We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
81
7
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
7
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2015

you need to take more than one night at this lodge (we had 3 ) to appreciate this stunning area with its deserted beaches and nature reserves .The lodges hosts Susan & Garth make you feel at home as soon as you arrive,there attention to detail is second to none.happy hour is a time to meet your fellow guests if you choose to and enjoy a glass or two of the local wine and fine cheeses.It was interesting to meet so many different people which adds to the experience.
the lodge itself is immaculate with every thing and more to be found in the rooms.from its high position perched on a hill above matakana the views are breathtaking.A swim or soak in the jacuzzi is a perfect end to a day spent exploring the area.A newly opened bush walk in virgin kiwi woodland situated next to the lodge to experience the sounds and sights of native plants and wildlife gives you an appetit for the hearty home cooked breakfast.overall it's hard to fault paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Withers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Thanks Dave & Vicki for your feedback, specifically about the bush walk we are currently establishing on the property. It is magic to sit among the trees and watch/listen to the bird life and thought it time we shared it with our guests.
.
We hope you enjoy the South island as much as you enjoyed the North. Safe travels.

Cheers!
Susan & Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015

We only stayed one night at Matakana Country Lodge and were very impressed and fully concur with other reviewers.

Firstly Susan is a super host, she has spent many years in the hospitality industry and is very keen to see guests have a top class experience, we saw less of Garth but he too was charming.

We stayed in the Chardonnay room which is beautifully furnished with a good corner shower in the bathroom which has a smart wooden floor and modern sanitaryware.

The bedroom is sizeable with beige carpet, white walls and modern prints with a good view and a patio door leading to the external decking. The bed is extremely comfortable. We took a peek at the other rooms, Champagne is the biggest and best with a spa bath and probably the best views.

Sadly the weather was very poor on our stay but there is an external pool and spa which would have been amazing in good weather.

Susan's dinner recommendation (Matakana Country Kitchen) was spot on too.

If you like small places with a good personal experience this is for you.

Room Tip: All three rooms are lovely, Champagne is the biggest and has a spa bath
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2015

Many thanks for not only taking the time to write a review but to go into such detail. Glad you enjoyed your brief visit with us and it is a shame the weather was not great as January February are usually pretty stable.
Next time you make the trip down under, you will have to stay longer and experience some of the activities on offer in the area.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.
Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Matakana Country Lodge! Susan and Garth are the most wonderful hosts you can get and the lodge is excellent with nice rooms, an excellent pool/spa-area and a wonderful garden/vineyard.

Anna and Thomas, Sweden

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

What a great endorsement - thank you.

Tell all of your friends and family they need to visit us "down under" and in particular come stay with us at the lodge.

Safe travels.

Cheers!
Susan & Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We booked for one night but stayed two when my husband became unwell and was not fit enough to travel on. Even though he was unwell, it was a lovely spot to linger and we both enjoyed the quiet, views and in my case the wonderful breakfast on offer.
The feeling is very relaxed and quickly you feel that you are staying with old friends rather than paid accommodation.
The lodge is well located being just a short drive to Matakana, beaches and wineries and I would thoroughly recommend Matakana Country lodge for a romantic or otherwise getaway or a stop on your travels around NZ. Thank you to Susan and Leeanne for their kind hospitality during our stay.

Room Tip: All 3 are delightful.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DebOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Glad you were able to relax and enjoy your unexpected additional night with us. I hope hubby recovered in time for your flight home, nothing worse than getting sick when you are on holiday.

We hope to see you back here in good spirits and health sometime in the future.

Cheers!
Susan & Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2014

The views at Matakana Country Lodge are just spectacular. It is situated on top of a high ridge. If you want to relax, I can't think of a better place. The only noise you'll hear will be coming from the birds or some moos from the cows on the farm below their property.
My husband and I traveled to New Zealand back in February and the Matakana Country Lodge was the 2nd place we stayed. We stayed for 2 nights trying out 2 different rooms; there are 3 rooms to choose from. We stayed in the Chablis room the 1st night and the Champagne room the 2nd night. We wanted to experience all that we could. Both rooms are extremely comfortable but obviously the Champagne room was superior to the Chablis room. The champagne room is huge and offers the most comforts and best views.
The hosts, Susan and Garth live in separate quarters on the property so the guests have the lodge to themselves. This means you have access to the kitchen any time you want to make yourself a cup of tea, heat your leftovers, etc. There is a shelf in the refrigerator dedicated to each room to store your own food and beverage. For the guests convenience, they stock bottles of wine that you can take for your own use, which you pay for. It saves you a long trip out to the store! They have a large flat screen television in the living room with loads of channels, a CD player with a selection of CDs if you want to listen to music. They have made it your home away from home.
The two course breakfasts we were served were healthy and delicious. If memory is serving me correctly, Susan makes her own granola. Yoghurt and a fresh fruit platter were presented both mornings. She offered us a choice of eggs or pancakes but I can't remember if there were any other options as it was so long ago now. We chose eggs both mornings and they were cooked to perfection. What can't be missed is the Happy Hour on the patio. Each day Susan and Garth introduced us to a different New Zealand wine as well as providing a little nibble to go with it. They are warm and gracious hosts and are happy to recommend local restaurants, winery tours, and other places of interest. Check out the views on their website. For us, it was Heaven on Earth. If we are ever fortunate enough to return to New Zealand, we will definitely stay at Matakana Country Lodge again!
Thank you Susan and Garth!

Room Tip: The Champagne room is the best for size (though all three rooms offer plenty of room), offers the best views, private deck and a tub for two!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 60sMusicLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Wow! Thank you so much for your detailed review. It will be of great benefit to those who take the time to read reviews from past guests.

It reinforces that what we offer here at Matakana Country Lodge is pretty special.

Hope you are able to return sometime in the future and we can exceed your first stay with us.

Cheers!
Susan & Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews