We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matakana Country Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Matakana B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

Matakana Country Lodge is set in the countryside near Matakana with far reaching views towards the Coromandel. The property is exquisite and is a credit to the hard work of Susan and Garth, who proved to be excellent hosts. On arrival we were offered drinks and canapes on the terrace. Susan had, knowing that local restaurants would be busy on a Friday evening, booked a table for us at a nearby bistro. Our rooms were everything that we could have wished for and more. An excellent breakfast was served on the terrace. It was such a shame that we had to move on.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ian2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2016

After a long drive and over an hour stuck in traffic we arrived later than intended at Matakana Lodge.Out came Susan to welcome us with an immediate offer of a cold drink which we accepted ....it was taken out to the pool for us to relax and enjoy.In addition to this she had provisionally booked us into a local restaurant that evening...which we were very grateful for.Before our meal at the restaurant we had canapés and wine(complimentary) on the terrace overlooking the most amazing valley and great conversation.In addition to all that Garth,her husband,drove us to the restaurant.If that isn't excellent service I don't know what is! Oh yes......the room was fantastic...massive with a huge bathroom.Also the room had windows all the way round and a circular verandah....The Champagne Room.Breakfast the next morning was served outdoors on the terrace.Loved it all!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bluecarmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

This is one of the most spectacular settings you will ever see. Sitting on top of a ridge you can literally see for miles. The accommodation is very nice; clean modern and Quiet for sleeping. Garth and Susan could not be more welcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

This is a very good place, with the luxury of a motel but the personal touch of home. Clean and comfortable, inviting and airy. Pleasant owners. Matakana is a lovely place to visit with good walks and cafes.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank emily12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015

This B&B is a Queenslander style house set on an amazing vantage point. Our room was well equipped and opened out onto the patio area. It had a pool and a Hot Tub. Garth and Susan very good hosts - wine and nibbles hour a great idea in getting to meet fellow guests. Unfortunately I was suffering from an upset stomach so couldn't make the most of this event.
The B&B is at the top of a long drive so car a neccessity

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matakana hotels
4.9 km away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
143 reviews
7.3 km away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
74 reviews
6.6 km away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#3 of 9 in Matakana
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
The Cottages Matakana
The Cottages Matakana
#4 of 7 in Matakana
16 reviews
5.3 km away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
195 reviews
6.4 km away
No photo provided
EbbTide Homestay
#8 of 9 in Matakana
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakana Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakana Country Lodge

Address: 149 Anderson Road, Matakana, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range: $207 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matakana Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
T ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Matakana Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing