inappropriate “jokes” to other customers ( “ don’t trust the French” “ bloody Sri Lankans everywhere” ). He told us that we should go else where for vegan food. His staff however were lovely, trying to make accommodations and adjustments for us. Nearly everything we requested they had run out of which was a bit disappointing. We ending up at the Olinda Cafe which was so much nicer.

Date of visit: January 2022
1  Thank lilyn533
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sassafras Cafe also viewed

 
Sassafras, Victoria
Belgrave, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Sassafras Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.