We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queens of the slow-food-cooking movement!”

Palomar Cafe Bistrot
Ranked #10 of 32 Restaurants in Calasetta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 20 July 2018

This food is perfect, a little gourmet, and fresh, and amazing. A nice view of the port, right on the street, eat inside our out. Don't visit Calasetta and fail to eat here. I'm a regular. opens for dinner at 7:30 I believe, but they also do lunch now and breakfast - making their own beautiful brown croissants - and the best coffee in town (outside of my house!).

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Rae C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We went to this restaurant on the back of a recommendation by a shop owner close by. It was absolutely delicious we had a unique starter which was made of aubergine, mozzarella, tomato and pesto all layered like a lasagna on their traditional thin bread. And ordered the pesto pasta and beef steaks! It was delicious and reasonable price too. Very clean and the house wine was lovely! The staff was great at explaining everything to us. Spoke very good English too - Thank you!!!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank JoannaHxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We had originally intended a ferry crossing to the neighbouring island but when it was full we went for lunch instead. What a great decision.
Five adults and one child. They immediatly found a high chair for the "bambino" and the two staff on duty could not have been more friendly or helpful.
An excellent selection of dishes accompanied by a few drinks and we still paid less than the ferry crossing would have been.
Not slow service but not rushed either and the two charming staff were both pleasing on the eye and very friendly.
I only wish that i was going again next week.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

We spent 5 nights in Calasetta and ate here on four occasions. We managed to eat everything on the menu and each dish was more delicious than the last. The owner and her friend could not have been more helpful. On the last evening we had asked if they would cook anything of their choice and we would eat it! The owner said she had a friend who was going speer-fishing the next day and we ended up with a wonderful selection of fresh fish - DELICIOUS.
The seadas were great. Price was very reasonable
I could not recommend this restaurant highly enough. It was fantastic. The secret is their use of fresh ingredients and cooking everything on the spot. Perhaps in the height of summer they might be very busy but we understand that they limit the number of diners to enable them to keep the standards high.We were treated like family and really appreciated it. We wish them continued success.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dommags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We stumbled across the palomar by chance and the detached dining area almost put us off staying. The owner couldnt have been more helpful and welcoming. She translated everything into english and we were not disappointed with our choices . The atmosphere was a bit lacking but this was due to low numbers dining on a wednesday at end of season. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank DavidBakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palomar Cafe Bistrot also viewed

Calasetta, Isola di Sant Antioco
Calasetta, Isola di Sant Antioco
 
Calasetta, Isola di Sant Antioco
Calasetta, Isola di Sant Antioco
 
Calasetta, Isola di Sant Antioco
Calasetta, Isola di Sant Antioco
 

Been to Palomar Cafe Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing