We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian menu, stylish”
Review of Ascension Winery

Ascension Winery
Ranked #10 of 31 Restaurants in Matakana
Price range: USD 12 - USD 26
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Discover why this family-owned winery has been described by NZ wine author Peter Saunders as "the regional star of Matakana".Just 39 minutes north of the Auckland CBD, Ascension handcrafts critically-acclaimed wine from both rare and well known varieties and is home to a multi-award winning cellar door, Ascension Osteria restaurant and garden bar and a stunning functions centre for weddings, corporate and private events.Relax alfresco with views of vineyards, rolling farmland and the fountain courtyard which is planted with heirloom herbs and vegetables for Ascension's kitchen.
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Since our last visit Ascension has changed ownership and is now Italian cuisine & decor. The caesar salads and lamb dishes were all well cooked, well presented. Achilles Heel is the service, which was slow and haphazard.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascensionwine, Public Relations Manager at Ascension Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Hi Lesley,

We are glad that you enjoyed the stylish decor and Italian cuisine here at Ascension. We are sorry to hear that you found our service slow - I will pass this on to our Restaurant Manager and we will aspire to be better next time. Thanks for the review and have a great day; The Ascension Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely setting and nice wine
Food was average although we just had a salad each
Garlic bread average was well
Pleasant though

Thank Tanja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascensionwine, Public Relations Manager at Ascension Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Hi Jtschipper,

Thank you for the review - we are glad that you enjoyed the lovely setting here at Ascension and that you found the food to be pleasant. We hope that we can impress you better next time with our selection! Kind Regards, The Ascension Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We have been to the winery on previous New Years Days and found both the food and service to be excellent. However there has been a change. While the flavour of the food was lovely the Twice cooked Pork Belly that three of our group ordered was the toughest we have ever had, this cut is usually so very tender. We advised our waitress who was not the slightest bit interested which in itself was disappointing. We were concerned the chef didn't realise just how tough the meat was for future orders. Others in our group were happy with their meals. The Restaurant wasn't that busy so we would have at least expected an apology. Please note there is a 15% surcharge on Public Holidays.

Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascensionwine, Public Relations Manager at Ascension Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Hi there Jan M,

Thank you for the review. Sorry to hear that your experience here was not as good as last time - but it is nice to hear that the others in your group were happy with their meals. I will mention this to the chef as well as discussing the service with our Restaurant Manager. I hope that with your next visit you find the food and service to be excellent again! Kind Regards, The Ascension Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Lovely, stylish building with a beautiful garden but other than that, they basically serve very ordinary Italian food at very high prices. So you’re definitely paying a lot for the surroundings. Service was pleasant and the food was OK but it certainly wasn’t worth the exorbitant prices.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ladybentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascensionwine, Public Relations Manager at Ascension Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Hi Ladybently,

Thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear that you found our prices high for our Italian food. It's nice to hear that you had pleasant service and that you were satisfied with the food. We hope that next time you find the service excellent as well as the food! We continue to aspire for excellence. Yours Sincerely, The Ascension Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Following friends recommending this venue, we decided to spend some time there for New Years Eve. Certainly the venue is lovely, and the food was excellent, but we ended up feeling rushed. The pizza bread arrived with the entrée, so no time to enjoy a wine and bread before the starter. As soon as the entrée was finished it was whisked away and the main course delivered. When I queried if the main would be brought after a suitable gap, we were told we should have asked for a delay between courses, which we found rather bizarre.
All in all, the food was great but unfortunately the service was not quite what we expected and I left without even getting to a second glass of wine and feeling very full.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CozensFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascensionwine, Public Relations Manager at Ascension Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Hi Cozens Family,

Thank you for your insightful review! It is great to hear that you found the venue to be lovely and that you found the food to be excellent. Sorry to hear that you felt rushed - I will chat to the Restaurant Manager and have her address this with the staff - asking them to slow down and let you savour everything for a bit longer. We hope that in your next visit you find the service to be excellent. Kind Regards, The Ascension Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ascension Winery also viewed

 

Been to Ascension Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing