We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent choice for extended family holiday”

Review of The Grain House

The Grain House side and front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grain House side and front
'Lavender' bedroom The kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
The Grain House side and front
'Lavender' bedroom
The kitchen
The entrance hall
The sitting room
The garden from main bedroom balcony
Rear view from the garden
The River Stour
The family room
Family room dining area
'Vine' bedroom
'Rose' bedroom
Another view of the kitchen
Utility/boot room
Entrance hall and cloakroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stoke by Clare, Clare, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Raydon W
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent choice for extended family holiday”
Reviewed 24 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

This delightful property has been finished and furnished to a very high standard but in such a way as made it ideal and relaxing accommodation for the adults and young children in our party. The large, attractive but safe garden with swings, hot tub and barbeque provided entertainment for all and the barn with table tennis, snooker table, etc. provided alternative entertainment for the more energetic amongst us. We received a warm welcome (and a home made cake!) from Pippa and Peter who have provided everything at the property to ensure a very comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable stay. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The practical layout and space both internal and external
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2011
Quite a range of ages in this party! How lovely that we were able to satisfy all their needs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice778
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A delightful house in lovely countryside ideal for families or groups.”
Reviewed 2 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

The Grain House is situated in very beautiful countryside on the borders of Essex and Suffolk. It is a lovely house recently converted and very tastefully decorated, it has two sitting rooms and a well equipped kitchen making it ideal for families or groups. There is a big garden at the back with plenty of space as well as a hot tub! There is also an amazing barn which has been converted into a games room with table tennis, table football, snooker and darts. We had young adults in our party who really enjoyed this!
We visited a number of interesting historical places including Long Melford, Lavenham and Bury St Edmunds. The house is also near Clare and Cavendish both very pretty villages with interesting shops.
The owners Pippa and Peter Unwin made us feel very welcome leaving us home made bread and jam ready for our arrival as well as helping out with any questions during our stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2011
We do our best and it is lovely to know know how appreciative guests are.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selenaspr...
singapore
2 reviews
“Such a wonderful discovery”
Reviewed 21 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Greeted by delicious lemon shortbreads the stay just kept on getting better.
A truly beautifully fitted out property with everything you could conceivably imagine, everything needed to bake a roast or host a BBQ. During our month's stay it really was our home away from home. Our four children enjoyed the run of an enormous garden complete with swings and basketball ring, not to mention a spa! We even had our own grown up sitting room so we could escape for a well needed pre dinner glass of wine. Fantastic location only 5 miles for Clare, which allowed for lots of beautiful runs, duck feeding and endless coffee in the nearby cafes. Much effort and thought has been put in by the owners to ensure that their guests have a truly comfortable stay. The Grain House was such a fantastic find I am not sure I should be sharing it!!! Thanks Pippa and Peter

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2011
A really lovely young family all the way from Singapore, whom we missed dreadfully when they went home!They explored a lot of local attractions and seemed to enjoy everything they did.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsM03
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous, relaxing and fun property”
Reviewed 27 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011

The Grain House more than exceeded our expectations as a location for a bunch of stressed London girlfriends who desperately needed a weekend catch-up and relaxing break. The House is stylish, well appointed and finished to a high standard with plenty of room for relaxing and dining. We made full use of the well kitted out and stocked kitchen and were delighted to find a home made cake waiting for us on arrival. Pippa and Peter were gracious hosts who politely ignored our shrieks of delight as we made full use of the recently installed spa pool. We had a lovely time and would certainly be visiting The Grain House again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2011
Another party of fun-loving, courteous people who used the property's ameneties and location to the full. De-stressing and relaxation is what we are about!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkG84
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magnificent holiday retreat in beautiful East Anglia”
Reviewed 27 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Grain house for 4 nights and had a truly fabulous time. The cottage has been fitted out to an extremely high quality and has loads of amenities and fun! We spent much of the weekend playing croquet, darts, and table tennis, and just enjoying the surroundings in a comfortable place that really felt like 'home' for a few days. The owners made us feel welcome even giving us a home-baked cake on arrival. Can't recommend this place enough.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2011
Such enthusiastic guests who were clearly having fun. It makes it a pleasure to provide those little extra touches in terms of facilities and luxury.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing