We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fantastic house”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Vallorcine, Chamonix, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Patrick G
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic house”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I travelled with friends staying for a week and had it easy because I arrived after the other. Maison du Torrent is wonderful family house that has been tastefully renovated and it is very homely , warm and spacious with all the accommodation facilities you would ever need. You can reach it either from Switzerland or Chamonix by rail or by shared transfer which I used from Geneva. There are two ski shops where you can hire skis and they are right next to the gondola which takes you right into the leTour ski area. Vallorcine has shops for the basics and restaurants that provide a take-away service. I'd definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the house
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie D
Les Arcs, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, France
1 review
“Lovely house, great position”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Maison du Torrent is a beautifully renovated, spacious old French house in a quiet, traditional village yet close to everything you might need on a ski holiday. I spent a few days there with friends and it was very warm and comfortable. We could use the train across the road to travel back to Chamonix or Grand Montets and also on to Switzerland. The gondola wisks you up quickly to the Le Tour ski area where there is normally lots of off piste. There are no queues!
The house itself is very well equipped and I was even able to wash and dry my ski kit before travelling on.
The village has a shop for basics and a very nice patisserie/ deli. You can eat out in several places but the pizza van just a minute away does take-aways too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the house
Liked least: Wouldn't change anything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floatingc...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home away from home in great location”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in December 2012

Maison du Torrent was really a home away from home. The chalet was very comfortable and clean and included features like underfloor heating on the ground floor, which was much appreciated after a long day skiing. The downstairs drying room was useful so you could leave all your wet gear before heading upstairs to the main living room/kitchen. The kitchen/living area was perfect for large groups with a lovely big table that could fit everyone around it. As the chalet is split over 4 floors it never feels crowded, even when full.

It only took about 5 minutes to walk to the nearest lift, even in heavy ski boots, and you could ski all the way back down, nearly all the way back to the chalet (if feeling a little adventurous). The nearest shops and restaurants were best accessed by car, but you could also get the bus further down the valley for more skiing and apres ski.

The wi-fi was also really good and seemed to always work without fail throughout most of the chalet.

Overall I would definitely recommend!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoire1x
1 review
“Great accommodation. Very convenient for ski slopes and local amenities within walking distance for both.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This is a fantastic property within the quiet village if Vallorcine. The Villa has a great layout particularly for a reasonably large group of skiing enthusiasts as me and my family are. At the entrance to the villa there is a comfortable room with underfloor heating to sooth the cold aching ski feet! There is also a larger utility room on the same floor where skis and ski boots can be left to dry.

The next 3 floors provide a spacious living and dining room sufficiently sized to accommodate everyone whilst both eating and relaxing, 4 double, 1 twin room, 1 bathroom with a fabulous roll top bath and a smaller shower room on the 4th floor.

The location of the villa is within a five minute walk of both a local store, where you can buy general groceries, and the Vallorcine gondola which will take you up to the slopes and allow you as far along as Argentiere.

All in all this is a great base for any group or larger family looking to enjoy the magic of the trois vallees from a quieter location than Chamonix or Argentiere.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect home away from home with space for everyone”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved Maison du Torrent as we were three types of guests. Parents with two preschoolers and we had the top floor to ourselves with a bathroom closed off by a stairgate, a couple and a singleton on the floor below. The house is across four floors which meant we could always get away from each other at critical time ie toddler supper time every not involved went downstairs to TV/play room to escape with a drink. The house is beautiful and a real home to enjoy. The bedding and linen are lovely, the rooms are all very generous sizes and we really felt like treasured guests not paying visitors. The power showers were also brilliant and very appreciated. The kitchen had everything we could possibly need to cook with and more.

Access from outside is mainly via the basement and boot room and keeps all the snow contained down there. I would recommend slippers for everyone. There is a great tobogganing area just behind the house. The garden gate opens onto the main road and needs care but is fine. Vallorcine village is very small with 3 restaurants and two shops and not a traditional Alpine resort. We spent most of our time either at the nursery slopes just up the road at La Poya or in Argentieres which is 10 mins drive away. You definitely need a car if you are an absolute beginner or a good skier as Vallorcine runs are limited. You have access to a lot of ski domains in the area and are spoilt for choice. However for young or blue run skiers Vallorcine is great.

We really enjoyed ourselves and the house was stunning. Thank you for welcoming us so generously.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the house
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing