We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Worsley, Salford, Greater Manchester, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul S
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 9 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We booked Gloria for New Year 2012/13 on a bit of a whim, having never narrowboated before. Turned out to be the best New Year experience ever.

We were given a quick guided tour of the boat by Hester who was very welcoming and made us feel that the boat would be our home from home for the next 4 days. Everything that we needed was provided - bed linen, towels, as you would expect and a welcome array of herbs and spices to boot.

Dave, the marina owner, gave us some hints and tips about where to go and navigating which proved vital, as the sharp right in Worsley after the stone bridge is unexpected!!!

The boat was exceptionally clean inside and out and the blue and cream external colour scheme was classy looking and a refreshing change to the greens that seemed to dominate the waterways.

We had one small problem with the electrics and when we informed Hester of this issue at 9.30pm she offered to come out immediately and sort this out. We declined this kind offer and she talked me through how to remedy it. Dave and Hester were then with us first thing the next morning to replace the dodgy battery, the culprit of the problem. These things happen but the way it was dealt with was first class.

It was a fantastic experience and the boat and the service and the price were all spot on.

We would recommend Gloria and Star Narrowboats to anyone looking to experience this most relaxing of ways to spend a holiday.

Thanks to Hester and Dave.

Paul and Jennifer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing holiday/Customer service
Liked least: Not Applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2013
Lovely - glad to have played a part in your 'best New Year experience ever'.

Thanks for your patience with the battery situation - it is one of those things.

Glad too that you felt at home aboard 'Gloria' welcome back anytime both of you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was clean!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jan 2013
Thanks for your very kind review Caroline. You are all welcome back anytime along with yor University of Manchester discount. Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mhairi M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“An unforgettable experience....”
Reviewed 2 November 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed on Gloria for a week in the British summer (so rained non stop) and had a great experience as first time Narrow boaters. I was a little apprehensive about both sailing a narrow boat and living aboard one for a week, but I need not have worried, it far exceeded my expectations.

The accomodation was clean, cosy and organised and had everything we needed for our stay, the kitchen was fully equipped so we could cook on board and there was plenty of storage. The bathroom was modern and pretty much like a bathroom in a house with a hot shower, full sized toilet and sink. The sofa pulled out into a double bed and there was another double bed at the back of the boat with doors for privacy. There is a log burning stove in the main cabin, we didn't light it as it would be too warm but I would imagine this was cosy in the winter. We spent some time sitting on the deck when the rain allowed and it was also pleasant to open the front awning and sit at the front of the boat.

We were given a lesson in how to care for the boat and how to sail when we arrived and it was really straight forward and required little work. It didn't take too long to get the hang of the steering and powering of the boat and we had lpeaceful meandering trips down the canal. We moored in the Bridgewater marina and also in Castle field in the city centre. This was extremely handy for shops, pubs and museums. The areas were peaceful and quiet and secure.

The marina was lovely and peaceful, and everyone we spoke to was friendly and helpful. Hester and Dave went out of their way to help us with anything and were very accomodating with all questions, assistance and even the odd lift to the train station.

I would never have thought that I would enjoy the narrow boat as much as I did and initially hadn't even planned to sail it, however am so glad we did as it was a unique way to travel round manchester city. Gloria felt like home and we looked forward to coming back after a day in the city to relax and enjoy the ambiance. I would definately return in the future to Gloria and would recomend this boat to both first time and experienced narrow boaters - try something new if you have never done it before!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2012
Mhairi, thanks for the review of your stay on 'Gloria', I knew you'd be off to Manchester once you'd all got the hang of moving the boat. It was lovely to have you as our very first guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy951
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Stay, and a nice relaxing break”
Reviewed 18 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed on Gloria over the weekend with the family and had an excellent time. The owner, Hester, was very helpful in showing us how to use everything and steer the boat and stayed with us until we were comfortable we knew what we were doing! They also have secure parking at Bridgewater marina in case you are worried about leaving your car over night.

The boat itself is lovely, spotlessly clean! There is a nice cosy bedroom at the front of the boat that leads out into a seated area. There are windows you can zip (and unzip) which was very child friendly. The living area is surprising spacious and the fire and central heating makes the place very warm. All the cooking essentials are provided, and the free standing tables are great when eating and moving out the way if you are using the dinette bed.

The trip itself was lovely and relaxing, we went from Worsley and moored up in Lymm for the night before heading back to Worsley the next day. The whole family had a fantastic time, and we would definitely do it again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2012
Thanks very much for the review and I am especially glad that the boat worked well for you. You are all welcome back anytime...Best wishes Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing