We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Lodge with Fabulous Hosts!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Matakana Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Matakana B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 February 2015

A beautiful lodge surrounded by lovely gardens which sits atop a hillside. Exceptionally well cared for accommodations with an outdoor pool and spa, lovely modern and clean rooms, very nice bathrooms, and comfortable beds. Regretfully we only stayed for one night and we would definitely have enjoyed a longer stay. I cannot speak highly enough of our hosts Susan & Garth, an absolutely charming couple!!! I HIGHLY recommend this property, a definite don't miss.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chardonnay room which was very nice. Other reviews suggested that the Champagne ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2015

Hi Kelly
Many thanks for your feedback about the lodge in general and also for mentioning the fact that one night just isn't enough. We have so much to offer in the area and feel guests from overseas need at least one full day (if not two) to experience what Matakana is all about.
I hope our paths cross again sometime in the future. Until then, take care and safe travels.
Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2015

you need to take more than one night at this lodge (we had 3 ) to appreciate this stunning area with its deserted beaches and nature reserves .The lodges hosts Susan & Garth make you feel at home as soon as you arrive,there attention to detail is second to none.happy hour is a time to meet your fellow guests if you choose to and enjoy a glass or two of the local wine and fine cheeses.It was interesting to meet so many different people which adds to the experience.
the lodge itself is immaculate with every thing and more to be found in the rooms.from its high position perched on a hill above matakana the views are breathtaking.A swim or soak in the jacuzzi is a perfect end to a day spent exploring the area.A newly opened bush walk in virgin kiwi woodland situated next to the lodge to experience the sounds and sights of native plants and wildlife gives you an appetit for the hearty home cooked breakfast.overall it's hard to fault paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Withers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Thanks Dave & Vicki for your feedback, specifically about the bush walk we are currently establishing on the property. It is magic to sit among the trees and watch/listen to the bird life and thought it time we shared it with our guests.
.
We hope you enjoy the South island as much as you enjoyed the North. Safe travels.

Cheers!
Susan & Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015

We only stayed one night at Matakana Country Lodge and were very impressed and fully concur with other reviewers.

Firstly Susan is a super host, she has spent many years in the hospitality industry and is very keen to see guests have a top class experience, we saw less of Garth but he too was charming.

We stayed in the Chardonnay room which is beautifully furnished with a good corner shower in the bathroom which has a smart wooden floor and modern sanitaryware.

The bedroom is sizeable with beige carpet, white walls and modern prints with a good view and a patio door leading to the external decking. The bed is extremely comfortable. We took a peek at the other rooms, Champagne is the biggest and best with a spa bath and probably the best views.

Sadly the weather was very poor on our stay but there is an external pool and spa which would have been amazing in good weather.

Susan's dinner recommendation (Matakana Country Kitchen) was spot on too.

If you like small places with a good personal experience this is for you.

Room Tip: All three rooms are lovely, Champagne is the biggest and has a spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2015

Many thanks for not only taking the time to write a review but to go into such detail. Glad you enjoyed your brief visit with us and it is a shame the weather was not great as January February are usually pretty stable.
Next time you make the trip down under, you will have to stay longer and experience some of the activities on offer in the area.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.
Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Matakana Country Lodge! Susan and Garth are the most wonderful hosts you can get and the lodge is excellent with nice rooms, an excellent pool/spa-area and a wonderful garden/vineyard.

Anna and Thomas, Sweden

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

What a great endorsement - thank you.

Tell all of your friends and family they need to visit us "down under" and in particular come stay with us at the lodge.

Safe travels.

Cheers!
Susan & Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We booked for one night but stayed two when my husband became unwell and was not fit enough to travel on. Even though he was unwell, it was a lovely spot to linger and we both enjoyed the quiet, views and in my case the wonderful breakfast on offer.
The feeling is very relaxed and quickly you feel that you are staying with old friends rather than paid accommodation.
The lodge is well located being just a short drive to Matakana, beaches and wineries and I would thoroughly recommend Matakana Country lodge for a romantic or otherwise getaway or a stop on your travels around NZ. Thank you to Susan and Leeanne for their kind hospitality during our stay.

Room Tip: All 3 are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DebOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Glad you were able to relax and enjoy your unexpected additional night with us. I hope hubby recovered in time for your flight home, nothing worse than getting sick when you are on holiday.

We hope to see you back here in good spirits and health sometime in the future.

Cheers!
Susan & Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matakana hotels
4.9 km away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
141 reviews
7.3 km away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
74 reviews
6.6 km away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#4 of 9 in Matakana
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
The Cottages Matakana
The Cottages Matakana
#3 of 7 in Matakana
16 reviews
5.3 km away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
195 reviews
6.4 km away
No photo provided
EbbTide Homestay
#7 of 9 in Matakana
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakana Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakana Country Lodge

Address: 149 Anderson Road, Matakana, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range: $205 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matakana Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
T ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Matakana Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing