We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, off the beaten path”
Review of Hon Rom 1 Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hon Rom 1 Resort
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Mui Ne
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

I appreciated the fact that Hon Rom 1 is removed from the main drag of Mui Ne; the cab ride to get to and from was a bit pricey, but it felt like our little secret. I also like that the other guests seemed to be all locals; made the experience more authentic somehow.

We got an ocean view room, and the shore was literally a stone's throw from our balcony. Lots of bugs, but that's to be expected. It was very quiet and peaceful, except for evenings when they have karaoke! The restaurant left something to be desired, and unfortunately it is the only place to eat without having to take a cab somewhere so bring snacks. The front desk staff were nice enough, and we didn't have any trouble checking in or out. They tried to overcharge us for sodas we didn't drink, so just be sure to double check what you get billed from the fridge.

I'd recommend this place if you don't mind being a bit isolated.. however next time I think I'd prefer to stay closer to the action in Mui Ne.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank wrappedinplastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TranHung1901, Người quản lý at Hon Rom 1 Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear our valued guest,
My name's Hung - the new Operation Manager in Hon Rom I Resort & Restaurant - I've been working with Trip Advisor to take take care of all gour guests' feedback, reviews & other inquiries.
First of all, I do apologize for the laziness responses for a long time. We do understand that our resort is on our improvement process in a better way of service as well as facilities by keeping the cleanness at standard and much more.
Not promised the best service right now but we're doing our best to offer a very well-fitted with your expectation.
Lately, some good package and services should be improved and we are really keen to do it.
Thank you for your reviews and hope to welcome you and other guests back to Hon Rom I with our best offer in prices & services.
Best regards,
Tran Hung (Mr.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2016

We 4 arrived at 8p.m after a 10 hour bike ride. We were extremely tired but the staff's friendliness relieved all of our stress. There were these 2 particular receptionists who greeted us at night that were really patient with all of our questions about bus, city travelling, cabs, etc for almost over an hour.

After checking in, we went to check out our tents (btw we booked tents from them for camping, not rooms and we suggest you do the same too). The tents can be located anywhere as long as it's sheltered but we wanted them to be nearer to the sea which would be no shelters then. However, despite the strictness of the manager, one of the receptionists tried to make that happen for us. She was trying really hard to convince her manager for us to move our tents nearer to the sea. In the end, we felt bad and decided to just move a bit further away from the beach where it was sheltered but we could still captured the whole view of the beach. We all really appreciated her efforts for trying to give us a comfortable stay according to what we want.

The best thing when camping at Hon Rom 1 is that it's right next to the beach and it's very clean. We slept like babies and woke up with the view of the ocean and the sound of waves. That's one of the best experiences for us.

They only provided tents with mattresses. So we brought our small pillows with thin blankets. The tents were clean, the mattresses were nice and not at all smelly. The surrounding areas were clean too.

The only issue I would have is the toilet. Since we were camping, we would be using the public toilet at the camping area of course. If I have to say how tolerable I was with their toilet from 1 to 10, I would score it 4 or 5. It was smelly and because we went during our weekends so there were lots of people as well (not a lot of people camp though which was a good thing coz we got a lot of space for us). However, one more point for the resort for being so honest when I booked the tents via phone. They did warn us that it might be crowded over the weekends so their helpers may not be able to clean it so often as the area is big so the toilet cleanliness may be uncertain. Instead of telling us that everything is perfect, they warned us right away when we had doubts.

Also, there will be Vietnamese music playing until 11pm and it will start again at 7 or 8. We didn't mind at all because it was such a local experience.

After checking in for our tents on our first night, we decided to go out to the center of Mũi Né after that so we asked one of staff to get us a cab. At that period of time, the receptionists already changed shifts so we had to ask from one that had a bit of attitude. She refused to get us a cab simply because the resort didn't sign any contract with a cab company. She said she could give us the number and we go ahead and call ourselves. At that point, our phones were all off or out of credits. She had to wait for a while for us to turn our phone back on so she decided to call for us. But before leaving the counter, she had to end our convo with:" I have other things to do." What a way to treat your customers!

However, the overall experience was pleasant and it was so worth it (VND100.000 per person per night). The check out in the morning was quick. Again, the morning staffs were very friendly and helpful too. They printed a map for us to get around. Everything else were rather affordable.

Room Tip: Rent their tents instead of booking in a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2014 via mobile

Firstly let me say that this hotel is completely out of it. It isn't near the centre of Mui Ne at all. It isn't near a shop or many restaurants. There is a bus that will stop opposite (with the help of the security guard), but that can be complecated to get the ticket lady to understand where you are going! It is on the beach though (not the cleanest beach in the world). When we arrived in the taxi the security guard looked very confused. We went to check in and the man on the counter didn't really speak any English which made the process a little challenging. The room itself easy fine, it was all a little run down but the price was cheap so that is expected although it hadnt been cleaned very well and there were a lot of bugs about. There were lots of Local teenagers there, playing volleyball and at night doing karaoke! The restaurant was dead and empty so we decided to find another place to eat (which was a real mission). In the morning we were woken up with a loud noise, looked out our window and a group of teenagers were stood there with a pretend police siren and a megaphone, which wasn't ideal. When we told anyone where we were staying we heard "Noooo only local people stay there, who took you there??" I would say if you want to be anywhere near anything then don't stay here, the price is cheap but the taxis will equal it out anyway!

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Rachelf2rf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kikacumaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Khu phòng mới xây, rộng, sạch sẽ, nên chọn phòng trên lầu cao, hướng tầm nhìn ra biển, từ phòng có t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank letien2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mui Ne hotels
5.5 km away
Hung Phuc Mui Ne Hotel
Hung Phuc Mui Ne Hotel
#3 of 24 in Mui Ne
69 reviews
3.1 km away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 24 in Mui Ne
704 reviews
4.9 km away
Muine Bay Resort
Muine Bay Resort
#4 of 24 in Mui Ne
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Song Hien Hotel
Song Hien Hotel
#10 of 24 in Mui Ne
13 reviews
0 km away
Hai Dang Resort
Hai Dang Resort
#16 of 24 in Mui Ne
4 reviews
4.1 km away
Full Moon Village
Full Moon Village
#2 of 24 in Mui Ne
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Mui Ne

Been to Hon Rom 1 Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hon Rom 1 Resort

Address: 706B Street - Long Son, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet 623, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Mui Ne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Mui Ne
Price Range: $25 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hon Rom 1 Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hon Rom 1 Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing