We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
81
7
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
7
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2016

This is one of the most spectacular settings you will ever see. Sitting on top of a ridge you can literally see for miles. The accommodation is very nice; clean modern and Quiet for sleeping. Garth and Susan could not be more welcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

This is a very good place, with the luxury of a motel but the personal touch of home. Clean and comfortable, inviting and airy. Pleasant owners. Matakana is a lovely place to visit with good walks and cafes.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank emily12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015

This B&B is a Queenslander style house set on an amazing vantage point. Our room was well equipped and opened out onto the patio area. It had a pool and a Hot Tub. Garth and Susan very good hosts - wine and nibbles hour a great idea in getting to meet fellow guests. Unfortunately I was suffering from an upset stomach so couldn't make the most of this event.
The B&B is at the top of a long drive so car a neccessity

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Matakana Country Lodge is a bed and breakfast set well off the beaten track with wonderful views of native bush. This accommodation is immaculately kept and perfect for getting away from it all. We stayed in the champagne room which is the largest room with a nice personal balcony. Luxurious bathroom and comfortable bed. The welcoming hosts offer pre dinner drinks which is a nice touch and very helpful in offering you ideas as to where to dine for lunch and dinner. They offered a very nicely presented home cooked breakfast.
However we stayed here in the winter (as it was our Wedding anniversary) and it is really set up more for warmer summer months where the lodge could be used more to your advantage. For being in such a secluded location, it meant there was a reasonable drive to Matakana village and a very windy road to negotiate to get there, only suitable for very confident drivers especially when departing and leaving in the dark.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but champagne room is the largest one with a personal balcony
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1811027Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Yes our driveway is not for the faint hearted being part gravel, part concrete and fairly steep. I do worry about guests arriving for the first time after dark - they must wonder where the heck they are going as it is also pitch black being rural.

Most people arrive in the daylight and once they have navigated it once, they are more confident about going out at night.

Summer is definitely the best time to enjoy the full facilities of the lodge, especially the outdoor areas. We hope to see you back here sometime in the future for this purpose.

Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2015

We had 'confirmed' bookings for two seperate nights, 6th and 11th March. The confirmed bookings were made over 8 months in advance. Arrived around 4pm on the 6th to be informed that the owner had cancelled our booking. Two lame excuses were given for cancellation, one, 'customers do not usually book two seperated nights', two, ' I was awaiting a reply to my email'. Not impressed. Owner arranged alternate accommodation in Warkworth, approximately 8 km away' and provided a bottle of wine and a cheese board for our enjoyment ! On our return journey we were 'upgraded' to a larger room as there was only one other couple booked in. Accommodation was excellent, views outstanding, but the cancelation left a bitter taste.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank 28kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

It was a shame that in 5 and a half years of running the lodge you were the first booking I mucked up. I took full responsibility for my actions and did my best to right the wrong as you well know.

I am really disappointed that you felt it necessary to write this review but I hope you feel better for doing so.

Happy travels.

Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews