We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
81
7
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
7
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2015

This B&B is a Queenslander style house set on an amazing vantage point. Our room was well equipped and opened out onto the patio area. It had a pool and a Hot Tub. Garth and Susan very good hosts - wine and nibbles hour a great idea in getting to meet fellow guests. Unfortunately I was suffering from an upset stomach so couldn't make the most of this event.
The B&B is at the top of a long drive so car a neccessity

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Matakana Country Lodge is a bed and breakfast set well off the beaten track with wonderful views of native bush. This accommodation is immaculately kept and perfect for getting away from it all. We stayed in the champagne room which is the largest room with a nice personal balcony. Luxurious bathroom and comfortable bed. The welcoming hosts offer pre dinner drinks which is a nice touch and very helpful in offering you ideas as to where to dine for lunch and dinner. They offered a very nicely presented home cooked breakfast.
However we stayed here in the winter (as it was our Wedding anniversary) and it is really set up more for warmer summer months where the lodge could be used more to your advantage. For being in such a secluded location, it meant there was a reasonable drive to Matakana village and a very windy road to negotiate to get there, only suitable for very confident drivers especially when departing and leaving in the dark.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but champagne room is the largest one with a personal balcony
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1811027Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Yes our driveway is not for the faint hearted being part gravel, part concrete and fairly steep. I do worry about guests arriving for the first time after dark - they must wonder where the heck they are going as it is also pitch black being rural.

Most people arrive in the daylight and once they have navigated it once, they are more confident about going out at night.

Summer is definitely the best time to enjoy the full facilities of the lodge, especially the outdoor areas. We hope to see you back here sometime in the future for this purpose.

Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2015

We had 'confirmed' bookings for two seperate nights, 6th and 11th March. The confirmed bookings were made over 8 months in advance. Arrived around 4pm on the 6th to be informed that the owner had cancelled our booking. Two lame excuses were given for cancellation, one, 'customers do not usually book two seperated nights', two, ' I was awaiting a reply to my email'. Not impressed. Owner arranged alternate accommodation in Warkworth, approximately 8 km away' and provided a bottle of wine and a cheese board for our enjoyment ! On our return journey we were 'upgraded' to a larger room as there was only one other couple booked in. Accommodation was excellent, views outstanding, but the cancelation left a bitter taste.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank 28kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

It was a shame that in 5 and a half years of running the lodge you were the first booking I mucked up. I took full responsibility for my actions and did my best to right the wrong as you well know.

I am really disappointed that you felt it necessary to write this review but I hope you feel better for doing so.

Happy travels.

Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We stayed just 1 night in this most beautiful house. More's the pity. Our hosts were lovely and even had breakfast with us before our departure. The scenery and the peace was so special. A most welcoming retreat from the world below.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are beautiful
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mau G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Yes it is a shame we have so many guests only spend one night. It doesn't give you time to appreciate what the area has to offer.
Glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us.
Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

We booked this place very last minute on the day we arrived. We weren't expecting much as we booked last minute and although reviews were good the website didn't look like it would be anything extraordinary. However when we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised. We were the only ones staying that night. We wished we could have stayed at least another day to relax at the lodge as the views are fantastic and the place is so welcoming. Susan was very helpful and accommodating. We had to leave very early the next morning so we couldn't have the full breakfast spread but Susan ensured we had breakfast. We were provided with a very generous bottle of wine and platter with sunset views. The actual room we stayed in, the champagne room was beautiful and large with wooden floors and lots of windows and its own deck. The bathroom was very large with a large tub and the shower was very good. This place was spotlessly cleaned to perfection everywhere. Lots of attention to detail was evident with menus for local restaurants, magazines, flowers, candles, additional bottles of wine for sale etc. Within the room there were wine glasses and coffee and tea facilities. Then one had usage of the rest of the lodge with a room with fireplace, lounge, large kitchen, large outdoor area and lots of places to relax. The owners do not live in the actual lodge so it really does feel like you can make yourself at home and use the rooms freely. This is more relaxing than other places where when you use the rooms you are using the host's house which makes it more awkward. The free wifi worked really well. The bed was comfortable. The location was very handy close to Matakana and Warkworth and lots of restaurants and wineries and national parks. This place was beyond expectations and we are quite fussy! The place was very tasteful with all the modern cons needed though it gets very cool in the evening. So, ignore the website as it undersells the place. I would highly recommend this place, and for at least two nights to be able to spend time at the lodge and there's lots to see in the area.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lifeisbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Thank you so much for your detailed description of the property in general. We get told on a regular basis that the website images do not do the property justice. On the flip side, guests expectations are exceeded which is always nice.

Thank you also for making the statement "you need to stay more than one night". We try telling people this all the time as there is so much to experience in the area.

I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in New Zealand.

Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews