We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
81
7
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
7
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2016

After a long drive and over an hour stuck in traffic we arrived later than intended at Matakana Lodge.Out came Susan to welcome us with an immediate offer of a cold drink which we accepted ....it was taken out to the pool for us to relax and enjoy.In addition to this she had provisionally booked us into a local restaurant that evening...which we were very grateful for.Before our meal at the restaurant we had canapés and wine(complimentary) on the terrace overlooking the most amazing valley and great conversation.In addition to all that Garth,her husband,drove us to the restaurant.If that isn't excellent service I don't know what is! Oh yes......the room was fantastic...massive with a huge bathroom.Also the room had windows all the way round and a circular verandah....The Champagne Room.Breakfast the next morning was served outdoors on the terrace.Loved it all!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bluecarmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

This is one of the most spectacular settings you will ever see. Sitting on top of a ridge you can literally see for miles. The accommodation is very nice; clean modern and Quiet for sleeping. Garth and Susan could not be more welcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

This is a very good place, with the luxury of a motel but the personal touch of home. Clean and comfortable, inviting and airy. Pleasant owners. Matakana is a lovely place to visit with good walks and cafes.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank emily12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015

This B&B is a Queenslander style house set on an amazing vantage point. Our room was well equipped and opened out onto the patio area. It had a pool and a Hot Tub. Garth and Susan very good hosts - wine and nibbles hour a great idea in getting to meet fellow guests. Unfortunately I was suffering from an upset stomach so couldn't make the most of this event.
The B&B is at the top of a long drive so car a neccessity

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Matakana Country Lodge is a bed and breakfast set well off the beaten track with wonderful views of native bush. This accommodation is immaculately kept and perfect for getting away from it all. We stayed in the champagne room which is the largest room with a nice personal balcony. Luxurious bathroom and comfortable bed. The welcoming hosts offer pre dinner drinks which is a nice touch and very helpful in offering you ideas as to where to dine for lunch and dinner. They offered a very nicely presented home cooked breakfast.
However we stayed here in the winter (as it was our Wedding anniversary) and it is really set up more for warmer summer months where the lodge could be used more to your advantage. For being in such a secluded location, it meant there was a reasonable drive to Matakana village and a very windy road to negotiate to get there, only suitable for very confident drivers especially when departing and leaving in the dark.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but champagne room is the largest one with a personal balcony
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1811027Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Yes our driveway is not for the faint hearted being part gravel, part concrete and fairly steep. I do worry about guests arriving for the first time after dark - they must wonder where the heck they are going as it is also pitch black being rural.

Most people arrive in the daylight and once they have navigated it once, they are more confident about going out at night.

Summer is definitely the best time to enjoy the full facilities of the lodge, especially the outdoor areas. We hope to see you back here sometime in the future for this purpose.

Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews