We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Matakana Country Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Matakana B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 January 2016

This is a very good place, with the luxury of a motel but the personal touch of home. Clean and comfortable, inviting and airy. Pleasant owners. Matakana is a lovely place to visit with good walks and cafes.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank emily12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2015

This B&B is a Queenslander style house set on an amazing vantage point. Our room was well equipped and opened out onto the patio area. It had a pool and a Hot Tub. Garth and Susan very good hosts - wine and nibbles hour a great idea in getting to meet fellow guests. Unfortunately I was suffering from an upset stomach so couldn't make the most of this event.
The B&B is at the top of a long drive so car a neccessity

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Matakana Country Lodge is a bed and breakfast set well off the beaten track with wonderful views of native bush. This accommodation is immaculately kept and perfect for getting away from it all. We stayed in the champagne room which is the largest room with a nice personal balcony. Luxurious bathroom and comfortable bed. The welcoming hosts offer pre dinner drinks which is a nice touch and very helpful in offering you ideas as to where to dine for lunch and dinner. They offered a very nicely presented home cooked breakfast.
However we stayed here in the winter (as it was our Wedding anniversary) and it is really set up more for warmer summer months where the lodge could be used more to your advantage. For being in such a secluded location, it meant there was a reasonable drive to Matakana village and a very windy road to negotiate to get there, only suitable for very confident drivers especially when departing and leaving in the dark.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but champagne room is the largest one with a personal balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1811027Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Yes our driveway is not for the faint hearted being part gravel, part concrete and fairly steep. I do worry about guests arriving for the first time after dark - they must wonder where the heck they are going as it is also pitch black being rural.

Most people arrive in the daylight and once they have navigated it once, they are more confident about going out at night.

Summer is definitely the best time to enjoy the full facilities of the lodge, especially the outdoor areas. We hope to see you back here sometime in the future for this purpose.

Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2015

We had 'confirmed' bookings for two seperate nights, 6th and 11th March. The confirmed bookings were made over 8 months in advance. Arrived around 4pm on the 6th to be informed that the owner had cancelled our booking. Two lame excuses were given for cancellation, one, 'customers do not usually book two seperated nights', two, ' I was awaiting a reply to my email'. Not impressed. Owner arranged alternate accommodation in Warkworth, approximately 8 km away' and provided a bottle of wine and a cheese board for our enjoyment ! On our return journey we were 'upgraded' to a larger room as there was only one other couple booked in. Accommodation was excellent, views outstanding, but the cancelation left a bitter taste.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank 28kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

It was a shame that in 5 and a half years of running the lodge you were the first booking I mucked up. I took full responsibility for my actions and did my best to right the wrong as you well know.

I am really disappointed that you felt it necessary to write this review but I hope you feel better for doing so.

Happy travels.

Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We stayed just 1 night in this most beautiful house. More's the pity. Our hosts were lovely and even had breakfast with us before our departure. The scenery and the peace was so special. A most welcoming retreat from the world below.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mau G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Yes it is a shame we have so many guests only spend one night. It doesn't give you time to appreciate what the area has to offer.
Glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us.
Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matakana hotels
7.3 km away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
76 reviews
6.6 km away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#3 of 9 in Matakana
46 reviews
4.9 km away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
The Cottages Matakana
The Cottages Matakana
#4 of 7 in Matakana
16 reviews
5.3 km away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
195 reviews
6.4 km away
No photo provided
EbbTide Homestay
#8 of 9 in Matakana
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakana Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakana Country Lodge

Address: 149 Anderson Road, Matakana, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range: $210 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matakana Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
T ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Matakana Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing