We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 The Barns

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Portreath Harbour
View of Portreath
Portreath Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DorsetNic...
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I visited The Barns between the 8th and 12th June 2015 for a short break. The location is easy to find, only a 5 minute drive from the A30 at Redruth and Portreath, and very peaceful.
The accommodation is excellent for a short break, immaculately clean and well equipped.
The bed was very comfortable, the shower was powerful, good Free-view TV reception and fantastic FREE WIFI.
Our host was brilliant, discreet , yet there if you needed him, a passionate about developing this wonderful new business.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, I look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What a lovely place to relax! It was our first visit to Cornwall and we enjoyed it very much but we were lucky to find such a place to stay. There is a stream next to the property and a bench outside so you can have a cup of tea/coffee in the morning with something to eat while enjoying the surroundings and it is very quiet. The internet reception is very poor but it is being sorted. We would certainly book this little gem again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FrancisRa...
1 review
“Quality Accommodation in pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The barn is difficult to fault as it is clean, well decorated and nicely equipped. We enjoyed a very pleasant stay and the owner was more than helpful. Although in a rural location supermarkets are only five minutes away by car. and you can reach most places oi Cornwall within a maximum 30 minute drive. We would certainly consider booking again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A good nights sleep on a quiet site.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita D
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our stay was not that bad. It was average.”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Very nice barn but lack of facilities. There is not a washing machine. Television reception is very poor and internet connection is very poor. Need of ironing facilities on site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Shower
Liked least: Television and internet connection
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
I'm sorry you didn't find us excellent like everyone else! We work very very hard to get it right.
We do not have or advertise washing facilities on site, there are some opposite at the camp site.
TV reception was disrupted by atmospherics, but signals are low in this sheltered valley location. I did lend you our DVDs to address this matter, I'm sorry you missed some soaps
internet is not the fastest but fibre optic should be connected by end of the year and connections will be better then. Internet facilities have never been charged for.

Ironing facilities are available on request, there isn't always space in the Barns for storage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing