We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find”

The Springer Spaniel
Ranked #8 of 58 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: DELICIOUS FOOD, DELECTABLE ALES, FINE WINES IN A WARM AND FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE.The perfect place for a casual drink, a family lunch by a warm fire, an after-shoot meal or a business meeting, and a fabulous venue for a celebration or a romantic candlelit dinner for two.Savour local, seasonal produce, meats from our organic farm, fresh fish and wild game; try our tempting puddings and savoury cheeses. Enjoy local Cornish ales, sophisticated wines and warming, luscious liqueures.
Reviewed 30 October 2018

Booked for hubby’s birthday, they where ready for us when we arrived and remembered my allergy even though I had booked a few weeks before. Staff very friendly and lovely atmospheric surroundings, menu is a real treat, not too much on offer, but food was perfect at a reasonable cost . Although dogs are not allowed in the restaurant, they are in the bar and you could eat at the bar area if your four legged friend was with you. A bonus for dog lovers like us-

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Pub atmosphere great and really attractive roaring fire which was welcome on a cold night. Unfortunately we were seated in a cold back room with a small fan heater- oh well! We ordered from the pub classic menu which was quite pricy for the choice given but we waited hoping for the best. Food arrived after a fairly long wait but looked well presented... however the portions were very very small ( we are not big eaters either) and food terribly over salted. If we’d have ordered skinny fries the portion would have been bigger however some menu choices didn’t give this as an option offering only ‘TCC’ - triple cooked chips. Whilst these were tasty not many to a portion.... clearing the table needed a bit of prompting too... I’m recommending the homemade ice cream which was lovely, however a few other things to improve on before I increase my star rating.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Visited here whilst staying at Spring Park nearby. Lovely pub with a nice wood burning fire & friendly staff. We opted for the Fish & Chips which was well presented and tasted great. Would definitely return.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank E7157NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

on a business visit in the area. Called in for a quick simple lunch. Loved the ham hock. delicious and just the right sized plate of food for me.
Warm welcome from friendly attentive staff. service was pretty prompt too. This is my 3rd or 4th visit and the place never disappoints.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely pub with great atmosphere & a warm welcome. I know the pub has a good reputation as a gastropub but this was my first visit. We were shown to our tables and supplied with menus but no mention was made of the specials board which we didn’t see until on the way out. Such a shame as we found the standard menu to be a little limited and would have loved the extra choices provided by the specials. We had a great evening though it just needed the waiting staff to communicate all the options & it would have been perfect.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 986andyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Springer Spaniel also viewed

Launceston, Cornwall
Launceston, Cornwall
 
Launceston, Cornwall
Launceston, Cornwall
 

Been to The Springer Spaniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing